Girls from Uzbekistan will assemble and launch their nanosatellite as part of an international educational program

02 November 2021

TASHKENT, November 2, 2021 - UNICEF, Tech4Impact NGO and the Ministry of Innovative Development of the Republic of Uzbekistan launched the UniSat international educational program for girls who are interested in science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM). This program, aimed at increasing the interest of girls in space exploration, is supported by UNICEF country offices in Uzbekistan, Kazakhstan and Kyrgyzstan.

“In Uzbekistan, as in other countries of the world, for various reasons, there remains a significant gap between boys and girls in the areas of computer literacy, technical education and career. The UniSat education program will help narrow this gap, motivate and educate girls in relevant science and technology skills,” said Munir Mammadzade, UNICEF Representative in Uzbekistan. “UniSat will help to draw the attention of general public to gender issue in technological spheres among the youth of Uzbekistan,” he pointed out.

During the program, 15-24 age girls from all regions of Uzbekistan who have passed selection will be able to improve their knowledge of programming and engineering, as well as improve their skills teamwork and project management. The participants will design, assemble and launch a nanosatellite into the stratosphere.  A team of professional engineers and programmers will support the girls.

“The Ministry of Innovative Development is pleased to support the UniSat program. The girls of Uzbekistan have great capacity for development in the field of science, engineering and advanced technologies, and we invite the girls to try their hand at launching a nanosatellite,” siad Shahlo Turdikulova, Deputy Minister of Innovative Development. “We have a laboratory in the ministry with all conditions for designing and assembling nanosatellites, and the doors of the ministry are always open to young people. Perhaps STEM spheres will become your future profession”!

At the final stage of the training program, girls from three republics will gather at the Al-Farabi Institute in Almaty to assemble the nanosatellite. The launch of the nanosatellite in Uzbekistan is scheduled for April 12, 2022. The girls themselves will develop a flight plan and launch the nanosatellite from an existing site in Uzbekistan under the supervision of specialists from the air navigation services.

The nanosatellite developed and launched into the stratosphere will allow girls to take high-resolution images of the Earth and stars. Built-in sensors will collect data that can be useful in the future for scientific research.

“We are pleased, together with our partners, to launch such a unique program for girls in Uzbekistan,” said Saida Yusupova, Head of the Tech4Impact NGO. “Participation in the UniSat program is an excellent chance for girls to gain new knowledge in the field of STEM, learn how to work in a team, learn more about space and satellites, gain experience in extracurricular activities for admission to the best universities in Uzbekistan and the world, meet famous women from space and engineering. Registration for the UniSat program is open until November 10, and we invite all girls interested in STEM disciplines to register!"

For media queries please contact: 

Nazokat Abdukunduzova

Press Secretary, Ministry of Innovative Development

Phone: 99899 302 26 00

Email:n.abduqunduzova@mininnovation.uz

***

Elena Selezneva

NGO Tech4Impact, Project manager

Phone. 99890 989 72 58

Email: info@tech4impact.uz

***

Inna Wolfson

Youth and Adolescent Health Specialist, UNICEF Uzbekistan

Phone: 998935055256

Email: iwolfson@unicef.org

***

Ms. Nargiza Egamberdieva

Communications Officer, UNICEF Uzbekistan

Phone: 99893 380 34 19

E-mail: negamberdieva@unicef.org

Media contacts

Nargiza Egamberdieva
Communication Officer
UNICEF Uzbekistan
Tel: +99893 380 34 19

About UNICEF

UNICEF works in some of the world’s toughest places, to reach the world’s most disadvantaged children. Across 190 countries and territories, we work for every child, everywhere, to build a better world for everyone.

For more information about UNICEF and its work for children visit www.unicef.uz.

Follow UNICEF on Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

Девушки из Узбекистана соберут и запустят свой наноспутник в рамках международной образовательной программы

02 Ноябрь 2021

ТАШКЕНТ, 2 ноября 2021 г. – ЮНИСЕФ, ННО Tech4Impact и Министерство инновационного развития Республики Узбекистан провели официальный запуск международной образовательной программы UniSat для девушек, которые интересуются наукой, технологиями, инженерным делом и математикой (STEM - Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics). Данная программа, нацеленная на повышение интереса девушек к космонавтике, проводится при поддержке страновых офисов ЮНИСЕФ в Узбекистане, Казахстане и Кыргызстане.

