UNICEF.org新网站正在建设中。
网页内容还在更新中。感谢您的耐心,敬请稍后查看。

儿童营养问题

严重急性营养不良

何为严重急性营养不良

严重急性营养不良是营养不良最极端、最明显的表现形式。 它的形象就是一名虚弱不堪、骨瘦如柴的儿童,亟需治疗方能存活。

患有严重急性营养不良的儿童个子虽高却体重极轻,并伴有严重的肌肉萎缩。 他们还可能患有以四肢、双脚和面部肿胀为特点的营养性水肿。 这些儿童中约有三分之二生活在亚洲,近三分之一生活在非洲。

严重急性营养不良是5岁以下儿童死亡的主要原因,对它的预防和治疗对儿童的生存和发展至关重要。

据估计全球范围内,有1600万5岁以下的儿童均受到严重急性营养不良的影响。 这一数字令人惊愕,更重要的,是因为受严重影响不良影响的儿童,其死亡的可能性是营养状况良好儿童的九倍。 这些死亡情况均系营养不良的直接结果,此外该问题还会造成腹泻和肺炎等童年疾病,这种间接结果也导致营养不良的儿童虚弱到难以存活。

紧急情况下,严重急性营养不良的问题还会急剧增加。 但不管我们在新闻标题当中看到了什么,发展中国家里大多数营养不良的案例都不是由紧急情况造成的。 这种现象主要受长期贫困、缺乏教育、卫生条件差、食物有限以及饮食状况不佳的影响。 而这种问题的结果就是构成了这些国家可持续性发展的重大障碍。

严重急性营养不良的预防和治疗方式

终结急性营养不良为题面临着负责的社会和政治挑战。 预防和长期的解决方案包括废除不平等的权力结构,改善获得医疗服务和营养食物的公平机会,推广母乳喂养和最佳婴幼儿喂养实践,提升用水和安全状况并针对周期性的食物短缺和经济情况做好规划。

但就短期而言,患有严重急性营养不良的儿童还需要紧急的援救治疗方能存活。

直到相对较近的时期,这些儿童才接受了医院治疗,并获得了医疗服务和治疗性牛奶;而更多的儿童则从未有过这样的待遇。 随着即时可用治疗食物的研发,这一现象才得到了巨大改观。

即时可用的治疗性食品是一种高能量、富含微量营养素的糕点,用以治疗5岁以下患有严重急性营养不良的儿童。 顾名思义,即时可用的治疗性食品无需烹饪和制作,能够即拆即食。 这就使它成为了厨房用品及燃料有限地区的实用解决方案。 即时可用的治疗性食品即便是在没有清洁水源的情况下也能安全食用。

该食品的运用在部分意义上,改变了严重急性营养不良问题的治疗形式,以为它能够使那些没有并发医学疾病的儿童在家庭和社区中自行接受治疗。 这种方式也被称之为基于社区的严重急性营养不良治疗方案。

在这种方案中,社区卫生工作者将接受培训观测并识别严重急性营养不良的情况并提供即时可用的治疗性食品以及日常的医疗服务。 与此同时,卫生工作者还将学习识别医学并发症,并将相关儿童转送至医院或医疗中心做进一步的住院治疗。 许多患有严重急性营养不良的儿童还带有包括艾滋病毒在内的传染疾病,使得与卫生工作者的接触成了自愿HIV测试和治疗咨询的重要契机。

基于社区的方案有能力进行早期侦测和早期治疗,从而提高儿童存活率并改善对更多其他儿童的治疗。 它还能够为社区带来治疗能力,并且也比住院治疗更加经济。

2007年,联合国采纳了基于社区的严重急性营养不良管理方案,自那时起,单凭这一项措施,全球就有数百万儿童已接受治疗并已痊愈。

在其他所有方法都失败的情况下,治疗严重急性营养不良是援救儿童生命的最后机会。 该方案并不能作为替代方案,推广营养食物的公平获取机会、结束贫穷,或为其他能够在营养不良开始前就予以阻止的及时干预措施提供支持。

