UNICEF.org新网站正在建设中。
网页内容还在更新中。感谢您的耐心,敬请稍后查看。

儿童营养问题

微量营养素

微量营养素的营养角色

微量营养素,或称维生素和矿物质,是优质饮食的关键成分,对于健康也有着深远的影响。 尽管所需求的分量极小,微量营养素却仍旧是健康大脑、骨骼和身体的必要构造成分。

摄入各种营养密度高的食物和母乳,是婴幼儿在饮食中获取必要微量营养素的理想方式。 但在世界许多地方,儿童饮食所包含的微量营养素都不够,而营养素缺乏也是一种普遍问题。

微量营养素缺乏常被称作‘隐性饥饿’,因为它们会慢慢随着时间而发展,它们的破坏性影响只有当成为不可逆的既定事实后才会被发觉。 尽管儿童每晚都可能饱食而眠,但微量营养素的缺乏却意味着他/她的身体仍处在良好营养状况所需的饥饿状态。

因为微量营养素的却是,数百万儿童都遭受着生长迟滞、认知迟缓、免疫系统脆弱和疾病的影响。 对于孕妇而言,缺少必要的维生素和矿物质可能带来灾难性的影响,它会增加婴儿出生体重过轻、出生缺陷、死胎甚至是死亡的风险。

主要缺乏物质

缺失是可预防性儿童脑部发育受损的主要原因。 它最具破坏性的影响就发生在胎儿生长而幼儿发育的最初几年时间。 从全球范围来看,世界上共有30%的人群生活在碘缺失的地区1

缺乏维生素A影响了低收入和中等收入国家约三分之一的儿童,他们主要集中在撒哈拉以南的非洲以及南亚地区2。 缺乏维生素A会导致免疫系统脆弱,并增加儿童感染病死于麻疹和腹泻疾病的风险。

会导致贫血,进而增加分娩出血和细菌感染的风险,并且还与孕产妇死亡有关。 反过来在婴儿这边,缺铁也会导致婴儿出生早熟,易患传染病、学习障碍和发育延滞等问题。在发展中国家,有将近40%的孕妇和超过40%的5岁以下儿童都患有贫血症。 据估计,其中约有半数的贫血症都是由缺铁造成的3。 据估计,其中约有半数的贫血症都是由缺铁造成的。

会损害免疫功能,并与胃肠道感染的风险增加紧密相关。 缺锌还是儿童因腹泻死亡的影响因素之一。 缺锌问题在低收入国家中尤其普遍,因为其对富锌食物的摄入量不足而且吸收也有限。 .

缺少钙、维生素D叶酸使怀孕期间的大忌,将会给母亲及发育中的胎儿带来一系列健康并发症。

微量营养素缺乏的预防和治疗方式

联合国儿童基金会为如下战略提供支持,以预防并治疗妇女及儿童的微量营养素缺乏:

饮食多样化战略 能够帮助家庭获得一系列的富营养食物。 该战略包括就婴幼儿的适当喂养方式对看护人进行教育,并改善当地可获取食品的使用方式。

营养补充计划提供日常饮食所没有的具体营养素。 在身体亟需仅靠日常饮食无法提供的微量营养素时(例如怀孕期间),进行营养补充尤为重要。 举例来说,补充孕妇所需的铁和叶酸,能够减少出生体重过低、产妇贫血和缺铁的风险。

大众营养强化是指人们日常食用的食物或调味品(如面粉、食糖、盐和食用油)中增加微量营养素的过程。 营养强化计划在低成本预防营养缺失的工作上卓有成效——通常每人每年只需要几美分的花费即可。 全球的食盐加碘与强效面粉计划(加铁)为许多国家成功地提供了大众营养强化。

家庭营养强化计划为看护人提供微量营养粉,供其加入家中儿童的食品当中。 这种做法能够极大地改善6个月至2岁或以上儿童所需补充食品的饮食质量。 家庭营养强化增强了看护人的能力,并在无需大幅改变日常饮食习惯的前提下,为他们提供了改善家庭饮食的工具。

这些策略与预防和治疗感染性疾病及处寄生虫的方案一起,能够使微量营养物的损耗达到最小化并能减少弱势群体的微量营养素缺乏问题。

面临的挑战

微量营养素缺乏的原因包括即时因素(如营养食物摄入不足及穿软性疾病)和潜在因素(如贫穷或不卫生的环境)。 处理这些因素是一件颇具挑战的事情。

增加营养食物的摄入就很有挑战,因为微量营养素密集的食物通常售价较高且不易获得。 举例来说,缺铁是全世界最普遍的营养问题,但消除这一问题的进展却十分有限,部分原因就是富铁食物(如肝脏、红色肉类、鸡蛋、鱼类、全麦面包和豆类)并非随处可得而且对于许多家庭来说价格也比较昂贵。 

