EU countries show solidarity in fighting COVID-19, providing lifesaving vaccines to Uzbekistan

13 October 2021

TASHKENT, 13 October 2021 – Today the EU Ambassador to Uzbekistan, ambassadors of Germany, France, Italy, Romania and Latvia, and UNICEF and WHO Representatives in Uzbekistan, all visited a family polyclinic in the Kibray district of Tashkent region to observe COVID-19 vaccine administration.

“Because no one will be safe until everyone is safe, global cooperation and solidarity is paramount to effectively fight the COVID-19 pandemic. The EU is leading the multilateral response and is one of the largest contributors to COVAX mechanism to make sure no one is left behind,” said H. E. Charlotte Adriaen, EU Ambassador to Uzbekistan.

In addition to the financial contribution to Covax, the member states of the European Union have individually donated more than 882,000 doses of COVID-19 vaccine to Uzbekistan. These doses will help achieve the facility’s aim to ensure 20 per cent coverage of participants as part of the first phase of allocation.

“As of today, 22,721,000 doses of COVID-19 vaccine have been administered in Uzbekistan. We are grateful for the support provided in combating COVID-19. Only through common efforts can we stop the spread of disease and protect the population,” said Bakhodir Yusupaliev, head of the Service of Sanitary and Epidemiological Welfare and Public Health of Uzbekistan.

Over 50 per cent of Uzbekistan’s eligible population has received at least one dose of COVID-19 vaccine, thanks to the hard work of vaccinators and sanitary epidemiologists nationwide. However, only 20 per cent of the eligible population is fully vaccinated, meaning even more COVID-19 vaccine doses are required.

“Ensuring equitable access to vaccines requires continuous commitment, collaborative efforts and global solidarity. Thanks to the generous donations of COVID-19 vaccine doses and significant financial contribution by the European Union and its member states, and other partners to the COVAX facility, we have been able to witness such solidarity in Uzbekistan,” said Munir Mammadzade, UNICEF Representative in Uzbekistan. “COVAX partners continue reminding us of the importance of redoubling efforts to ensure equitable access to COVID-19 vaccines everywhere,” he added. 

Much more needs to be done to support COVID-19 vaccination and deployment in Uzbekistan. As the government and international community mobilize the doses needed to fight COVID-19, it is equally critical that communities are mobilized to use these vaccines, through addressing fears and vaccine hesitancy.

Mobilization of communities, including through social media and community networks, to generate strong vaccine demand and address misinformation and misperceptions that contribute to vaccine hesitancy, will remain one of the priority areas for UNICEF collaboration with national and international partners.

For media queries please contact: 

Umidjon Khudaykulov

Immunization Officer, UNICEF Uzbekistan

Phone: +998 93 5509775

E-mail: ukhudaykulov@unicef.org

***

Nargiza Egamberdieva

Communication Officer, UNICEF Uzbekistan

Phone: +998 93 3803419

E-mail: negamberdieva@unicef.org

Media contacts

Nargiza Egamberdieva
Communication Officer
UNICEF Uzbekistan
Tel: +99893 380 34 19

About UNICEF

UNICEF works in some of the world’s toughest places, to reach the world’s most disadvantaged children. Across 190 countries and territories, we work for every child, everywhere, to build a better world for everyone.

For more information about UNICEF and its work for children visit www.unicef.uz.

Follow UNICEF on Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

Страны ЕС проявляют солидарность в борьбе с COVID-19, предоставляя Узбекистану жизненно важные вакцины

13 Октябрь 2021

ТАШКЕНТ, 13 октября 2021 г. - Сегодня посол ЕС в Узбекистане, послы Германии, Франции, Италии, Румынии и Латвии вместе с главами представительств ЮНИСЕФ и ВОЗ в Узбекистане посетили семейную поликлинику в Кибрайском районе Ташкентской области для наблюдения за применением вакцины против COVID-19.

«Поскольку никто не будет в безопасности, пока все не будут в безопасности, глобальное сотрудничество и солидарность имеют первостепенное значение для эффективной борьбы с пандемией COVID-19. ЕС возглавляет многосторонний ответ и является одним из крупнейших доноров механизма COVAX чтобы убедиться, что никто не остался в стороне», сказала Е.П. Шарлотт Адриан, посол ЕС в Узбекистане.

Помимо финансового вклада в COVAX страны Европейского Союза еще индивидуально предоставили Узбекистану более 882,000 доз вакцины против COVID-19. Эти вакцины будут способствовать достижению цели по обеспечению всеми странами-участниками COVAX достижения 20 процентного охвата в рамках первой фазы распределения вакцин.

«На сегодняшний день в Узбекистане введено более 22 миллиона 721 тысяч доз вакцины против коронавируса. Мы благодарны за оказанную поддержку в борьбе с пандемией коронавируса. Только общими усилиями мы можем остановить распространение болезни и защитить население», - сказал Баходир Юсупалиев, начальник Cлужбы санитарно-эпидемиологического благополучия и общественного здравоохранения.

Благодаря безустанной работе вакцинаторов и эпидемиологов по всему Узбекистану, более 50 процентов населения, подлежащего вакцинации, получило хотя бы одну дозу вакцины COVID-19. Однако только 20 процентов населения, подлежащего вакцинации, полностью вакцинированы против COVID-19. Для увеличения охвата вакцинацией стране необходимо еще больше вакцин против коронавируса.

«Обеспечение справедливого доступа к вакцинам требует постоянной приверженности, совместных усилий и глобальной солидарности. Благодаря щедрым пожертвованиям вакцин против COVID-19 и значительному финансовому вкладу Европейского Союза, государств-членов ЕС и других партнеров программы COVAX мы стали свидетелями такой солидарности в Узбекистане», сказал Мунир Мамедзаде, глава Представительства ЮНИСЕФ в Узбекистане. «Партнеры COVAX продолжают напоминать о важности удвоения усилий для обеспечения справедливого доступа к вакцинам COVID-19 во всем мире», подчеркнул он.

Еще многое предстоит сделать для поддержки и развертывания вакцинации против COVID-19 в Узбекистане. По мере того, как правительство и международное сообщество мобилизуют вакцины для борьбы с COVID19, не менее важно, чтобы сообщества были мобилизованы для использования этих вакцин, устраняя свои страхи и нерешительность в отношении вакцинации.

Мобилизация сообществ, в том числе через социальные сети и сети сообществ, для формирования высокого спроса на вакцины и устранения дезинформации и неправильных представлений, которые способствуют сомнению в отношении вакцинации, останется одной из приоритетных областей сотрудничества ЮНИСЕФ с национальными и международными партнерами.

Контакты для СМИ для получения дополнительной информации:

Умиджон Худайкулов

Советник по вопросам иммунизации Представительства ЮНИСЕФ в Узбекистане

Эл.почта: ukhudaykulov@unicef.org

***

Наргиза Эгамебрдиева

Советник по связям с общественностью Представительства ЮНИСЕФ в Узбекистане

Эл.почта: negamberdieva@unicef.org

Контакты СМИ

Наргиза Эгамбердиева
Советник по связям с общественностью
ЮНИСЕФ
Тел: +99893 380 34 19
Электронная почта: negamberdieva@unicef.org

О ЮНИСЕФ

ЮНИСЕФ работает в некоторых из самых сложных мест в мире, чтобы помочь самым обездоленным детям. В 190 странах и территориях мы работаем для каждого ребенка, везде, чтобы построить лучший мир для всех.

Для получения дополнительной информации о ЮНИСЕФ и его работе в Узбекистане, посетите www.unicef.uz.

Следите за ЮНИСЕФ на Twitter | Facebook | Instagram