UNICEF.org新网站正在建设中。
网页内容还在更新中。感谢您的耐心,敬请稍后查看。

儿童营养问题

紧急情况下的营养问题

灾难降临时,联合国儿童基金会就在身边。

全球范围内,紧急事件的数量和规模都在持续壮大——其中儿童受到的影响最大。

气候变化、环境恶化以及诸如地震、洪水和干旱等自然灾害给那些贫困社区造成了极大破坏。 暴力冲突也威胁着数百万儿童和家庭的生命。 诸如西非爆发的埃博拉等疾病也进一步影响着贫弱地区的儿童,威胁着他们的健康和营养。

与此同时,每个国家的经济不平等现象也在增长,穷人们也最容易受到食物价格增长的影响。

紧急情况或危机也常带有安全食物或水源缺乏的特点,并且也会扰乱健康和营养服务,致使保护、改善和支持婴幼儿的最佳喂养方式

幼儿、孕妇及哺乳女性最易受到紧急情况的影响,为了阻止营养不良并保证其生存,他们的营养状况必须得到保护。

共同努力确保公平、权利与生存

联合国儿童基金会最大的工作项目就分布在频繁遭遇人道主义危机的国家或者最易受创、最为脆弱的地区。 在人道主义危机中,联合国儿童基金会的首要任务便是防止饥饿与疾病造成的死亡并减少营养不良。

为做到这一点,联合国儿童基金会为母亲们提供支持,帮助她们在紧急情况中能够安全地喂饱自己的婴儿。 在儿童遭受急性营养不良影响的地区,联合国儿童基金会提供了治疗性喂养服务,以挽救生命并提供必要的微量营养素,进而防止并治疗营养素缺乏问题。 这些都是保障婴幼儿生存的关键干预手段。 紧密协调好用水、卫生和医疗服务工作也能够帮助保证儿童的营养状况。

从长远角度来看,联合国儿童基金会还与社区开展合作,处理造成这种悲惨局面的深层问题,并且增强家庭、社区和医疗系统的恢复能力,以应对危机和累积的压力。

联合国儿童基金会还与紧急情况中的服务合作,设计并开展营养干预,以此作为紧急情况营养回应的部分工作。 公平地获得服务和及时的必要物资供应,对于这项工作的成功而言,至关重要。 针对急性营养不良的治疗性食物、处理营养缺乏的微量营养素,以及确保适当习惯持续的咨询服务都是必不可少的。

在紧急情况中协调有序的回应也至关重要。 联合国儿童基金会在全球层面领导了全球营养团任务,该任务通过确保协调有序、及时高效的规模性回应,强力保卫并改善危机影响人群的营养状况。 全球营养团切实拥有全球层面的合作、指导和资源动员,在紧急情况规模庞大、没有任何单个机构或当地政府可以独自处理的情况下,提供迅速且协调性好的紧急回应。

在国家层面,联合国儿童基金会也有权在60多个国家中作为领导机构开展营养和紧急情况协调工作。 通过这一角色,联合国儿童基金会便能够与合作伙伴一起在国家和地区层面开展及时有效、协调性强的营养紧急回应工作。

减少风险与构建恢复能力是联合国儿童基金会在人道主义形势下所有工作的重中之重。 自然灾害和人为风险必须得到预测、预防和缓和。 面对发展和紧急情况的局势,联合国儿童基金会还帮助各国做好紧急情况准备,促进迅速恢复并构建恢复能力。

联合国儿童基金会的影响

联合国儿童基金会有关营养的人道主义回应包含了一系列关键行动:

  • 提供救生治疗— 联合国儿童基金会作为即时可用治疗食品的最大供应组织,每年都与合作伙伴一道管理针对数百万严重急性营养不良儿童开展的紧急治疗活动。
  • 向脆弱人群提供关键微量营养素—联合国儿童基金会确保妇女和儿童能够获得补充食品或强化食品,以此处理那些尤其会在紧急情况下加重的微营养素缺乏问题。 
  • 为婴幼儿喂养提供支持—为喂养婴儿提供咨询并搭建安全场所的联合国儿童基金会项目。 在有些地区,联合国儿童基金会提供并监管母乳替代品的分发情况。
  • 开展评估与监督—联合国儿童基金会还提供及时的营养评估与监督系统,以跟踪营养不良的比例并改善项目表现。
  • 加强监管—联合国儿童基金会还提供支持,在许多国家中加强食品和营养安全监管体系,包括增强卫生部内部管理健康数据的能力。
  • 制定规范与标准— 联合国儿童基金会制定关键指南以支持紧急情况规划与回应——比如说,协助制定治疗中心埃博拉病毒感染儿童及成人营养管理跨部门指南等。
  • 培养恢复能力—联合国儿童基金会与社区合作共同应对危机的规划、对抗与恢复,并确保当地社区能够更少地依赖于外部干预。 

国家剪影

利比亚:2014年的埃博拉危机中,联合国儿童基金会与政府合作更新了病毒影响下的营养协议与政策。 在更广泛的层面上,联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴还针对所有受埃博拉影响的国家发布了行动指南,包括(世界卫生组织/联合国儿童基金会)埃博拉影响下婴儿喂养的共同指南。 

索马里:联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴正努力强化家庭和社区的恢复能力,包括改善其社会服务并建设预测安全网络。 恢复能力计划强化了当地公共卫生、教育、保护和管理事业的能力。 该计划为紧急情况准备做出了贡献,促使社区减少了对外界干预的依赖,并且更能够在危机中实现上述重要功能。

南苏丹: 联合国儿童基金会领导了2014年面向急性营养不良儿童的紧急情况营养回应工作。 从2014年3月到12月,联合国儿童基金会、世界粮食计划署以及执行合作伙伴共开展了34次快速回应行动,直接为超过60.3万人带来服务,其中包括13.2万名5岁以下的儿童,所有这些难民都位于冲突影响州县的边远地区。


 

 

搜索

Nutrition

Nutrition in emergencies

UNICEF Image: A group of children having a meal on the ground.
© UNICEF/UNI192506/Badrul Hassan
Children are having their last meal of the day at Basic Education High School in Hakha City, Myanmar. The school served as a temporary shelter for more than 1600 people after roads were washed out due to floods and landslides.

