La Situation des enfants dans le monde 2013 - Homepage

Gros plan : Renforcer la confiance et la compétence des enseignants en matière d’inclusion des enfants handicapés

Par Richard Rieser
World of Inclusion Ltd. 

« Premier né de mes parents, je suis venu au monde le 20 septembre 1997. Les médecins ont eu un choc en me voyant. Ils ont annoncé à mes parents que mon ADN présentait de multiples anomalies et que je ne pourrais jamais marcher ni m’asseoir. Alors que j’approchais de mes six ans, mes parents se sont mis en quête d’une école qui m’accueillerait malgré mes difficultés et m’offrirait les moyens et l’appui nécessaires pour me permettre de faire ce que font tous les enfants de mon âge. Grâce à mon école, j’ai appris que je ne dois pas laisser le handicap m’imposer des limites dans la vie. Les peurs et les inhibitions sont dans la tête. Je sais que je peux réussir mon parcours scolaire à St. Mary’s, mais qu’en sera-t-il de mes études supérieures ? Mes droits en tant qu’enfant handicapé seront-ils protégés ? Je veux réfléchir à des moyens de faciliter la vie des enfants nés avec un handicap, mais que se passera-t-il si je n’ai pas la possibilité de le faire en raison de mon handicap ?

Rabjyot Singh Kohli, 14 ans, St. Mary’s School, New Delhi, lors de la Conférence des États parties à la Convention relative aux droits des personnes handicapées, septembre 2012.

Comment pouvons-nous veiller à ce que tous les enfants handicapés, comme Rabjyot, soient acceptés et soutenus par leurs enseignants et leurs pairs au sein d’une école classique et aient la possibilité de réaliser tout leur potentiel ?

Aborder la question de l’intégration des enfants et élèves handicapés dans la formation des enseignants est un élément essentiel, bien que largement négligé, de la réussite de la démarche d’Éducation pour tous. Un rapport de l’Organisation des Nations Unies pour l’éducation, la science et la culture (UNESCO) publié en 2009 a souligné l’importance des compétences des enseignants dans le développement d’une éducation de qualité pour tous les enfants, et en particulier pour les enfants handicapés. D’après ce rapport, pour que l’éducation accessible à tous soit une réalité, les programmes de formation des enseignants doivent leur permettre d’acquérir les connaissances, les compétences et l’expertise nécessaires pour enseigner à des élèves présentant différents niveaux de capacités, tout en les préparant à accepter l’ensemble des enfants et à encourager la diversité dans les écoles classiques. Le comportement des enseignants vis-à-vis du handicap et leurs connaissances en la matière sont des facteurs clés de la mise en place d’un environnement d’apprentissage propice, dans lequel chaque enfant se sent valorisé et est en mesure d’apprendre. 

Pourtant, depuis de nombreuses années, l’éducation des enfants handicapés est perçue comme un domaine d’étude spécialisé et confidentiel, ce qui aboutit à la création de filières d’éducation spécialisée dans des écoles distinctes, alors que les enseignants des écoles classiques reçoivent une formation inadaptée, voire aucune formation, pour enseigner à des enfants handicapés. Les enseignants se sentent donc mal préparés et ne sont souvent pas disposés à mettre en place les changements nécessaires à l’intégration d’enfants handicapés dans leurs classes. 

Cadre théorique

Afin que tous les enfants bénéficient d’une éducation accessible à tous, la formation des enseignants doit intégrer le changement de paradigme opéré dans le cadre de la Convention relative aux droits des personnes handicapées de 2006. La Convention passe d’un modèle traditionnel/médical à un modèle social/humain : elle cesse de considérer les personnes handicapées comme « objets » de la charité publique, d’une prise en charge médicale et d’une protection pour les considérer comme des « sujets » disposant de droits et capables de prendre des décisions concernant leur vie. Ce nouveau paradigme fait sienne la distinction stratégique entre « déficience », qui désigne la perte d’une fonction biologique, et « handicap », qui renvoie au processus social d’exclusion résultant d’obstacles comportementaux, environnementaux et organisationnels. 

