التغذية

إطلاق إمكانيات الأطفال

التغذية الجيدة هي أساس بقاء الأطفال وصحتهم ونموهم. فالأطفال الذين ينالون تغذية جيدة أقدر على النمو والتعلم، وأقدر على المشاركة والمساهمة في مجتمعاتهم، وأقوى على الصمود في وجه الأمراض والكوارث والأزمات العالمية الأخرى.

ولكن الواقع قاس بالنسبة ملايين الأطفال الذين يعانون من سوء التغذية، حيث يموت حوالي 3 مليون طفل كل سنة بسبب سوء التغذية. وبالنسبة لملايين آخرين يتسبب سوء التغذية المزمن بالتقزم – وهي حالة لا يمكن عكسها تتسبب حرفيا في تقزم نمو الطفل الجسدي والإداركي.

الأنباء الجيدة هي أننا نستطيع أن نغير كل هذا.

تتيح أول 1,000 يوم، ابتداء من حمل المرأة وحتى بلوغ الطفل عامه الثاني، نافذة استثنائية لتجنب سوء التغذية وتبعاته. تستهدف اليونيسف بنشاطاتها هذه الفترة العمرية الحرجة  باستخدام عدد من التدخلات المثبتة والمقبولة على نطاق واسع، بما فيها دعم الرضاعة الطبيعية بالأغذية التكميلية المباشرة المناسبة للأطفال أكبر من 6 أشهر، والمكملات التغذوية الدقيقة للنساء والأطفال من أجل التصدي للنقص لديهم. هذه الاستثمارات في التغذية – وخاصة في السنوات الأولى من حياة الإنسان – يمكن أن تؤدي إلى نتائج هامة للأطفال وأسرهم ومجتمعاتهم المحلية.

فرق الاستجابة تهرع لعلاج سوء التغذية المرتفع في جنوب السودان

التقرير السنوي لنتائج التغذية،2014

تغذية الأطفال في المناطق المنكوبة بالإيبولا في سيراليون

تعزيز التغذية والتنمية

Unlocking children’s potential

Good nutrition is the bedrock of child survival, health and development. Well-nourished children are better able to grow and learn, to participate in and contribute to their communities, and to be resilient in the face of disease, disasters, and other global crises.

But for the millions of children suffering from malnutrition, the reality is stark. Every year, around 3 million children die due to undernutrition. For millions more, chronic malnutrition will result in stunting – an irreversible condition that literally stunts the physical and cognitive growth of children.

The good news is that we can change this.

The first 1,000 days from the start of a woman’s pregnancy to a child’s second birthday offer an extraordinary window of opportunity for preventing undernutrition and its consequences. UNICEF targets its actions to this critical period, using widely accepted and evidence-based interventions, including support for breastfeeding, appropriate complementary foods for infants over 6 months, and micronutrient supplementation for women and children to address deficiencies. These investments in nutrition – particularly in the earliest years of life – can yield dramatic results for children, their families, and communities.

UNICEF’s approach to scaling up nutrition

Global Nutrition Report 2016

Power of nutrition fund – Innovative funding to end malnutrition

Nutrition Annual Results Report, 2015