About us

UNICEF structure in Sudan

Employment opportunities with UNICEF Sudan


UNICEF structure in Sudan

UNICEF has operated in Sudan since 1952 and is the largest UN agency dedicated to supporting women and children in Sudan.

Its first permanent office opened in Khartoum in 1974 - today it employs about 300 staff across Sudan, most of whom are Sudanese nationals.

From 1989, UNICEF operations in Southern Sudan were managed through Operation Lifeline Sudan (OLS), the first humanitarian relief programme to operate cross-border into a war zone with the agreement of the sovereign government and the rebel movement.  UNICEF played a lead agency role in OLS and was primarily responsible for negotiating the original ‘corridors of tranquillity’ into towns across the Kenya-Sudan border. At the same time, a UNICEF operation for the northern states of Sudan was based in Khartoum.

Following the signing of the Comprehensive Peace Agreement (CPA) in January 2005, the political structures in Sudan undertook a significant transformation. A Government of National Unity, containing representation from both the National Congress Party (NCP) in the north of the country and the Sudan People’s Liberation Movement (SPLM) from Southern Sudan came into being, along with an autonomous Government of Southern Sudan, based in Juba.

With the advent of peace, UNICEF's structure was redesigned to provide a single framework for strategic planning, policy and budgeting while ensuring that localised needs of children in Sudan. UNICEF Sudan is present in 15 states including Darfur. To ensure an effective response at state and community level UNICEF has 11 Zonal Offices each facilitating the implementation of UNICEF-supported programmes in their respective areas.





Route map for UNICEF Khartoum Office

(PDF documents require Acrobat Reader to view.)



unite for children