السياسة الاجتماعية

تمكين جميع الأطفال، ولا سيما المعرضون للانكشاف والمهمشون، من الوصول إلى نظم حماية اجتماعية نوعية ومتكاملة، ومن المشاركة المجتمعية الفاعلة، ومن نيل حقوقهم.

Boy and girl in Gaza
UNICEF SOP / 2015 / Eyad El Baba

التحديات

تشكل معدلات الفقر والبطالة المتزايدة في دولة فلسطين تحديا أساسيا للكثير من الأسر الفلسطينية وتزيد من الصعوبات التي تواجهها هذه الأسر في الحفاظ على الحد الأدنى من مستويات المعيشة، وتترك الكثير من الناس غير قادرين على تحمل تكاليف المعيشة الأساسية بما فيها المأكل والملبس والمسكن، وتعرضهم لصعوبات متزايدة تحد من قدرتهم على الوصول للخدمات الأخرى، كالرعاية الصحية وخدمات التعليم والمواصلات.

على سبيل المثال، يُظهر مسح أنماط الاستهلاك الشهري للأسر الفلسطينية للعام 2017، الذي نفذه الجهاز المركزي للإحصاء الفلسطيني، أن ٢٩٪ من الأفراد في دولة فلسطين يعانون من الفقر. بالرغم من ذلك، فإن أنماط النمو السكاني التي تشهدها فلسطين توفر فرصا وإمكانيات للاستفادة منها ولا سيما توفر نسبة عالية من القوى العاملة النشطة، ولكنها في الوقت نفسه تفرض العديد من التحديات المرتبطة بضرورة توفير خدمات عامة ملاءمة لتزويد الأجيال القادمة بالمهارات والقدرات اللازمة لتحقيق النجاح في سوق العمل، وكذلك لضمان توفير الفرص للأطفال والشباب للمشاركة المجتمعية الفاعلة ولضمان حقوقهم.

الحلول

يتمثل الهدف العام لبرنامج الحماية والاندماج الاجتماعي الذي تنفيذه اليونيسف في فلسطين في ضمان حصول جميع الأطفال، ولا سيما العرضة للانكشاف والمهمشين، على أنظمة حماية اجتماعية نوعية ومتكاملة، وقدرة أفضل على المشاركة المجتمعية ونيل حقوقهم.

لتحقيق هذا الهدف، فإن اليونيسف تعمل بمسارين متوازيين: الأول، ضمان توفر القدرات لدى المؤسسة الفلسطينية في رسم وتنفيذ السياسات الاجتماعية المبنية على الأدلة. والثاني، ضمان أن الفاعلين الرئيسيين والمجتمع المدني، بما في ذلك الأطفال والمراهقون وأسرهم، أكثر وعيا باحتياجات الأطفال في فلسطين ويشاركون بفاعلية في تمكين الأطفال من الحصول على حقوقهم الكاملة وبمشاركة الأطفال أنفسهم.

يرتكز عمل اليونيسف في فلسطين في مجال تطوير سياسات وبرامج الحماية الاجتماعية على دعم الدراسات والأبحاث لدى وزارة التنمية الاجتماعية. فهذه الدراسات من شأنها الإسهام في الإصلاحات القطاعة التي تنفيذها الوزارة حاليا، والتي تشمل إدخال نظم إدارة الحالة، وتعزيز الحقوق القانونية لخدمات الرعاية للأطفال والأشخاص ذوي الإعاقة من البالغين. كما تشمل تدخلات اليونيسف المساهمة في إعداد التقارير الخاصة باتفاقية حقوق الطفل، واتفاقية القضاء على جميع أشكال التمييز ضد المرأة، واتفاقية حقوق الأشخاص ذوي الإعاقة، وتنفذ جميعها بدعم من اليونيسف وشركاء آخرين، حكوميين ومجتمع مدني ومؤسسات أمم متحدة أخرى.

Social policy

Vulnerable children need access to quality, integrated social protection systems, and to participate in society and realize their rights.

Boy and girl in Gaza
UNICEF SOP / 2015 / Eyad El Baba

Challenge

Growing rates of poverty and unemployment in the State of Palestine have made it increasingly difficult for many Palestinians to maintain minimum standards of living, with many people unable to afford basic commodities, including food, clothing and housing. Other needs, such as health care, transportation and education are also increasingly difficult to access.

The Palestinian Central Bureau of Statistics’ 2017 household monthly consumption patterns survey, for example, shows that 29 per cent of individuals in the State of Palestine suffered poverty. The State of Palestine is, however, experiencing demographic growth patterns that provide opportunities and potential for citizen mobilization and a strong vibrant working force. Concurrently, this also brings several challenges that require strong public services to provide future generations with the skills and capacities needed to achieve success in the labor market, and to ensure that children and youth have the space needed to participate in society and to realize their rights.

 

Solution

The overall purpose of the UNICEF State of Palestine’s Social Protection and Inclusion Programme (SPI) is to ensure that more vulnerable children have access to quality, integrated social protection systems and are better able to participate in society and realize their rights.

This is addressed through two primary streams: 1) Ensuring the Ministry of Social Development (MoSD), Palestinian Central Bureau of Statistics (PCBS) and other institutions have increased capacity to design and implement evidence-based social policies and social protection reforms; and 2) Key actors and civil society, including children, adolescents and their families, are more aware of the needs of Palestinian children and are engaged in promoting the full realization of child rights through child participation.

UNICEF’s policy and programming work in social protection is underpinned by its support to the MoSD’s research studies. These studies inform the sector reforms currently undertaken by the MoSD, which include the introduction of case management systems and the strengthening of legal rights for care and support services for children and adults with disabilities. UNICEF’s work is also informed by the reporting process for the Convention on the Rights of the Child (CRC), the Convention on the Elimination of Discriminations Against Women (CEDAW), and the Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities (CRPD), which are implemented with support from UNICEF and other government, civil society and UN institutions.