Where we work

Unique field presence connects UNICEF across regions

Among UN agencies, UNICEF is exceptional for having Field Offices, which are operated by staff and form a network within a country.  

In Bangladesh, we have offices in all eight administrative divisions.

These divisions are divided into 64 districts. Each division is named after its major city, which also serves as administrative seat.

Over 100 field-staff work with partners at the local government level to implement and monitor our programmes.


The division is at the heart of Bangladesh. The country’s capital Dhaka is located at the centre. It is the world’s fastest growing megacity.   

This office oversees 13 districts: Dhaka, Faridpur, Gazipur, Gopalganj, Kishoreganj, Madaripur, Manikganj, Narayanganj, Narsingdi, Rajbari, Shariatpur and Tangail. 


Chittagong division forms the southeastern tip of Bangladesh, which extends into the Bay of Bengal. Chittagong city is country’s second largest, housing major ports.

The division includes the Chittagong Hill Tracts, where ethnic minorities make up half the population.

This field office covers 11 districts: Chittagong, Rangamati, Bandarban, Khagrachari, Cox’s Bazar, Feni, Brahmanbaria, Lakshmipur, Comilla, Chandpur and Noakhali.


Our field office in Khulna covers 10 south-eastern districts: Khulna, Satkhira, Bagerhat, Jessore, Narail, Jhenaidah, Kushtia, Magura, Meherpur and Chuadanga.

Khulna city, the administrative seat of the south-west division, is the country’s third largest after Dhaka and Chittagong. 

This region has a number of UNESCO heritage sites including the Sundarbans, the world’s largest mangrove forest and habitat of the Royal Bengal Tiger.


A division of northern Bangladesh, the four districts within it were part of northern Dhaka Division before 2015.

Our field office here covers Jamalpur, Mymensingh, Netrokona and Sherpur.

Staff based in Mymensingh also support programme implementation in Sirajganj district under Rajshahi division.


This field office serves the 8 districts that form the northern division of Rangpur, reaching out to 00 million at: Gaibandha, Kurigram, Lalmonirhat, Nilphamari, Thakurgaon, Rangpur, Panchagarh and Dinajpur.                                                         


The Rajshahi division located in northwest Bangladesh, has 8 districts: Bogra, Joypurhat, Naogaon, Natore, Nawabganj, Pabna, Rajshahi.  


This covers six districts in south-central Bangladesh: Barisal, Patuakhali, Barguna, Bhola, Jhalokathi and Pirojpur. Situated mostly along the coast, these districts are vulnerable to cyclones and storms.


This office covers districts in north-eastern Bangladesh, including many of those living in “Haor” areas. A “Haor” is a flood plain which, during rainy seasons, becomes like a large lake with small islands.

Sylhet Division consists of four districts: Habiganj, Maulvibazar, Sunamganj and Sylhet.