数百万儿童的生命和未来处于危险之中。我们目前有一个选择:投资于最受排斥的儿童,不然就要面对一个更加分裂和不公平的世界。

引言

机会均等

每个儿童都有权利拥有一个公平的生命开端。然而,全球数百万的儿童被困在代际的不利循环中。他们的未来,乃至整个社会的未来都受到威胁。

在孟加拉国,一个女孩躲在家里的饭桌下
查看更多

哈福萨.卡顿,4岁,躲在家中的饭桌下面躲避吃蔬菜。(孟加拉国库尔纳)

这是一个平常的星期五下午,城里与以往并无两样。阿梅娜备好了一顿精致的家宴,有木豆、米饭、炖菜、南瓜、和女儿喜欢的咖喱鸡和鱼。不过,哈福萨可不想和大人们坐在一起,她宁愿出去玩。她使了个计谋,躲在桌子底下,就不用吃蔬菜了。最后,阿梅娜不逼她了,但一定要哈福萨喝完牛奶,才能和附近的儿童玩。

这个五口之家并不富裕。家庭每月收入64美元,他们住的是市区租的普通公寓,有两间卧室,光吃饭就会花掉哈福萨父亲和爷爷挣来的三分之一。但这就能给哈福萨提供一个健康有爱的成长环境了。阿梅娜和她丈夫的屋子,有两间游戏室那么大:天花板上悬挂着彩虹色的金属装饰品,一堆填充动物玩具,干干净净地坐在墙角。阿梅娜虽然只上过八年学,却努力在女儿的成长过程中激励她。每晚睡前她们一起背诵孟加拉语和英语的字母表,为哈福萨上学打好基础。

哈福萨的情况并没有什么与众不同之处,她只是享受着每个儿童应有的权利:安全、健康、娱乐和教育。

 

 

由于出生地、民族、种族、性别、残疾和贫穷等诸多原因,全球数百万儿童无法享受这些权利并且失去了他们健康茁壮成长所需要的条件。

 

 

 

 

劣势的恶性循环

乡下的莱克瑟娜·贝谷姆和5岁的女儿苏米亚、6岁的女儿毛利欧姆,坐着吃午饭:咖喱土豆米饭。

和阿梅娜不同,莱克瑟娜不用哄孩子吃饭,他们还自己洗盘子。一吃完饭,毛利欧姆就乖乖地到他们土房子旁,在长满青苔的水池边洗碗。

 

在孟加拉国,一个女人正在和她的女儿们吃午饭
查看更多

在孟加拉国的萨德基拉,莱克瑟娜·贝谷姆和5岁的女儿苏米亚、6岁的女儿毛利欧姆,一起吃午饭:咖喱土豆米饭。

最近,当地诊所发现,苏米亚患有营养不良症。不用医生说,莱克瑟娜也知道孩子不舒服。莱克瑟娜看到他们身体瘦弱、无精打采的样子,就一切都明白了。他们和邻居家的儿童看起来不一样,她说,那些孩子“健康强壮”。


部分原因在于这家人喝不到干净的水。最近的水龙头也有两千米远,到现在水也没有经过过滤。结果,毛利欧姆和苏米亚经常腹泻,加重了营养不良。苏米亚若是还不好,就会发育不良了。身体和认知发育都会受到长期不可逆的影响。


听了诊所的建议,莱克瑟娜做饭开始多加蔬菜,经常捡些邻居家不要的绿叶蔬菜。她自己也养了五只小鸡,这样女儿们就能吃上鸡蛋。但诊所给出的许多营养建议,她都力不能及。


莱克瑟娜尽心尽力地养活孩子。她不在家照顾孩子时,就去别人家工作,拖地、在墙外抹新泥。尽管如此,许多生活必需品她仍无法满足。就算加上丈夫和儿子做日工的工钱,也买不起鱼肉、鸡蛋这样的营养必需品。


因为贫穷,莱克瑟娜无法让孩子吃饱饭。而贫穷从小时候就让莱克瑟娜无法做她想做的事。她小时候家境贫寒,只能上四年学。丈夫家里更是一穷二白,从来没上过学。丈夫从小就开始上班,养家糊口。对于莱克瑟娜和家里人的窘境,她说,现在的情况比她小时候好多了。“我们那时候生活更艰难,也没这么多机会。”