面临的挑战

2014年,只有三百多万5岁以下的儿童得到了严重急性营养不良方面的救治。 尽管最近几年这一数字近乎翻了一番,但面对全球数百万尚未获得救治的儿童,要做的还有很多。

在建设预防和治疗急性营养不良的能力以及分配足够资源方面,政府还面临着重大的挑战。 非紧急状况地区中,该任务的进展尤其缓慢。 部分原因在于,就国家发展、捐助财物和国际社会而言,这种问题的优先权不足,同时,对于严重急性营养不良属于‘日常问题’而非紧急情况的事实,人们的认可度也很有限。

而且,要让各国政府意识到急性营养不良(虚弱消瘦)和慢性营养不良(生长迟滞)之间的关联并联合处理相关问题,要做的还有很多。

向卫生机构和社区中引入严重急性营养不良的治疗方案,在一些地区当中也很有挑战。 相应各国应当制定支持性的国家政策、安排训练有素的医护人员、提供充足的物资和财政支持并且在扩大各个层面治疗规模的中心运营计划。

为实现这一目标,各国政府应当充分认识到处理该问题的必要性和利益所在。 考虑到成本和相对密度原因,诸如即时可用的治疗食品等治疗物资常无法妥善整合到国家医疗服务和分发系统当中。 因此,找到成本低廉、就地取材的适当选项将有助于这项工作的开展。 而所有这些挑战都会在情急情况下变得更为严峻。

其中最大的挑战可能就是要处理严重急性营养不良的潜在社会决定因素。

联合国儿童基金会的回应

供应与运送—联合国儿童基金会是世界最大的治疗物质(包括即时可用的治疗食品)提供机构。 该组织始终致力于寻找强化供应链管理的新方式并且改善在困难条件和紧急情况下向偏远地区运送物资的复杂过程。 联合国儿童基金会还为即时可用治疗食品的本地化生产提供支持。

能力建设—联合国儿童基金会在75个不同的国家中,加强了政府和当地行为体扩大严重急性营养不良治疗规模的能力。 其中包括帮助各国政府通过国家规划机制和政策变更实现治疗方案制度化。

领导力和技术指导—联合国儿童基金会与各国政府合作,针对医护人员制定国家政策、战略、协议和培训项目,并且还在执行过程中向国家行为体提供技术支持。

规范和标准设置—联合国儿童基金会收集了全球数据并吸取了相关教训,进而更新相应的治疗方案和协议并为改善计划的覆盖和质量提供指导。 其中联合国儿童基金会严重急性营养不良计划指南管理就是一个关键的例证,该指南为计划的评估、设计、规划和执行提供了指导。

倡导—无论在全球还是在国家层面,联合国儿童基金会都努力将急性营养不良定位为公共健康的优先级,并且提升了人们对于该问题的范围和规模的认识。


 

 

搜索

We’re building a new UNICEF.org.
As we swap out old for new, pages will be in transition. Thanks for your patience – please keep coming back to see the improvements.

Nutrition

Severe acute malnutrition

What is severe acute malnutrition?

Severe acute malnutrition is the most extreme and visible form of undernutrition. Its face is a child – frail and skeletal – who requires urgent treatment to survive.

Children with severe acute malnutrition have very low weight for their height and severe muscle wasting. They may also have nutritional oedema – characterized by swollen feet, face and limbs. About two thirds of these children live in Asia and almost one third live in Africa.

Severe acute malnutrition is a major cause of death in children under 5, and its prevention and treatment are critical to child survival and development.

Across the globe, an estimated 16 million children under the age of 5 are affected by severe acute malnutrition. This number is staggering – most importantly, because children with severe acute malnutrition are nine times more likely to die than well-nourished children. These deaths are the direct result of malnutrition itself, as well as the indirect result of childhood illnesses like diarrhoea and pneumonia that malnourished children are too weak to survive.

Severe acute malnutrition can increase dramatically in emergencies. But despite what we see in the headlines, the majority of cases occur in developing countries not affected by emergencies. These settings are plagued by chronic poverty, lack of education, poor hygiene, limited access to food and poor diets. The result is significant barriers to sustainable development in these nations.

How is severe acute malnutrition prevented and treated?

Ending acute malnutrition is a complex social and political challenge. Prevention and long term solutions involve dismantling unequal power structures, improving equitable access to health services and nutritious foods, promoting breastfeeding and optimal infant and young child feeding practices, improving water and sanitation, and planning for cyclic food shortages and emergencies.