传染性疾病与微量营养素缺乏还形成了相互影响的恶性循环。 传染病在身体最需要的时候消耗了微量营养素。 由于能利用的储量有限,免疫系统便会更加虚弱并且更加无力对抗传染疾病。

诸如护理实践不足、家庭环境不卫生以及饮用水不安全或卫生状况差等隐性因素也会威胁到食物摄入并增加传染疾病。

向最弱势的妇女儿童人群提供援助是另一个挑战,尤其是在从怀孕到婴儿两岁生日期间的1000天关键发展时期

联合国儿童基金会的回应

联合国儿童基金会对微量营养素缺乏问题的回应横跨了发展和紧急情况等场合。 

改善饮食多样性

提供营养补充

  • 为减少儿童死亡率,联合国儿童基金会在优先国家(5岁以下儿童死亡率高或者微量营养素缺乏成为公众卫生问题的国家)中针对6到59个月大的婴幼儿提供了维生素A补充项目。 营养补充计划常开展于“儿童健康日”期间,同时进行的还有接种疫苗和除寄生虫等其他影响较高的健康干预措施。 这些活动对于那些较难接触社区的脆弱儿童,以及医疗系统薄弱的脆弱地区而言,尤为奏效。
  • 联合国儿童基金会强调在怀孕期间补充铁和叶酸等微量元素的重要性,并支持政府将这种干预手段扩大化。 联合国儿童基金会还与合作伙伴一起,在不同地区测试多种微量营养素的配方,以减少贫血症并改善妊娠结果4,如今也正与合作伙伴一道制定有关此项干预的全球指南。

支持全球食盐加碘

推广其他形式的大众营养强化

  • 除了食盐以外,联合国儿童基金会还支持各国政府开展设计维生素A、铁和叶酸的食物营养强化计划。 此项工作的重要部分之一就是倡导立法保障食物营养强化的强制性,确保其能够使尽可能多的人群受益。
  • 从全球范围来看,联合国儿童基金会致力于打造全球食物营养强化议程并就改善监控系统提供指导。

支持家庭营养强化计划

  • 联合国儿童基金会是全球家庭营养强化计划的领导支持者。 这一计划涉及到为目标人群提供微量营养粉,倡导采取相关政策,创造需求和表现,改变行为并确保该计划能够得到严格监控与评估。 
  • 联合国儿童基金会联合主持全球 家庭营养强化技术咨询小组, 这条利益相关者全球网络的任务就是要为家庭营养强化计划的有效执行提供支持。

________________

1 全球用碘网络,http://www.ign.org
2 史蒂文斯等人,柳叶刀全球健康,2015年3月: e528-36
3 史蒂文斯等人,柳叶刀全球健康,2013年7月: e16-25


 

 

搜索

Nutrition

Micronutrients

What is the role of micronutrients in nutrition?

Micronutrients – also known as vitamins and minerals – are essential components of a high-quality diet and have a profound impact on health. While they are only required in tiny quantities, micronutrients are the essential building blocks of healthy brains, bones and bodies.

Consuming a diverse range of nutrient-dense foods alongside breastfeeding is the ideal way for young children to get essential micronutrients in their diets. But in many parts of the world, children’s diets contain insufficient micronutrients and deficiencies are widespread.

Micronutrient deficiencies are often referred to as ‘hidden hunger’ because they develop gradually over time, their devastating impact not seen until irreversible damage has been done. While a child may go to sleep each night with a full belly, micronutrient deficiencies mean that his or her body is still hungry for good nutrition.

Millions of children suffer from stunted growth, cognitive delays, weakened immunity and disease as a result of micronutrient deficiencies. For pregnant women, the lack of essential vitamins and minerals can be catastrophic, increasing the risk of low birth weight, birth defects, stillbirth, and even death.

What are the main deficiencies?

Iodine deficiency is the primary cause of preventable brain damage in children. Its most devastating impacts occur during foetal development and in the first few years of a child’s life. Globally, 30 per cent of the world’s population live in areas with iodine deficiency1.

Vitamin A deficiency affects about one third of children living in low and middle income settings, mainly in sub-Saharan Africa and South Asia2. Vitamin A deficiency weakens the immune system and increases a child’s risk of contracting and dying from infections like measles, and diarrhoeal illnesses.

Iron deficiency can lead to anaemia, which increases the risk of haemorrhage and bacterial infection during childbirth and is implicated in maternal deaths. In turn, babies may be born prematurely and suffer from infections, learning disabilities, and delayed development. Almost 40 per cent of pregnant women and more than 40 per cent of children under 5 in developing countries are anaemic3. About half of these cases are estimated to result from iron deficiency.

Zinc deficiency impairs immune function and is associated with an increased risk of gastrointestinal infections. It is also a contributing factor in child deaths due to diarrhoea. Zinc deficiency is especially common in lower income countries due to the low dietary intake of zinc-rich foods and inadequate absorption.

Calcium, vitamin D, and folate deficiencies are a particular concern during pregnancy, and can lead to a number of health complications for both the mother and growing baby.