La majeure partie des pratiques de prise en charge éducative des enfants handicapés, classées sous l’appellation « besoins spécifiques en matière d’éducation », est liée à l’ancien paradigme. La prise en compte de ces besoins spécifiques a permis de développer des compétences et des techniques utiles, mais leur application et leur objet doivent évoluer. 

L’inclusion des enfants handicapés suppose un accueil et un soutien au sein de leurs établissements scolaires locaux, grâce à l’identification et à l’élimination des obstacles liés à l’environnement, aux comportements, à l’organisation, à l’enseignement et à l’apprentissage. Ces obstacles doivent être éliminés à la fois par des évolutions structurelles (conception universelle, supports et communications accessibles, accès au braille et à la langue des signes, aménagements et soutien adaptés, y compris par les pairs) et à des modifications des programmes pédagogiques, des enseignements et des évaluations, afin de permettre aux enfants handicapés de développer leur potentiel scolaire et social. L’inclusion se différencie de l’intégration ou de la prise en charge classique, où l’enfant handicapé est accueilli, mais en procédant à un nombre très limité de modifications ou d’adaptations de l’environnement : c’est donc à l’enfant de s’adapter à une école qui ne tient pas compte de ses besoins. Elle se démarque également des écoles ou classes spécialisées dans lesquelles l’élève est séparé des enfants valides. 

Le comportement des enseignants et les autres défis à relever

Les valeurs et les comportements sont les éléments les plus importants d’une démarche propice à l’élaboration de pratiques inclusives, comme le démontre « l’indice d’inclusion », outil d’autoévaluation des écoles largement répandu. Pourtant, une étude réalisée en 1996 sur la perception des enseignants en matière d’éducation accessible à tous a montré que, malgré un soutien massif des enseignants au concept global d’appui aux élèves handicapés, seul un tiers d’entre eux estime disposer du temps, de la préparation, des ressources et des compétences nécessaires pour le mettre en place. Des études plus récentes ont permis d’aboutir à des conclusions similaires. 

La formation en matière d’inclusion peut influencer le comportement des enseignants vis-à-vis de l’intégration des enfants handicapés ; il s’agit d’un facteur important, mais ce n’est pas le seul. D’après une étude de 2011, la révision des politiques et l’acquisition de connaissances ne suffisent pas à atténuer le stress ressenti par les enseignants quant aux problématiques d’inclusion. En revanche, le fait d’être en contact avec des personnes handicapées semble produire de meilleurs résultats. Disability Equality in Education, organisation britannique de personnes handicapées, a formé des personnes handicapées à travailler auprès des enseignants, ce qui a permis de former 100 000 enseignants en 12 ans. L’évaluation initiale a montré un taux de satisfaction de 94 %, ainsi que des évolutions positives dans le comportement et la pratique des enseignants.

Au Burkina Faso, l’inclusion des enfants handicapés a représenté une nouveauté en matière de formation des enseignants lorsque l’association Handicap International a lancé la mise en œuvre d’un projet pilote dans 36 écoles de la commune de Tanghin-Dassouri en 2003. Réticents au départ, les enseignants ont pris fait et cause pour l’éducation accessible à tous lorsque le contenu pédagogique concernait des préoccupations quotidiennes et que des travaux pratiques étaient initiés dans les écoles, ce qui a permis aux enseignants de trouver des solutions à des problèmes concrets. L’enseignement en équipe, les stratégies d’enseignement et d’apprentissage différenciées et l’enseignement par les pairs ont permis d’accroître le nombre d’enfants handicapés scolarisés, qui est passé de 54 en 2003 à 228 en 2005.

Ce qui fonctionne et ce qui ne fonctionne pas en matière de formation des enseignants à l’inclusion des enfants handicapés

La formation avant la prise de fonctions, destinée à créer une nouvelle génération d’enseignants favorables à l’inclusion, suscite désormais beaucoup d’espoir. Or, ce type de formation dépend largement de l’état d’esprit des formateurs qui dispensent ces sessions aux enseignants. L’existence de formations qui intègrent l’enseignement spécialisé et l’enseignement ordinaire, plutôt que de traiter de l’éducation spécialisée dans des modules distincts, est prometteuse. Une formation continue de qualité peut également contribuer à la réussite de l’éducation accessible à tous. 

