UNICEF.org新网站正在建设中。
网页内容还在更新中。感谢您的耐心,敬请稍后查看。

儿童营养问题

营养的终生影响

联合国儿童基金会专注于儿童,但营养却是一个终生离不开的问题。

营养不良的影响开始于胚胎时期,一直持续到成年期,并将在代际之间循环。 它能够紧紧地将儿童套笼在贫穷的循环当中,而良好的营养状况(特别是在婴幼儿阶段),则是儿童未来健康与发展的基础构造。

一生离不开的营养

对联合国儿童基金会而言,终生营养方案强调的是要在个人生命的关键阶段设置好营养计划。

从怀孕到幼年(也即出生后的前1000天)是儿童一生中最关键的成长与发展时期。 这一阶段所摄取的营养将持续给儿童的一生带来益处,而此时营养缺失所造成的损害也会持续一生之久。

再多的粮食也治不好生长迟滞的儿童:良好的营养条件必须早早开始,在生长迟滞尚未出现前就能予以预防。

联合国儿童基金会专注于这一关键阶段的营养干预,注重改善母体营养、支持在幼儿出生后前六个月进行纯母乳喂养,并辅以适当的补充食品持续母乳喂养到2岁以后,从而确保儿童摄入充足的维生素和矿物质。

联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴会就婴儿的喂养方式,向母亲及看护人提供教育和咨询服务,并倡导出台保护性的政策与法律,确保母亲们可以安全哺乳。 联合国儿童基金会还将营养措施整合到儿童早期发展的计划中,以改善其对儿童身体、心理和社交发展的影响。

童年阶段, 良好的营养状况仍旧发挥着重要的作用,能够保证儿童健康强壮、免受病害。和合作伙伴一起改善用水和卫生的工作至关重要,因为童年时期与不安全饮用水相关的腹泻疾病会导致儿童在摄入适当食物时,仍旧无法吸收足够的营养。

在联合国儿童基金会的帮助下,儿童们还从卫生与社区服务中获得了营养支持。 举例来说,在目标国家中,联合国儿童基金会会通过每年两次的儿童健康日或其他方案,向5岁以下的儿童提供维生素A、接种疫苗和除寄生虫服务。

在儿童遭受急性营养不良影响的地区内,联合国儿童基金会还提供了挽救生命的的治疗食品和医疗服务。 从长远来看,联合国儿童基金会还与各国政府共同努力优化预防、改善营养政策并将急性营养不良的治疗整合到社区和卫生系统当中。

长大后,越来越多的儿童都出现了体重超重和肥胖问题。 这些情况会导致儿童面临非传染性疾病和残疾的风险,并且还将持续影响其成年生活。联合国儿童基金会正积极寻找能够处理这些新兴问题、证实有效的政策、指南和规章制度。

从青少年到怀孕,联合国也努力改善青少年女童和妇女的营养状况。 青少年数量的显著增长(仅次于幼年时期)使得这一群体对能量和营养的需求也在不断增加。 考虑到许多青少年女童和妇女的营养不良情况,联合国儿童基金会在这一关键时期还会支持那些提供铁和叶酸等微量营养素的项目。

微量营养素有助于支持健康孕育、阻止贫血疾病、促进胎儿发育并确保婴儿出生时的体重正常。 这些营养素不仅对婴儿发育的健康和存活至关重要,而且也关乎女童和妇女自身的健康和幸福。 对于那些性别歧视的国家里,无法在怀孕期间获得营养食物和适当护理的妇女来说,微量营养素的补充更是尤为重要。

联合国儿童基金会与教育及社会保护界的合作伙伴一起,帮助女童入学读书、延迟婚姻和初次怀孕年龄——因为这些不利因素都会导致女童、妇女及所产婴儿的营养状况恶化。

人道主义危机可能发生在一生中的任何阶段,而受危机影响最多的就是妇女与儿童。在这种情况下,联合国儿童基金会发起了一套及时、协调的应急反应,以保卫最需要群体的健康和营养状况。

联合国的营养解决方案是:

  • 整体的—不仅将儿童当个体看待,还将其视作家庭、社区和和国家的一部分。
  • 注重公平的—将贫穷、脆弱和边缘化理解为营养不良的原因和结果,且认同良好的营养状况能够促使所有儿童站到同一条起跑线上。
  • 权利为本的—认同良好的营养状况本身就是一种基本权利,也是实现儿童其他权利的基础。
  • 性别敏感的—确保女童和妇女能够获得同等的良好营养,并认同在女童和妇女面临暴力和歧视的社会里,营养不良是一项普遍猖獗的问题。
  • 有证可循的—在拥有证据的情况下,寻找问题以及解决方案。
  • 多部门的—与其他部门紧密相连(包括卫生、教育、儿童保护、用水及卫生),共同实现影响最大化。

 

 

搜索

Nutrition

Nutrition’s lifelong impact

UNICEF Image: A group of women stand with their children at a UNICEF-supported health center
© UNICEF/UNI202632/Phelps
Konimba Keita (centre) speaks with other women and children outside the health centre in the village of Karangana, Mali. Konimba is part of a women' support group that promotes the importance of breastfeeding babies up to 2 years of age.