But in the short term, children with severe acute malnutrition need urgent life saving treatment to survive.

Until relatively recently, these children were only treated in hospitals where they received therapeutic milks along with medical care; and many more were never reached at all. With the creation of ready-to-use therapeutic food (RUTF) however, the picture has changed dramatically.

Ready-to-use therapeutic food (RUTF) is a high-energy, micronutrient enhanced paste used to treat children under age 5 who are affected by severe acute malnutrition. As its name implies, RUTF does not need to be cooked or prepared before consumption. This makes it a practical solution where cooking facilities and fuel are limited. RUTF has a long shelf life and is safe for use even in the absence of clean drinking water.

The use of RUTF has transformed the treatment of severe acute malnutrition, in part, because it allows those children without medical complications to be cured right in their own homes and communities. This approach is referred to as the community-based management of severe acute malnutrition.

In this approach, community health workers are trained in early detection to recognize cases of severe acute malnutrition and provide RUTF and routine medical care. At the same time, health workers learn to recognize medical complications and refer those children to hospitals and health centres for further in-patient treatment. Many children with severe acute malnutrition also have infections, including HIV, making interactions with health workers important opportunities for voluntary HIV testing and treatment counselling.

The power of the community-based approach is that early detection and early treatment leads to better rates of survival and the treatment of many more children. It also empowers communities and is much more cost-effective than in-patient treatment.

In 2007, the United Nations endorsed the community-based management of severe acute malnutrition, and since then, millions more children are now being treated and cured globally than with the facility-based approach alone.

The treatment of severe acute malnutrition is a last opportunity to save a child’s life when all else has failed. It is not a substitute for promoting equitable access to nutritious food, ending poverty and supporting other timely interventions that can prevent malnutrition before it starts.

What are the challenges?

In 2014, just over 3 million children under age 5 were treated for severe acute malnutrition. This figure had almost doubled in only a few years, yet much more remains to be done to reach the millions of remaining children with this condition worldwide.

Governments face immense challenges in building capacity and allotting sufficient resources to prevent and treat acute malnutrition. Progress has been particularly slow in non-emergency contexts. This is partly due to limited prioritization of the issue on the part of national governments, donors, and the international community, and limited acknowledgement that severe acute malnutrition is an ‘everyday problem’ – not just the result of emergencies.

There is also work to be done in making governments aware of the links between acute malnutrition (wasting) and chronic malnutrition (stunting) and the need to address these issues in tandem.

Introducing treatment for severe acute malnutrition in health facilities and communities can be extremely challenging in some contexts. Countries need to have supportive national policies, well-trained health workers, adequate supplies and financing, and a central operational plan to scale-up treatment at all levels.

To achieve this, governments need to be fully convinced of the need and the benefits. Therapeutic supplies such as RUTF are often not well integrated into national health care and distribution systems due to their costs and relative bulk. It can help to identify appropriate, cost effective and locally produced options. All of these challenges are further exacerbated in emergency situations.

Addressing the underlying social determinants of severe acute malnutrition is perhaps the greatest challenge of all.

How is UNICEF responding?

Supply and delivery – UNICEF is the world’s largest provider of therapeutic supplies, including RUTF. The organization is continually identifying new ways to strengthen supply chain management and improve the complex process of delivering supplies to remote locations, in difficult conditions and emergencies. UNICEF also supports local production of RUTF.

Capacity building – UNICEF strengthens the capacities of national governments and local actors to scale-up treatment for severe acute malnutrition in over 75 different countries. This includes supporting governments to institutionalize treatment programmes through national planning mechanisms and policy changes.

Leadership and technical guidance – UNICEF works with governments to develop national policies, strategies, protocols, and training packages for health workers, and provides technical support to national actors in their implementation.

Norms and standards setting – UNICEF gathers global data and captures lessons learned to update treatment approaches and protocols, and provide guidance to improve the coverage and quality of programmes. A key example is the UNICEF Management of Severe Acute Malnutrition Programme Guide, which provides guidance on programme assessment, design, planning and implementation.

Advocacy – At global and national level, UNICEF works to position acute malnutrition as a public health priority and improve understanding of the scope and scale of the problem.


 

 

New enhanced search