De façon générale, la formation continue consiste à détacher un ou deux enseignants de chaque école, ceux-ci étant censés former leurs collègues. Cette démarche est assez peu efficace, à moins que les enseignants détachés soient très sensibilisés à la problématique de l’inclusion. La résolution conjointe de problèmes grâce à un enseignant relais disposant d’une expertise en matière d’inclusion des enfants handicapés a également fait ses preuves. En République démocratique populaire lao, par exemple, le soutien à la mise en œuvre proposé par un enseignant de l’équipe consultative de district a été d’une grande aide pour les enseignants de neuf écoles pilotes en matière d’inclusion. En particulier, les visites régulières de l’équipe, qui a joué un rôle stratégique et facilité l’organisation de visites dans d’autres écoles afin d’inciter les enseignants à améliorer leurs pratiques, se sont révélées très positives.

La formation des enseignants à distance semble également être une méthode prometteuse. Une étude menée en 2005 a démontré l’absence de différences significatives entre les formations dispensées en présentiel ou en ligne. Le recours à des formations sur Internet, même s’il ne s’agit pas toujours d’une solution facile, offre une stratégie alternative et permet de privilégier l’apprentissage centré sur l’apprenant. Cette stratégie peut être intéressante en raison de son coût peu élevé mais il faut impérativement maintenir l’implication stratégique des organisations de personnes handicapées.

Il est essentiel que les écoles disposent de moyens leur permettant de pérenniser les changements méthodologiques mis en place. Plus les enseignants et les fonctionnaires de district « s’approprient » le travail en partenariat avec les parents, les organisations non gouvernementales et les organisations de personnes handicapées, plus les changements ont de chances d’être durables. Au Viet Nam, le modèle des « enseignants clés », qui font office de personnes ressources disposant de compétences et d’un intérêt particuliers pour l’éducation accessible à tous, est une véritable réussite. Ces enseignants clés sont généralement principaux adjoints ou responsables de l’éducation pour le district et sont chargés de passer une à deux heures par semaine dans les trois à cinq écoles placées sous leur responsabilité.

Favoriser l’émergence de responsables et d’administrateurs d’établissements mobilisés, bénéficiant de formations et de dispositifs d’appui fréquents et permanents, constitue une bonne pratique en matière d’éducation accessible à tous. Le rôle du principal est essentiel pour pérenniser l’engagement de l’ensemble du personnel en faveur de l’inclusion. En République démocratique populaire lao, des chefs d’établissement particulièrement mobilisés développent actuellement des pratiques plus inclusives. Ils ont assisté à des formations et à des sessions de recyclage, maintenu une collaboration avec les conseillers de district, pris contact avec les autres chefs d’établissement, observé les enseignants, encouragé la créativité et l’innovation et collaboré avec les enseignants, les parents et la communauté.

Soutien par les pairs

Le soutien par les pairs consiste à encourager et à inciter tous les élèves de la classe à prendre part à la démarche : cela permet d’aller au-delà des seules méthodes supervisées par l’enseignant afin d’aboutir à une meilleure inclusion sociale et pédagogique. En raison de l’importance des effectifs d’élèves et du faible niveau de ressources dans de nombreuses régions du monde, l’inclusion des enfants handicapés n’est possible que grâce à la mobilisation de la ressource la plus conséquente dont dispose l’enseignant : les élèves de la classe. La mise en place délibérée de relations élève-enseignant et élève-élève est un élément fondamental de l’éducation accessible à tous. 

L’enfant le plus capable / doué peut être en échec scolaire s’il se sent rejeté. N’importe quel enfant, y compris celui présentant des besoins complexes, peut réussir à l’école si les enseignants sont accueillants et qu’ils l’aident à participer et à se sentir valorisé. Il est essentiel que les enseignants bénéficient de formations de qualité avant la prise de fonctions et au cours de leur carrière, afin de pouvoir disposer des compétences, des connaissances et de la compréhension nécessaires à l’inclusion des enfants handicapés dans toute leur diversité au sein de leurs classes. Ces formations doivent avoir pour but de développer des comportements positifs et un véritable engagement en faveur d’une éducation accessible à tous. Elles doivent intégrer le nouvel éclairage apporté par le changement de paradigme et concrétisé par la Convention relative aux droits des personnes handicapées, et permettre aux enseignants d’être au contact des enfants handicapés et de bénéficier d’expériences positives concernant l’inclusion de ces enfants. Enfin, ces formations doivent s’inscrire dans une démarche permanente d’appui institutionnel et de soutien des enseignants par les pairs, et bénéficier de la participation des chefs et administrateurs d’établissement afin de mobiliser et d’accélérer la mise en place des évolutions nécessaires. 

