联合国儿童基金会有关人员

伊斯梅尔.比亚

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2007-0097/Markisz
比亚在13岁时被强行征入塞拉利昂武装部队,两年后在联合国儿童基金会的帮助下得以退伍。

畅销书作家、人权问题发言人伊斯梅尔.比亚(Ishmael Beah),是联合国儿童基金会第一位受战争影响儿童代言人。比亚在2007年11月20日接受任命时说:“对我来讲,这个称号赋予我更大的力量,让我继续坚持自己投身的事业——确保发生在我身上的悲剧不要再发生在全世界的其他儿童身上。”比亚承诺要为饱受暴力创伤的儿童代言,要带给他们希望。

1991年,塞拉利昂爆发了一场残酷的内战,摧毁了数百万人的生活。比亚当时只有11岁,他的父母和两个兄弟都被杀害。13岁的比亚被强行招入武装部队。两年后,在联合国儿童基金会的帮助下,他得以离开军队,住进弗里敦的疗养院。

1996年,在联合国马歇尔《武装冲突对儿童的影响》报告发布会上,比亚阐述了战争给他们国家的儿童造成的毁灭性打击。在2000年5月召开的联合国儿童问题的特别会议上,比亚作为分组座谈会的成员,参加了“救赎我们的孩子:联合国救助困境中的儿童兵”的专题小组讨论。出席小组讨论的其他成员还有当时的联合国秘书长安南和其他联合国机构的负责人。

比亚继续倡导,帮助改变成千上万身陷战争的儿童的现状。比亚是人权观察组织儿童权益顾问委员会的成员,他曾经在美国国会作证。2008年,比亚参与共同创建了“受战争影响的青年联盟(NYPAW)”,该组织旨在提高人们对冲突地区儿童困境的认识,主张停止敌对行动,并为目前正努力摆脱战争影响的儿童树立榜样。

2007年,伊斯梅尔.比亚撰写的自传《长路漫漫:一个儿童兵的回忆》在美国出版。这本书后来被译成超过35种文字,并在加拿大、欧洲、拉丁美洲和亚洲出版。这本书也在星巴克咖啡馆销售,每卖出一本书,联合国儿童基金会的美国基金将获得两美元的善款。2007年,美国一些大学指定《长路漫漫》作为大学一年级学生的读物。

比亚获得过许多人道主义类和文学类奖项。他在很多文学活动中发表演说,其中包括英国威尔士的海伊文学节(Hay on Wye Literary Festival)。比亚还在2007年的纪录片《闪闪发光:星球的震撼(Bling: A Planet Rock)》中出镜,该片提请公众关注围绕钻石发生的冲突问题。

伊斯梅尔.比亚目前居住在纽约。


 

 

Activity Highlights

Ishmael Beah

搜索

UNICEF People

Ishmael Beah

Advocate for Children Affected by War

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2007-0097/Markisz
“I know the nature of what it is to be forgotten, what it is to lose your humanity, and more importantly, what it is to recover from it and to have another life.” – Ishmael Beah

Ishmael Beah, best-selling author and human rights spokesperson, was appointed UNICEF’s first Advocate for Children Affected by War on 20 November 2007.  In accepting the position Mr. Beah said, “… for me it’s just a way to give me more strength to continue doing what I’ve already embarked on, what I’ve dedicated my life to doing – which is to make sure that what happened to me doesn’t continue to happen to other children around the world.”  He pledged to give a voice and hope to children whose lives have been scarred by violence.

In 1991, the outbreak of a brutal civil war in Sierra Leone upended the lives of millions.  Ishmael Beah’s parents and two brothers were killed and he was forcibly recruited into the war at age 13. After two years, with UNICEF help, he was removed from the army and placed in a rehabilitation home in Freetown.

At the 1996 United Nations presentation of the Machel Report on the Impact of Armed Conflict on Children, Mr. Beah spoke about the devastating effects of war on children in his country. In May 2000, at the UN Special Session on Children he served on a panel entitled ‘Reclaiming Our Children: The UN Responds to the Plight of the Child Soldier’. The panel included then Secretary General Kofi Annan and UN agency heads.

Mr. Beah continues his advocacy to help change the course for the thousands of children still trapped in wars. He is a member of the Human Rights Watch Children’s Rights Division Advisory Committee and has testified before the United States Congress. In 2008, he co-founded the Network of Young People Affected by War (NYPAW) with a mission to raise awareness of the plight of children in conflict zones, advocate for an end to hostilities and provide role models for children who are currently struggling to recover from war.

Activity highlights

Ishmael Beah’s book, A Long Way Gone: Memoirs of a Boy Soldier was published in the United States in 2007. It has since been published in Canada, Europe, Latin America and Asia and appears in over 35 languages. The book was also available in Starbucks shops, and for each book sold, US$ 2.00 went to the US Fund for UNICEF.  A Long Way Gone has been assigned to freshman classes of several universities in the US.

Mr. Beah has received numerous humanitarian and writing awards. He has spoken at many literary festivals including the Hay on Wye Literary Festival in Wales, United Kingdom. He appears in Bling: A Planet Rock, a 2007 documentary that draws attention to the diamond conflict.

Ishmael Beah lives in New York City.   


 

 

Activity Highlights

New enhanced search