«В Узбекистане, как и в других странах мира, по различным причинам сохраняется значительный разрыв между мальчиками и девочками в сферах компьютерной грамотности, технического образования и карьеры. Образовательная программа UniSat поможет уменьшить данный разрыв, заинтересовать и обучить девочек соответствующим навыкам в сфере науки и технологий», сказал Мунир Мамедзаде, глава Представительства ЮНИСЕФ в Узбекистане. «UniSat поможет привлечь внимание широкой общественности к гендерному вопросу в технологических сферах среди молодежи Узбекистана», подчеркнул он.  

В ходе программы девушки 15-24 лет из всех областей Узбекистана, прошедшие отбор, смогут совершенствовать свои знания по программированию и инженерному делу, а также улучшить навыки работы в команде и управления проектом. Участницы спроектируют, соберут и запустят наноспутник в стратосферу при поддержке команды профессиональных инженеров и программистов.

«Министерство инновационного развития с радостью поддерживает программу UniSat.  У девушек Узбекистана большой потенциал для развития в сфере науки, инжиниринга и передовых технологий, и мы приглашаем девушек попробовать свои силы в запуске наноспутника», сказала Шахло Турдикулова, заместитель министра инновационного развития. «У нас в министерстве есть лаборатория со всеми условиями для проектирования и сборки наноспутников, и двери министерства всегда открыты для молодежи. Возможно, STEM-сферы станут вашей будущей профессией!» 

На заключительном этапе обучающей программы девушки из трех республик соберутся в институте Ал-Фараби в городе Алматы для сборки наноспутника. Запуск наноспутника в Узбекистане запланирован на 12 апреля 2022 г. Девушки сами составят план полета и запустят наноспутник с действующей площадки в Узбекистане под наблюдением специалистов из аэронавигационных служб.

Разработанный и запущенный в стратосферу наноспутник позволит девушкам сделать снимки Земли и звезд с высоким разрешением. Встроенные датчики соберут данные, которые могут быть полезны в дальнейшем для научных исследований.

«Мы рады, совместно с партнерами, запустить такую уникальную программу для девушек Узбекистана», отметила Саида Юсупова, руководитель ННО Tech4Impact. «Участие в программе UniSat — отличный шанс для девушек получить новые знания в сфере STEM, научиться работать в команде, больше узнать о космосе и спутниках, получить опыт внеклассных активностей для поступления в лучшие ВУЗы Узбекистана и мира, познакомиться с известными женщинами из сферы космоса и инжиниринга. Регистрация на программу UniSat открыта до 10 ноября, и мы приглашаем всех девушек, интересующихся STEM-дисциплинами, зарегистрироваться!»

Контакты для СМИ для получения дополнительной информации:

Назокат Абдукундузова

Министерство инновационного развития РУ, Пресс-секретарь

Тел. 99899 302 26 00

Эл.почта: n.abduqunduzova@mininnovation.uz

***

Елена Селезнева

ННО Tech4Impact, Координатор проектов

Тел. 99890 989 72 57

Эл.почта: info@tech4impact.uz

***

Инна Волфсон

ЮНИСЕФ Узбекистан, Советник по вопросам развития подростков и моледежи

Тел. 99893 505-5256

Эл.почта: iwolfson@unicef.org

***

Наргиза Эгамбердиева

ЮНИСЕФ Узбекистан, Советник по связям с общественностью

Тел. 99893 380 34 19

Эл.почта: negamberdieva@unicef.org

 

Официальный сайт программы: www.unisat.uz

 

Контакты СМИ

Наргиза Эгамбердиева
Советник по связям с общественностью
ЮНИСЕФ
Тел: +99893 380 34 19
Электронная почта: negamberdieva@unicef.org

О ЮНИСЕФ

ЮНИСЕФ работает в некоторых из самых сложных мест в мире, чтобы помочь самым обездоленным детям. В 190 странах и территориях мы работаем для каждого ребенка, везде, чтобы построить лучший мир для всех.

Для получения дополнительной информации о ЮНИСЕФ и его работе в Узбекистане, посетите www.unicef.uz.

Следите за ЮНИСЕФ на Twitter | Facebook | Instagram