Bibliographie 

Al Zyoudi, Mohammed, AbdelAziz Al Sartwai et Hamzeh Dodin, « Attitudes of Pre-service Teachers towards Inclusive Education in UAE and Jordan (a comparative study) », International Journal of Disability, Community & Rehabilitation, 2011, <www.ijdcr.ca/VOL10_01/articles/alzyoudi.shtml>.

Booth, Tony and Mel Ainscow, « Index for Inclusion: Developing learning and participation in schools », Centre for Studies on Inclusive Education (CSIE), Bristol, Royaume-Uni, 2002.

Disability Equality in Education, After 17 Years: The history of the charity Disability Equality in Education, Londres, 2008, <www.worldofinclusion.com/res/dee/17_years.pdf>. 

Education Review Office, Including Students with High Needs, Wellington, Nouvelle-Zélande, juin 2010, <www.ero.govt.nz/National-Reports/Including-Students-with-High-Needs-June-2010>. 

Agence européenne pour le développement de l’éducation pour les élèves ayant des besoins particuliers, La formation des enseignants pour l’inclusion en Europe : Défis et opportunités, Odense, Danemark, 2011, <www.european-agency.org/publications/ereports/te4i-challenges-and-opportunities/TE4I-Synthesis-Report-FR.pdf>.

Agence européenne pour le développement de l’éducation pour les élèves ayant des besoins particuliers, Education for Inclusion: International literature review, Odense, Danemark, 2010, <www.european-agency.org/agency-projects/Teacher-Education-for-Inclusion/teacher-education-web-files/TE4I-Literature-Review.pdf>.  

Florian, Lani et Martyn Rouse, « Teachers’ Professional Learning and Inclusive Practice », in Richard Rose (sous la dir. de), Confronting Obstacles to Inclusion: International response to developing inclusive schools, Routledge, Londres, 2010, pp. 185–199.

Forlin, Chris, « Inclusion: Identifying potential stressors for regular class teachers », Educational Research, vol. 43, n° 3, 2001, pp. 235–245.

Forlin, Chris (sous la dir. de), Teacher Education for Inclusion: Changing paradigms and innovative approaches, Routledge, Londres et New York, 2010. 

Forlin, Chris et Dianne Chambers, « Teacher Preparation for Inclusive Education: Increasing knowledge but raising concerns », Asia-Pacific Journal of Teacher Education, 2011, vol. 39, no. 1, pp. 17–32.

Gansoré, Noëlie, L’éducation inclusive au Burkina Faso : la formation des enseignants, 2006, <http://www.eenet.org.uk/resources/docs/hi_burkina_faso_french.php>.

Grimes, Peter, A Quality Education for All: A history of the Lao PDR Inclusive Education Project 1993–2009, Save the Children, Norvège, 2009, <www.eenet.org.uk/resources/docs/A_Quality_Education_For_All_LaoPDR.pdf>. 

Jobling, Anne et Karen B. Moni, « I Never Imagined I’d Have to Teach These Children: Providing authentic learning experiences for secondary pre-service teachers in teaching students with special needs », Asia-Pacific Journal of Teacher Education, vol. 32, n° 1, 2004, pp. 5–22.

Lambe, Jackie et Robert Bones, « Student Teachers’ Perceptions About Inclusive Classroom Teaching in Northern Ireland Prior to Teaching Practice Experience ». European Journal of Special Needs Education, vol. 21, n° 2, 2006, pp. 167–186.

Nguyet, Dinh Thi et Le Thu Ha, How-to Guide: Preparing teachers for inclusive education, Catholic Relief Service, 2010, <http://www.crsprogramquality.org/storage/pubs/education/edhowto_vietnam2.pdf>. 