ALT

莱克瑟娜对她孩子的期望都很简单。“我希望孩子能接受教育,成为有用的人”,她说道,“如果可能的话,我会帮助他们完成学业。”但她觉得和丈夫可能连这么基本的权利都不能满足。她15岁的儿子已经是个全职劳工了。尽管家里有三个人挣钱,莱克瑟娜和她丈夫还是很难满足孩子们基本的生活需求——健康的生命开端,充足的营养,和受教育的机会。但如果没有别的生活来源,两个女儿很可能就要忍受他和丈夫生活的贫穷了,反过来也会将贫穷传给她们的孩子。

 

 

这样一代一代的恶性循环,将会剥夺儿童们的机会,加深不平等状况并威胁社会各个角落。

 

 

 

像苏米亚这样出身贫寒的儿童,他们深陷贫困的恶性循环中,因为一些不能改变的因素,更容易出现疾病、饥饿、文盲和穷困等问题。与富裕家庭里的儿童相比,他们5岁之前的死亡率是后者的两倍,更多时候,发育不良病例也是其两倍多。他们上学机会也小的多,也就是说,熬过艰难童年的儿童,很难摆脱上一辈子的贫穷来塑造自己的未来。

打破循环

在孟加拉国,儿童们在幼儿园上学
查看更多

联合国儿童基金会创办的学前班,满足孟加拉国萨德基拉雷达贫苦居民的上学需求。早期童年教育能帮助出身于贫困文盲家庭的孩子,为他们上学打好基础。

这种恶性循环并非不可避免,是可以改变的。经证实,有些策略能给予、扩大社会底端儿童的机会。政府若针对贫困儿童采取相关政策,实施项目,优先公共开支,就能改变这些儿童的命运,改变社会。但是如果各政府不重视这些社会边缘者的需求,可能会加深未来几代人的不平等。

 

全球将近9亿人每天生活费不足1.9美元,其中儿童占近一半。他们的家庭尽力提供医疗和营养,让他们的生命有个好的起点。这种贫困带来的影响是长期的,2014年,近1亿6千万儿童发育不良。

 

尽管在世界很多地方,人们受教育的情况有了极大改观,但2011年起6岁到11岁儿童的辍学率却有所增加。2013年数据显示,1.24亿儿童和青少年没有上学,其中五分之二的小学生没有学会读写、简单算数就辍学了。这个问题因为无休止的武装冲突而更加严重。数百万人遭受着气候灾害和长期危机的严重影响。

 

情况本不必如此。

 

如果政府和发展伙伴优先考虑面临重大挑战的儿童、加大努力和投资,就能确保每个像苏米亚这样出身贫寒的儿童有同等的机会,充分发挥潜能,亲手创造未来。

 

第一部分

生存的机会

The lives and futures of millions of children are in jeopardy. We have a choice: Invest in the most excluded children now or risk a more divided and unfair world.

Introduction

A fair chance

Every child has the right to a fair chance in life. But around the world, millions of children are trapped in an intergenerational cycle of disadvantage that endangers their futures – and the future of their societies.

SOWC design
View the photo essay

Hafsa Khatun, 4, hides under the table to avoid eating her greens. (Khulna, Bangladesh)

It’s a typical Friday afternoon in the city. Amena has prepared an elaborate family meal of dal, rice, stewed greens, pumpkin, chicken curry and fish – her daughter Hafsa’s favourite. Hafsa doesn’t feel like sitting around with the adults, though; she’d rather go outside and play. So she makes a game of it, hiding under the table to avoid eating her greens. Eventually, Amena gives up; but she makes sure Hafsa drinks all her milk before she is allowed to dash off with the neighborhood kids.

The family of five doesn’t have much. At US$64 a month, rent for their modest two-bedroom flat in the city eats up about a third of the combined income that Hafsa’s father and grandfather bring in. But it’s enough to provide Hafsa with a loving, nurturing environment. The bedroom shared by Amena and her husband doubles as a playroom: Rainbow-coloured tinsel dangles from the ceiling, and a stack of stuffed animals sits neatly in the corner. Amena, who only finished the eighth grade, is trying hard to make sure her daughter grows up in a stimulating environment. Every night before bed, they recite the alphabet in Bangla and English, so that Hafsa can start school on a strong footing.

There is nothing unique or unusual about Hafsa’s situation. She is simply enjoying the basic rights that every child is entitled to: safety, health, play and education.

 

Around the world, millions of children are denied these rights and deprived of what they need to grow up healthy and strong – because of their place of birth; because of their race, ethnicity or gender; or because they have a disability or live in poverty.

 

A vicious cycle of disadvantage

 

In the countryside, Rexona Begum sits down for a lunch of rice and curry potatoes with her daughters Moriom, 6, and Sumiya, 5.

