Portraits de l’UNICEF

Orlando Bloom

Ambassadeur itinérant

© Norman Jean Roy
“I like the fact that UNICEF does not simply provide people with the humanitarian aid, but also elaborates on the tools to solve problems and improve the life of children and women.” - Orlando Bloom

Le 12 octobre 2009, l’acteur de théâtre et de cinéma anglais Orlando Bloom a été nommé Ambassadeur itinérant de l’UNICEF pour son engagement dans le monde en faveur des droits de l’enfant.
 
Orlando Bloom soutient l’action de l’UNICEF depuis les premières visites d’écoles qu’il a effectuées dans les districts isolés de Kaski et de Chitwan, deux des régions les plus pauvres de l’Ouest du Népal, en 2007. Il a parlé de l’importance de l’éducation et a été en mesure de voir comment les programmes d’eau et d’assainissement de l’UNICEF aidaient les familles sur le terrain. À la demande des enfants, d'Orlando Bloom a accepté de jouer un petit rôle pour une émission de leur radio scolaire locale.

Orlando Bloom est retourné au Népal en juin 2008 pour observer la façon dont l'UNICEF et ses partenaires fournissaient de l'eau salubre aux enfants et aux familles. Il a aussi visité le centre Krasnoselsky de Moscou, un foyer pour enfants issus de familles économiquement vulnérables. En 2008, Orlando Bloom s’est rendu à Sarajevo pour faire un constat direct de la situation des enfants dans le pays.

« L’UNICEF est connu dans le monde entier pour son aide humanitaire », a déclaré Orlando Bloom, « mais l’organisation offre aussi des programmes d’éducation et des outils pour aider les femmes et les enfants. J’ai réagi à la façon dont l’UNICEF travaille autant qu’au travail en lui-même. Je suis impatient d’en apprendre davantage et d’aider l’UNICEF par tous les moyens à ma disposition ».
 
La Directrice générale de l’UNICEF , Mme Ann M. Veneman (2005-2010), a déclaré : « L’action des Ambassadeurs itinérants de l’UNICEF contribue à créer un élan en faveur de l’amélioration de la vie des enfants dans le monde. Nous sommes fiers de compter Orlando Bloom au nombre des porte-parole les plus éloquents des enfants vulnérables ».

Activités : faits marquants

Orlando Bloom est né à Canterbury, dans le Kent, en Angleterre. Dès son plus jeune âge, il a étudié l’art et le théâtre, d’abord à la British American Drama Academy, puis à la Guildhall School of Music and Drama. En 1999, il a interprété le rôle de Legoas dans la trilogie « Le Seigneur des Anneaux ».

Il a joué dans plus de 17 films, entre autres, la trilogie « Pirates des Caraïbes » du réalisateur Gore Verbinski ; « Black Hawk Down » et « Kingdom of Heaven » de Ridley Scott ; « Elizabethtown » de Cameron Crowe ; « Troy » de Wolfgang Peterson ; « Ned Kelly » et « Haven ». On pourra le voir prochainement dans « Sympathy for Delicious », de Mark Ruffalo et « Main Street » le dernier scénario de Horton Foote.


 

 

 

 Version imprimable

Activés : faits marquants

Recherche

UNICEF People

Orlando Bloom

Goodwill Ambassador

© Norman Jean Roy
“I like the fact that UNICEF does not simply provide people with the humanitarian aid, but also elaborates on the tools to solve problems and improve the life of children and women.” - Orlando Bloom

English film and stage actor Orlando Bloom was appointed a UNICEF Goodwill Ambassador on 12 October 2009, in recognition of his commitment to the rights of children around the world.
 
Mr. Bloom has supported UNICEF since 2007, when he first visited schools in the remote western districts of Kaski and Chitwan, two of the poorest areas of Nepal. He spoke about the importance of education and he was able to see how UNICEF's water and sanitation programmes benefit local families. When asked by the children, Mr. Bloom agreed to perform a small role in their local school radio production.

In 2008, Mr. Bloom visited Nepal again to see how UNICEF and its partners are providing clean water for children and families. He also visited the Krasnoselsky centre in Moscow, a shelter for children from economically vulnerable families. In 2008 Mr. Bloom went to Sarajevo to see firsthand the situation of children in the country.

"UNICEF is known all over the world for delivering humanitarian aid," said Orlando, "but they also educate and provide tools to help women and children. I responded to how UNICEF works as much as I did to the work itself. I look forward to learning more and to supporting UNICEF any way I can."
 
UNICEF Executive Director, Ann M. Veneman said, "Advocacy from UNICEF Goodwill Ambassadors helps build momentum to improve the lives of children around the world. We are proud to have Orlando Bloom as one of the strong voices for vulnerable children."

Activity Highlights

Orlando Bloom was born in Canterbury, Kent, England. From an early age, he studied art and drama, first at the British American Drama Academy and then at Guildhall School of Music and Drama. In 1999, he was cast as "Legoas" in the "Lord of the Rings" trilogy.

He has made more than 17 movies, including the "Pirates of the Caribbean" trilogy directed by Gore Verbinski; "Black Hawk Down" and "Kingdom of Heaven," directed by Ridley Scott; "Elizabethtown," directed by Cameron Crowe; "Troy," directed by Wolfgang Peterson; "Ned Kelly" and "Haven." He will next be seen in "Sympathy for Delicious," directed by Mark Ruffalo and "Main Street," Horton Foote's final screenplay.


 

 

 

 Printer friendly

Activity Highlights

New enhanced search