Peters, Susan, Inclusive Education: An EFA strategy for all children, Banque mondiale, 2004, <http://siteresources.worldbank.org/EDUCATION/Resources/278200-1099079877269/547664-1099079993288/InclusiveEdu_efa_strategy_for_children.pdf>. 

Peters, Susan. et D. Kim Reid, « Resistance and Discursive Practice: Promoting advocacy in teacher undergraduate and postgraduates », Teaching and Teacher Education, vol. 25, n° 4, 2009, pp. 551–558.

Scruggs, Thomas E. et Margo A. Mastropieri, (1996) « Teacher Perceptions of Mainstreaming Inclusion, 1958–1995: A research synthesis », Exceptional Children, vol. 63, n° 1, 1996, pp. 59–74.

Sharma, Umesh, Jessie Ee et Ishwar Desai, « A Comparison of Australian and Singaporean Pre-service Teachers’ Attitudes and Concerns About Inclusive Education », Teaching and Learning, vol. 24, n° 2, 2003, pp. 207–217.

Shippen, Margaret E., et al., « Pre-service Teachers’ Perceptions of Including Students with Disabilities », Teacher Education and Special Education, vol. 28, n° 2, 2005.

Steinweg, Sue Byrd, Mary Lynne Davis et W. Scott Thomson, « A Comparison of Traditional and Online Instruction in an Introduction to Special Education Course », Teacher Education and Special Education, vol. 28, n° 1, 2005.

Thomas, G .et A. Mathews, « Evaluation of Training by DEE Pt 1 and Pt 2 Telephone Interviews », Westminster Institute of Education, Oxford Brookes University, Oxford, Royaume-Uni, 2001.

Organisation des Nations Unies pour l’éducation, la science et la culture, Towards Inclusive Education for Children with Disabilities: A guideline, UNESCO, Bangkok, 2009, <http://unesdoc.unesco.org/images/0019/001924/192480e.pdf>.

Organisation des Nations Unies pour l’éducation, la science et la culture, Dossier ouvert sur l’éducation intégratrice, UNESCO, Paris, 2001.

Organisation des Nations Unies pour l’éducation, la science et la culture, Rapport mondial de suivi sur l’EPT 2010 : Atteindre les marginalisés, UNESCO, Paris, 2010, <http://unesdoc.unesco.org/images/0018/001875/187513f.pdf>. 

Nations Unies, Convention relative aux droits des personnes handicapées, Article 24, 2006, <http://www.un.org/french/disabilities/default.asp?id=1413>.  

x Faire un don
Merci de confirmer votre pays et nous vous redirigerons vers la page de don approppriée
Localisation:

Focus: Building teacher confidence and competence to include children with disabilities

By Richard Rieser
World of Inclusion Ltd. 

“It was on 20th September 1997 that I came into the world – the firstborn of my parents. The doctors were shocked to see me. They told my parents that I am suffering from multiple abnormalities in the DNA. They told my family that I would neither be able to walk nor sit. As I stepped into the sixth year of my life, my parents started to look for a school which would accept me with my challenges and provide me with all facilities and support that I required, to enable me to do what a normal 6-year-old does. Thanks to my school I have learnt that disabilities should not be allowed to draw boundaries in my life. Fears and inhibitions are in the mind. I am sure that I can pass my school life successfully in St. Mary’s, but what about my higher studies? Will my rights as a child with disability be protected? I want to focus on ways to make the lives of children born with such disability easier, but what if I don’t get an opportunity to do it only because of my disability?‘’

Rabjyot Singh Kohli, age 14, St. Mary’s School, New Delhi, to the United Nations Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities Conference of States parties, September 2012.

 
How do we ensure all children with disabilities, like Rabjyot, are accepted and supported by their teachers and peers in a mainstream school and can go on to achieve their potential?