When disaster strikes, UNICEF is there.

Around the world, the number and scale of emergencies continue to rise – and children are most affected.

Climate change, environmental degradation and natural hazards such as earthquakes, floods and drought are wreaking havoc in vulnerable communities. Violent conflicts threaten the lives of millions of children and their families. And diseases, such as the Ebola outbreak in West Africa, further threaten the health and nutrition of children in settings that are already fragile.

At the same time, economic inequality is growing in every country in the world and the poor are the most susceptible to food price inflation.

Emergency situations or crises are often characterized by limited access to adequate safe food and water, as well as disruptions in health and nutrition services and constraints to protecting, promoting and supporting optimal infant and young child feeding.

Young children and pregnant and breastfeeding women are extremely vulnerable in emergencies and their nutritional status must be protected to prevent undernutrition and guarantee survival.

Coordinated efforts to ensure equity, rights and survival

UNICEF’s largest programmes are in countries that experience frequent humanitarian crises, or that are considered to be fragile contexts. In humanitarian crises, UNICEF’s foremost priority is to prevent death from starvation and disease and to reduce malnutrition.

To do this, UNICEF supports mothers to safely and adequately feed their babies during emergencies. Where children are suffering from acute malnutrition, UNICEF provides therapeutic feeding to save lives and delivers essential micronutrients to prevent and treat deficiencies. These are critical interventions to support infant and young child survival. Close coordination with water and sanitation and health care programmes also help to safeguard children’s nutritional status.

Over the long term, UNICEF works with communities to address the underlying problems that create these dire situations and to build resilience in households, communities and systems to withstand crises and cumulative stresses.

UNICEF works with partners in emergency settings to design and deliver key nutrition interventions as part of the emergency nutrition response. Equitable access to services and timely provision of essential supplies are key to this work’s success. Therapeutic foods to treat acute malnutrition, micronutrients to address deficiencies, or counselling to ensure that appropriate nutrition practices continue are all crucial.

A coordinated response is critical in emergencies. At the global level, UNICEF leads the Global Nutrition Cluster – a task force to safeguard and improve the nutritional status of emergency affected populations by ensuring a timely, well-coordinated and effective response at scale. The Global Nutrition Cluster guarantees global level partnership, guidance and resource mobilization to support coordinated rapid emergency response where the scale of emergency is so large that no single agency or national authority can address it alone.

At the country level, UNICEF is mandated as the lead agency for nutrition and heads emergency coordination efforts in over 60 countries. Through this role, and with partners, UNICEF works to promote coordinated, timely and effective nutrition emergency response both at national and sub-national levels.

Risk reduction and resilience building are paramount to all of UNICEF’s work in humanitarian situations. Disaster and human-made risks must be anticipated, prevented and mitigated. In both development and emergency contexts, UNICEF supports countries to prepare for emergencies, promote rapid recovery and build resilience.

UNICEF’s impact

UNICEF’s humanitarian responses in nutrition encompass a number of key actions:

  • Providing life-saving treatment – UNICEF is the main supplier of ready-to-use therapeutic foods and works with partners to manage the urgent treatment of millions of children suffering from severe acute malnutrition every year.
  • Delivering key micronutrients to vulnerable populations – UNICEF ensures that women and children have access to supplementation or fortified foods to address micronutrient deficiencies, which are often exacerbated in emergencies.
  • Supporting infant and young child feeding – UNICEF supports programmes that provide counselling and establish safe spaces for infant feeding. UNICEF also monitors the distribution of, and in some cases, provides breast milk substitutes.
  • Conducting assessment and surveillance – UNICEF supports timely nutritional assessment and surveillance systems in order to track malnutrition rates and improve programme performance.
  • Strengthening monitoring – UNICEF provides support to strengthen food and nutrition security monitoring systems in many countries, including building capacities within Ministries of Health to manage health facility data.
  • Developing norms and standards – UNICEF develops key guidelines to support emergency planning and response – for example, contributing to interagency guidance on Nutritional care of children and adults with Ebola virus disease in treatment centres.
  • Fostering resilience – UNICEF works with communities to plan for, withstand and bounce back from crises and enable local communities to be less dependent on outside interventions.

Country snapshots

In Liberia: during the 2014 Ebola crisis, UNICEF worked with the government to update nutrition protocols and policies in the context of the virus. More broadly, UNICEF and its partners also published guidance for all Ebola-affected countries, including joint (WHO/UNICEF) guidance on infant feeding in the context of Ebola.

In Somalia: UNICEF and partners are working to strengthen household and community resilience, including by improving basic social services and establishing predictable safety nets. The resilience programme builds capacity in public health, education, protection and governance at local level. This contributes to emergency preparedness because communities become less dependent on outside interventions and more capable of undertaking these important functions themselves during a crisis.

In South Sudan: UNICEF led the 2014 emergency nutrition response to reach children affected by acute malnutrition. Between March and December 2014, UNICEF, World Food Programme, and implementing partners carried out 34 joint rapid response missions that resulted in direct service delivery to more than 603,000 people, including 132,000 children under 5, all in hard-to-reach areas in conflict-affected states.


 

 

New enhanced search