How are micronutrient deficiencies prevented and treated?

UNICEF supports the following strategies to prevent and treat micronutrient deficiencies in women in children:

Dietary diversification strategies help families access a range of nutrient-rich foods. They involve educating caregivers on appropriate infant and young child feeding practices and improving the use of locally available foods.

Supplementation programmes provide specific micronutrients that are not available as part of the regular diet. Supplementation is especially important at times when the body has particularly high micronutrient needs – for example during pregnancy – that are difficult to meet with diet alone. One example is iron and folic acid supplements for pregnant women, which can reduce the risk of low birth weight, maternal anaemia and iron deficiency.

Mass fortification is the process of adding micronutrients to foods or condiments that are consumed regularly by the population, such as flour, sugar, salt and cooking oils. Fortification programmes are extremely effective in preventing micronutrient deficiencies at minimal cost – often only a few cents per person per year. Universal salt iodization and flour fortification programmes (to add iron) have provided successful mass fortification in many countries.

Home fortification programmes provide caregivers with micronutrient powders to sprinkle on the foods they prepare for children at home. This can significantly improve the dietary quality of complementary food for children from 6 months to the age of 2 or older. Home fortification empowers caregivers and provides them with the tools to improve the family diet without requiring a major change to their dietary practices.

These strategies, together with the prevention and treatment of infectious diseases and deworming, can minimize micronutrient depletion and reduce micronutrient deficiencies among vulnerable groups.

What are the challenges?

Micronutrient deficiencies are caused by immediate factors – such as inadequate intake of nutritious foods and infectious disease – and underlying factors – like poverty and unhealthy environments. Addressing these factors can be a challenging process.

Increasing dietary intake of nutritious foods can be challenging because micronutrient-dense foods are often expensive and not readily accessible. To illustrate, iron deficiency is the most pervasive nutritional problem in the world but progress to eliminate it has been limited, in part, because iron-rich foods – like liver, red meats, eggs, fish, whole-grain bread, and legumes – are not widely available or affordable to many families.

Infectious disease and micronutrient deficiencies exacerbate one another in a vicious cycle. Infections deplete micronutrients at a time when the body needs them the most. With limited stores to draw upon, the immune system weakens further and becomes less capable of fighting the infection.

Underlying factors, such as inadequate care practices and an unhealthy household environment, including unsafe drinking water and poor sanitation, also threaten food intake and increase infections.

Reaching the most vulnerable populations of women and children is also a challenge, particularly during the critical 1,000 day developmental period from pregnancy to a child’s second birthday.

How is UNICEF responding?

UNICEF’s response to micronutrient deficiencies spans both development and emergency contexts.

Improving dietary diversity

Providing supplementation

  • To reduce child mortality, UNICEF supports vitamin A supplementation programmes for children aged 6-59 months in priority countries (those with high under-five mortality rates or where deficiencies are a public health problem). Supplements are often delivered during ‘Child Health Days’ alongside other high-impact health interventions such as vaccination and deworming. These events are particularly effective at reaching vulnerable children in hard-to-reach communities, and in fragile settings with weak health systems.
  • UNICEF advocates for the importance of iron folic acid supplementation during pregnancy and supports governments to scale up this intervention. UNICEF worked with partners to develop the multiple micronutrient formulation tested in different settings to reduce anaemia and improve pregnancy outcomes4, and is now working with partners to develop global guidance on this intervention.

Supporting universal salt iodization

  • UNICEF advocates and guides national governments and private sector salt producers in implementing universal salt iodization.
  • As a member of the Iodine Global Network, UNICEF contributes to policies and standards in iodine nutrition.

Promoting other forms of mass fortification

  • In addition to salt, UNICEF supports national governments to develop food fortification programmes for vitamin A, iron and folic acid. An important part of this work involves advocating for legislation to make food fortification mandatory, ensuring access for the widest population possible.
  • Globally, UNICEF works to shape the global food fortification agenda and provide guidance on improving monitoring systems.

Supporting home fortification programmes

  • UNICEF is a leading supporter of home fortification programmes worldwide. This involves supplying micronutrient powders, advocating for the adoption of relevant policies, creating demand and behaviour change strategies to reach target populations, and ensuring that programmes are rigorously monitored and evaluated.
  • UNICEF co-chairs the global Home Fortification Technical Advisory Group, a global network of stakeholders tasked with providing support on the implementation of effective home fortification programmes.

 

 

________________

1 Iodine Global Network, www.ign.org
2 Stevens et al, Lancet Global Health, 2015: 3: e528-36
3 Stevens et al; Lancet Global Health 2013 July: e16-25
4 Multiple Micronutrient Supplementation During Pregnancy in Developing Country Settings, Food and Nutrition Bulletin 2009 Volume 30, Issue 4 - http://www.ingentaconnect.com/content/nsinf/fnb/2009/00000030/a00404s4/art00010


 

 

New enhanced search