Addressing the education of all teachers to include children and students with disabilities is a crucial, but largely neglected, component for achieving Education for All. A 2009 report of the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) highlighted the importance of teacher competence for developing quality education for all children, but particularly for children with disabilities. The report argues that for inclusive education to be effective, teacher education programmes need to provide teachers with the knowledge, skills and expertise that will enable them to teach students with different abilities, while also preparing them to accept all children and to celebrate diversity in regular schools. Teachers’ attitudes towards and knowledge about disabilities are key factors in creating a friendly learning environment, where every child feels valued and is able to learn. 

Yet, for many years, the education of children with disabilities has been viewed as a specialist study area for the few, often leading to special education in separate schools, while teachers of mainstream classes receive inadequate or no training in teaching children with disabilities. As a result, teachers feel ill-prepared and are often unwilling to make the changes necessary to include children with disabilities in their classrooms. 

Theoretical framework

For inclusive education to be effective for all children, teacher training should be informed by the paradigm shift underlying the 2006 Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities. The Convention moves from a traditional/medical model to a social/human rights model: from viewing persons with disabilities as ‘objects’ of charity, medical treatment and protection, towards viewing them as ‘subjects’ with rights, who are capable of making decisions about their lives. The new paradigm espouses the critical distinction between ‘impairment’ – a loss of biological function – and ‘disability’ – a social process of exclusion caused by barriers of attitude, environment and organization. 

Much of the practice towards children with disabilities, characterized as ‘special educational needs’, is related to the old paradigm. There are some useful skills and techniques developed under special educational needs, but their application and focus need to change. 

Inclusion of children with disabilities involves welcoming and supporting them within their local schools, by identifying and addressing barriers in the environment, attitudes, organization, teaching and learning. Barriers need to be addressed through both structural change (universal design, accessible materials and communications, access to Braille and sign language, reasonable accommodations and support, including peer support), and modifications to learning programmes, curricula and assessments, so children with disabilities can develop their academic and social potential. This is different from integration or mainstreaming where the child with a disability is present, but little in the educational environment is changed or adapted, so the child must fit into a school that is unresponsive to her or his needs. It is also different from special schools or classes where the pupil is segregated from pupils without disabilities. 

Teachers’ attitudes and other challenges

Values and attitudes are the most important elements in being receptive to developing inclusive practice, as demonstrated in the widely used, school self-assessment tool, the ‘Index for Inclusion’. Yet a 1996 study of teacher perceptions with regard to inclusive education found that while teachers overwhelmingly endorsed the general concept of providing support to students with disabilities, only one third of them felt that they had the time, preparation, resources and skills needed to do so. Similar findings have been observed in a number of more recent studies. 

Inclusion training is an important factor in shaping teachers’ attitudes towards including children with disabilities, but it is not enough. A 2011 study found that reviewing policies and acquiring knowledge does not of itself address teacher stress about inclusion. Rather, it is exposure to people with disabilities that has been shown to produce the best results. Disability Equality in Education, a UK-based disabled persons’ organization, trained people with disabilities to work with teachers, training 100,000 teachers over 12 years. An initial evaluation showed 94 per cent approval, as well as positive changes in teachers’ attitudes and practices.

In Burkina Faso, inclusion of children with disabilities was a new idea in the training of teachers when Handicap International started implementing a pilot project in 36 schools in Tanghin-Dassouri commune in 2003. Although initially reluctant, the teachers became enthusiastic about inclusive education when the training content related to everyday concerns and there was practical work in schools, where teachers were able to create solutions to real issues. Team teaching, differentiated teaching and learning strategies and peer teaching helped increase the enrolment of children with disabilities from 54 to 228 from 2003 to 2005.

What works and does not work in training teachers to include children with disabilities

Much hope is now being placed upon pre-service teaching to create a new generation of inclusive teachers, but such training is only as good as the thinking of the teacher training staff delivering such courses. Training that integrates special and general education teaching as opposed to using separate modules on special education is a promising practice. Ongoing in-service training of good quality can also contribute to successful inclusive education. 

Generally, in-service training is carried out by withdrawing one or two teachers per school and expecting them to train their colleagues. This is largely ineffective unless those withdrawn have a strong commitment to inclusion. Collaborative problem solving with a support teacher who has expertise in including children with disabilities has been shown to work. In the Lao People’s Democratic Republic, for example, the support of a District Advisory Implementation Team advisory teacher greatly helped teachers in nine pilot inclusive schools. In particular, regular visits from the team, acting as critical friends and facilitating visits to other schools for teachers to develop their practice, were very positive.