Unlike Amena, Rexona doesn’t have to coax her children to eat. They clear their plates, and when the meal is finished, Moriom dutifully heads over to the moss-covered pond adjacent to their mud home to wash her dish.

 

Alt
View the photo essay

Rexona Begum shares a lunch of rice and potatoes with her daughters, Moriom, 6, and Sumiya, 5, in Satkhira, Bangladesh. 

Recently, the local clinic diagnosed Sumiya with malnutrition. Rexona didn’t need a doctor to tell her that her daughters aren’t doing well. She can see it in their small frames and their lack of vitality. They don’t look like her neighbours’ children, who, she says, are “healthy and robust”.

Part of the problem is that the family doesn’t have easy access to clean water. The nearest tap is a kilometre away, and until recently it provided only unfiltered water. As a result, Moriom and Sumiya have suffered multiple bouts of diarrhoea, which have compounded the effects of their malnutrition. If Sumiya does not get better, she could become stunted, with long-term, irreversible effects on her physical and cognitive development.

Upon advice from the clinic, Rexona has started to incorporate more vegetables into her cooking, often salvaging the leafy greens her neighbours discard. She has also invested in five chicks, so that her girls can have eggs. But she simply doesn’t have the resources to follow many of the clinic’s nutrition recommendations.

Rexona does her best to provide for her children. When she is not at home caring for them, she works in other people’s houses, mopping the floors or spreading fresh mud on the exterior walls. Still, many basic necessities are beyond her reach. Even with the income her husband and her son bring in as day labourers, she cannot afford to purchase essentials, like meat, fish or eggs.

The poverty that now hampers Rexona’s ability to feed her daughters adequately has been limiting the choices available to her ever since she was a child. Rexona grew up in a poor family and was only able to attend school until Grade 4. Her husband, from an even poorer family, never went to school. He has been working since he was a young boy to help support his family. For all she and her family lack, Rexona says times are better than when she was growing up. “Our life was more difficult. We didn’t have as many opportunities.”

 

ALT

Rexona has modest dreams for her children. “I want my kids to be educated and to be good human beings”, she says. “I’ll help them finish school, if I can.” But she doubts that she and her husband will be able to provide them this basic right. Her 15-year-old son is already a full-time labourer.

Even with three incomes, Rexona and her husband struggle to give their children the basics – a healthy start, strong nutrition and an education. But if her family doesn’t get additional support, her daughters are likely to inherit the deprivations she and her husband grew up with – and in turn pass them on to their own children.

 

They will become part of a vicious, intergenerational cycle that curtails children’s opportunities, deepens inequality and threatens societies everywhere.

 

Trapped in a cycle of disadvantage, children from the poorest households, like Sumiya, are effectively pre-selected for heightened risks of disease, hunger, illiteracy and poverty based on factors entirely outside their control. They are nearly two times as likely to die before the age of 5, and in many cases, more than twice as likely to be stunted as children from the richest households. They are also far less likely to complete school, meaning that those who survive this precarious start find little opportunity to break free from their parents’ poverty and to shape their own futures.

 

Choosing to break the cycle

photoEssay
View the photo essay

A UNICEF funded pre-primary school caters to the poorest residents of Satkhira Sadar, Bangladesh. Early childhood interventions can give children born into poor and non-literate homes a boost, so they have a better chance of success when they start school.

This vicious cycle is not inevitable. We can choose to change it. There are proven strategies for reaching the hardest to reach and expanding opportunity. When governments adopt policies, programmes and public spending priorities that target the most deprived children, they can help transform those children’s lives and their societies. But when they fail to focus on meeting the needs of the most marginalized, they risk entrenching inequities for generations to come.

Around the world, children make up nearly half of the almost 900 million people living on less than US$1.90 a day. Their families struggle to afford the basic health care and nutrition needed to provide them a strong start. These deprivations leave a lasting imprint; in 2014, nearly 160 million children were stunted.

Despite great progress in school enrolment in many parts of the world, the number of children aged 6 to 11 who are out of school has increased since 2011. About 124 million children and adolescents do not attend school, and 2 out of 5 leave primary school without learning how to read, write or do basic arithmetic, according to 2013 data. This challenge is compounded by the increasingly protracted nature of armed conflict. Nearly 250 million children live in countries and areas affected by armed conflict, and millions more bear the brunt of climate-related disasters and chronic crises.

 

It doesn’t need to be this way.

 

By shifting priorities and concentrating greater effort and investment on children who face the greatest challenges, governments and development partners can make sure every child, including those born into poverty like Sumiya, has a fair chance to achieve her full potential – and realize a future of her own making.

 

 

Continue to chapter 1:

A chance to survive