At UNICEF, our focus is on children, but nutrition is a lifelong issue.

The effects of poor nutrition begin in the womb, continue well into adulthood, and cycle across generations. While malnutrition can trap generations of children in a cycle of poverty, good nutrition, particularly in infancy, is the building block for future health and development.

Nutrition across the lifecycle

For UNICEF, the lifecycle approach highlights the need to target nutrition programmes to key moments in a person’s life.

Pregnancy through infancy (also known as the first 1,000 days) is the most critical period of growth and development in a child’s life. Nutritional gains during this period continue to benefit the child throughout life, while the damage from nutritional losses lasts a lifetime.

No amount of food can cure a stunted child: good nutrition must start early to prevent stunting before it starts.

UNICEF targets its interventions to this key period, improving maternal nutrition, supporting early and exclusive breastfeeding for the first 6 months of a child’s life, and continued breastfeeding with appropriate complementary foods until age 2 and beyond to ensure adequate intake of vitamins and minerals.

UNICEF and its partners provide education and counselling to mothers and caregivers on feeding babies, and advocate for protective policies and legislation to enable mothers to breastfeed. UNICEF also integrates nutrition into early childhood development programmes to enhance the impact on the child’s physical, mental and social development.

Throughout childhood, good nutrition continues to play an important role in keeping children strong, healthy and free of disease. Working with partners to improve water and sanitation is critical because diarrhoeal disease in childhood, linked to unsafe drinking water, makes it impossible for a child to absorb sufficient nutrients even when appropriate foods are being consumed.

With UNICEF’s help, children also receive nutritional support through health and community services. For example, UNICEF supports vitamin A supplements for children under age 5, alongside immunization and deworming, as part of twice-yearly Child Health Days, or other approaches, in targeted countries.

Where children are suffering from acute malnutrition, UNICEF provides life-saving therapeutic foods and medical care. Longer term, UNICEF works with governments to prioritize prevention, improve nutrition policies, and integrate treatment for acute malnutrition into community and health systems.

As children grow, an increasing number of them are becoming overweight and obese. These conditions put children at risk for noncommunicable diseases and disability, which can persist into adulthood. UNICEF works to identify evidence-based policies, guidelines and regulatory frameworks that can address these emerging issues.

From adolescence through pregnancy, UNICEF works to improve the nutrition of adolescent girls and women. Phenomenal growth occurs in adolescence – second only to that in the first year of life – creating increased demands for energy and nutrients. Given that many adolescent girls and women have nutrient deficits, UNICEF supports programmes that provide micronutrients such as iron and folate during this critical time.

Micronutrients help support healthy pregnancy, prevent anaemia, promote foetal growth, and ensure that babies are born at a healthy birth weight. They are crucial to the health and survival of the growing baby – but also to the health and well-being of girls and women themselves. Micronutrient supplementation can be particularly important in countries where gender inequality denies women access to nutritious foods and appropriate care during pregnancy.

UNICEF, working with partners in education and social protection, helps keep girls in school and delay marriage and first pregnancy – factors which exacerbate girls’ and women’s malnutrition and that of their babies.

Humanitarian crises can strike at any stage of the lifecycle, and children and women are most affected. In these contexts, UNICEF mobilizes a coordinated and timely emergency response to safeguard the health and nutritional status of those who need it most.

UNICEF’s approach to nutrition is:

  • Holistic – it looks at the child as an individual and as part of a wider family, community and nation.
  • Equity focused–it understands poverty, vulnerability, and marginalization as causes and consequences of malnutrition, and recognizes that good nutrition puts all children on the same starting line.
  • Rights-based – it acknowledges that good nutrition is a fundamental right in itself, and the basis for achieving all rights of the child.
  • Gender sensitive – it ensures that girls and women have equitable access to good nutrition, and recognizes that undernutrition is most rampant in settings where girls and women face violence and discrimination.
  • Evidence-based – it draws on evidence to identify both the problems and the solutions.
  • Multisectoral – it forges links with other sectors – including health, education, child protection, and water and sanitation – to achieve maximum impact.

Read UNICEF’s latest nutrition strategy [PDF]


 

 

New enhanced search