Remote teacher training seems to be a promising method. A 2005 study found no significant difference between traditional and online presentation of courses. The use of Web-based training, while not always an easy option, can provide an alternative access strategy and focus on learner-directed learning. This can be an attractive strategy, as it is cost-effective, but the crucial involvement of disabled people’s organizations must be maintained.

Ways of sustaining methodological changes in schools are essential. The more ‘ownership’ there is by teachers and district officials in working in partnership with parents, non-governmental organizations and disabled persons’ organizations, the more likely it is to be sustainable. In Viet Nam, the model of 'key teachers' acting as resource persons, with particular competence and interest in inclusive education, has proved successful. These key teachers are usually school vice-principals or district education officers who are charged to visit the three to five schools under their responsibility for one to two hours a week.

Developing committed school leaders and administrators, followed by frequent and ongoing staff training and support, is a best practice for inclusive education. The principal is key tosustaining commitment to inclusion by the entire school. In the Lao People’s Democratic Republic, committed principals are developing more inclusive practices. They have attended trainings and refresher courses, maintained collaboration with district support advisers, networked with other principals, observed teachers, encouraged creativity and innovation and collaborated with teachers, parents and community.

Peer support

Peer support is based on actively facilitating and enlisting all the members of a class so that far greater forces for social and educational inclusion become available than if only teacher-directed methods are used. Given the large classes and low resource levels that exist in many parts of the world, inclusion of children with disabilities is not possible without mobilizing the biggest resource the teacher has – the pupils in the class. The intentional building of pupil-teacher and pupil-pupil relationships is fundamental to inclusive education. 

The most able child can fail in a school where she or he does not feel wanted; any child, even one with complex needs, can succeed in a school where teachers are welcoming and help him or her participate and feel valued. Quality pre- and in-service training is crucial to ensuring that teachers have the skills, knowledge and understanding that are needed to include the wide variety of children with disabilities in their classrooms. Such training must include the development of positive attitudes and commitment to inclusive education. It must incorporate the insights gleaned from the paradigm shift embodied in the Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities. It must provide exposure to, and positive experiences of including, children with disabilities. It must be backed by ongoing institutional and peer support to teachers. It must have the participation of school leaders and administrators to generate commitment and bring about the necessary changes. 

References 

Al Zyoudi, Mohammed, AbdelAziz Al Sartwai and Hamzeh Dodin, ‘Attitudes of Pre-service Teachers towards Inclusive Education in UAE and Jordan (a comparative study)’, International Journal of Disability, Community & Rehabilitation, 2011, <www.ijdcr.ca/VOL10_01/articles/alzyoudi.shtml>.

Booth, Tony and Mel Ainscow, ‘Index for Inclusion: Developing learning and participation in schools’, Centre for Studies on Inclusive Education (CSIE), Bristol, UK, 2002.

Disability Equality in Education, After 17 Years: The history of the charity Disability Equality in Education, London, 2008, <www.worldofinclusion.com/res/dee/17_years.pdf>. 

Education Review Office, Including Students with High Needs, Wellington, New Zealand, June 2010, <www.ero.govt.nz/National-Reports/Including-Students-with-High-Needs-June-2010>. 

European Agency for Development in Special Needs Education, Teacher Education for Inclusion Across Europe: Challenges and opportunities, Odense, Denmark, 2011, <www.european-agency.org/publications/ereports/te4i-challenges-and-opportunities/TE4I-Synthesis-Report-EN.pdf>.

European Agency for Development of Special Needs Education, Education for Inclusion: International literature review, Odense, Denmark, 2010, <www.european-agency.org/agency-projects/Teacher-Education-for-Inclusion/teacher-education-web-files/TE4I-Literature-Review.pdf>.  

Florian, Lani and Martyn Rouse, ‘Teachers’ Professional Learning and Inclusive Practice’, in Richard Rose (ed.), Confronting Obstacles to Inclusion: International response to developing inclusive schools, Routledge, London, 2010, pp. 185–199.

Forlin, Chris, ‘Inclusion: Identifying potential stressors for regular class teachers’, Educational Research, vol. 43, no. 3, 2001, pp. 235–245.

Forlin, Chris (ed.), Teacher Education for Inclusion: Changing paradigms and innovative approaches, Routledge, London and New York, 2010. 

Forlin, Chris and Dianne Chambers, ‘Teacher Preparation for Inclusive Education: Increasing knowledge but raising concerns’, Asia-Pacific Journal of Teacher Education, 2011, vol. 39, no. 1, pp. 17–32.

Gansoré, Noëlie, Inclusive Education Training in Burkina Faso: Teacher training, 2006, <www.eenet.org.uk/resources/docs/hi_burkina_faso.php>.

Grimes, Peter, A Quality Education for All: A history of the Lao PDR Inclusive Education Project 1993–2009, Save the Children, Norway, 2009, <www.eenet.org.uk/resources/docs/A_Quality_Education_For_All_LaoPDR.pdf>. 

Jobling, Anne and Karen B. Moni, ‘I Never Imagined I’d Have to Teach These Children: Providing authentic learning experiences for secondary pre-service teachers in teaching students with special needs”, Asia-Pacific Journal of Teacher Education, vol. 32, no. 1, 2004, pp. 5–22.

Lambe, Jackie and Robert Bones, ‘Student Teachers’ Perceptions About Inclusive Classroom Teaching in Northern Ireland Prior to Teaching Practice Experience’. European Journal of Special Needs Education, vol. 21, no. 2, 2006, pp. 167–186.

Nguyet, Dinh Thi and Le Thu Ha, How-to Guide: Preparing teachers for inclusive education, Catholic Relief Service, 2010, <http://www.crsprogramquality.org/storage/pubs/education/edhowto_vietnam2.pdf>. 

Peters, Susan, Inclusive Education: An EFA strategy for all children, World Bank, 2004, <http://siteresources.worldbank.org/EDUCATION/Resources/278200-1099079877269/547664-1099079993288/InclusiveEdu_efa_strategy_for_children.pdf>. 

Peters, Susan. and D. Kim Reid,’Resistance and Discursive Practice: Promoting advocacy in teacher undergraduate and postgraduates’, Teaching and Teacher Education, vol. 25, no. 4, 2009, pp. 551–558.

Scruggs, Thomas E. and Margo A. Mastropieri, (1996) ‘Teacher Perceptions of Mainstreaming Inclusion, 1958–1995: A research synthesis’, Exceptional Children, vol. 63, no. 1, 1996, pp. 59–74.

Sharma, Umesh, Jessie Ee and Ishwar Desai, ‘A Comparison of Australian and Singaporean Pre-service Teachers’ Attitudes and Concerns About Inclusive Education’, Teaching and Learning, vol. 24, no. 2, 2003, pp. 207–217.

Shippen, Margaret E., et al., ‘Pre-service Teachers’ Perceptions of Including Students with Disabilities’, Teacher Education and Special Education, vol. 28, no. 2, 2005.

Steinweg, Sue Byrd, Mary Lynne Davis and W. Scott Thomson, ‘A Comparison of Traditional and Online Instruction in an Introduction to Special Education Course’, Teacher Education and Special Education, vol. 28, no. 1, 2005.

Thomas, G .and A. Mathews, ‘Evaluation of Training by DEE Pt 1 and Pt 2 Telephone Interviews’, Westminster Institute of Education, Oxford Brookes University, Oxford, UK, 2001.

United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization, Towards Inclusive Education for Children with Disabilities: A guideline, UNESCO, Bangkok, 2009, <http://unesdoc.unesco.org/images/0019/001924/192480e.pdf>.

United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization, The Open File on Inclusive Education, UNESCO, Paris, 2001.

United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization, Global Monitoring Report 2010: Reaching the marginalized, UNESCO, Paris, 2010, <http://unesdoc.unesco.org/images/0018/001866/186606e.pdf>. 

United Nations, Convention on the Rights of People with Disabilities, 2006, <www.un.org/disabilities/default.asp?id=284>.  

x Donate Now
Please confirm your country and we will take you to the right donation page:
Location: