UNICEF.org新网站正在建设中。
网页内容还在更新中。感谢您的耐心,敬请稍后查看。

保护儿童免受暴力、剥削和虐待

在科索沃,弱势儿童获得生活的二次机会

© UNICEF Video
12岁的加尼不得不放弃学业而走上科索沃的街头,通过清洗车窗玻璃和乞讨来帮助家庭。“我甚至都没有问过家人他们是否想让我去干活,”他说。

 

丽萨.莫里纳报道

出生于科索沃最边缘化的社区之一,12岁的加尼曾经整天都在街角向行人乞讨为生。在联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴对加尼和他的家人进行认定后,他的父亲得到了帮助,而加尼也得以重返校园。

P普里什蒂纳,2016年7月1日——加尼.贝里沙在天刚蒙蒙亮的时候就醒来了,他悄悄地穿上衣服,生怕打扰到家人的休息。钟表的指针显示现在还不到早上6点,他走了出去,开始了在普里什蒂纳一天的通勤。他几乎每天都在同一处十字路口活动。有时他会为经过的车辆擦洗车窗玻璃,希望能换得几分钱的报酬。有时则只是乞讨。大部分人都躲着他,甚至嗤之以鼻,但是如果一天能赚到几欧元来帮助他一贫如洗的家庭的话,他还是很开心的。

加尼只有12岁,出生在贫穷的科索沃*最受歧视的社区之一—罗马社区。这就是他的生活。被迫辍学而走上街头行乞,他过去的生活看上去毫无希望,直到一个幸运的转折改变了他的一切。

加尼在街上被联合国儿童基金会的实施伙伴之一“人的土地”组织(TdH)认出。联合国儿童基金会与社会工作中心(CSW)及当地民间社会组织合作,帮助在12座城市建立了案例管理圆桌会议(CMR)。CMR是一种鉴定、帮助和救助脆弱儿童及家庭的机制,包括那些受到忽视、虐待、剥削和拐卖的儿童,以及违法的儿童。

在社会服务的领导下,CMR每月召开一次会议,以商讨对类似加尼这样的儿童的干预方案。社会工作者对每个案例进行深度的评估,确定合适的服务并定期回访和跟踪获得帮助的家庭。 

保护最弱势群体

哈费热.卡斯特拉蒂,是来自“辐射科索沃”的一名社会工作者,她负责为加尼的家庭提供帮助,确保加尼重返学校,度过一个正常的童年生活。她说加尼和他的家人的生活异常艰难:“加尼被认定为面临风险的儿童;不只是他自己,他们家里还有另外两到三名儿童也在街头乞讨或擦洗汽车车窗玻璃。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Video
加尼朝路过的车辆招手。在获得社会服务和案例管理圆桌会议的帮助之前,他通过擦洗车窗玻璃来为家庭赚取收入。

卡斯特拉蒂注意到这些街头的儿童面临着遭受虐待或强奸的高风险。他们总是成为国内暴力的受害者,甚至被他们的家人强迫走上街头行乞。当一名儿童被认定后,社会服务人员将对该家庭进行实地调查,有时还有警方参与。

纳伊姆.比拉里是来自“人的土地”组织的一名案例管理协调人,他说加尼的案例以忽视和辍学原因委托与当地的一家民间组织进行帮助。“科索沃社会工作中心走访他们家庭以进行案例的初步评估…他们发现这个家庭生活在卫生条件极差的环境中,儿童没有衣服穿,家庭关系很糟糕”,比拉里说道。加尼被他的家人要求到街头行乞,甚至在科索沃CSW提供了初步咨询之后依然如此。但是加尼自己也意识到他需要帮助自己贫困的家庭。

“我想要帮助我的家人,因为没有其他人会帮助他们。我会到红绿灯附近赚一些钱来帮助我的家人。”加尼说道,“人们经常问我有没有上学,然后告诉我不应在街上行乞。”

在讨论了加尼的案例之后,卡斯特拉蒂和其他来自科索沃的社会工作者联系了市政府官员,他们除了提供基本援助外,还为加尼的家庭购买了一辆拖拉机和一头牛。

加尼的父亲,塞尔.贝里沙,对他们家庭所得到的帮助表达了深深的感激之情。“我真的非常感谢他们所做的一切,他们给了我一辆拖拉机和一头牛,现在我可以做卖蔬菜和水果的生意了。”赛尔说,“加尼现在也复学了,非常感谢这一切。”

美好未来

自从加尼的案例在月度CMR会议上被提出后,他就不再需要工作了。他参与到各种咨询会议中,并且获得了教育资料,比如书籍、笔记本和铅笔,以便他能重返校园。加尼说他的生活与一年前相比发生了翻天覆地的变化—他喜欢学习。“我不必去街头工作了。我有学可上,并且有很多朋友”,他说。 

在完成社会服务咨询后,赛尔说他对加尼有新的期望。“我经常对他说。他是一个好孩子,而且很聪明,他会继续上学的。”他说道,“在学习方面我无需插手,他可以自己完成,我也不会让他和另外三个孩子像我那样在17或18岁的时候就结婚。我希望他能找到一份工作,拥有自己的生活。”

同样,加尼对于自己的未来也有伟大的计划:“在我长大后,我想成为总统。或者是副部长。但是我必须努力学习。”

___________________________________________________

2015年,来自12个城市的174名面临被忽视、虐待或违法的中度或高度风险的女童和男童以紧急援助的形式从综合社区服务中受益,以及享受家庭访问、学校访问、心理咨询、家庭咨询、提供庇护所、职业培训等等,所有一切皆受益于CMR机制。

联合国儿童基金会在CMR机制的建立和制度化过程中扮演了重要的角色。在联合国儿童基金会的积极倡导和技术支持下,新的儿童保护法草案中包含了有关CMR制度化的规定。在联合国儿童基金会的技术支持下,针对面临风险的或违法的儿童、缺失家长抚养和脆弱的儿童的社会服务最低标准已经制定。CMR已经加强专业能力以确保其有效运转。联合国儿童基金会将持续在CMR的扩展过程中扮演重要角色,以使更多儿童获得必要的帮助和服务。

*本故事中所涉及的所有有关科索沃的内容与联合国安全理事会第1244号决议(1999)背景一致。


 

 

搜索

In Kosovo, a second chance for vulnerable children | Child protection from violence, exploitation and abuse | UNICEF

We’re building a new UNICEF.org.
As we swap out old for new, pages will be in transition. Thanks for your patience – please keep coming back to see the improvements.

Child protection from violence, exploitation and abuse

In Kosovo, a second chance for vulnerable children

© UNICEF Video
Gani, 12, had to quit school and take to the streets of Kosovo to help his family by washing car windows and begging. "I hadn't even asked my family if they wanted me to work," he says.

 

By Lisar Morina

Born into one of the most marginalized communities in Kosovo, 12-year-old Gani used to spend his days on a street corner begging for change. After he and his family were identified by UNICEF and partners, his father received assistance and Gani is now back in school.

PRISTINA, 1 July, 2016 – Gani Berisha wakes up at the crack of dawn and quietly puts on some clothes so as not to wake his family. The hands of the clock show it’s barely 6 a.m. as he steps outside and begins his commute to Pristina. He works at the same intersection almost every day. On some days he cleans the windows of cars passing by, hoping that he’ll get a few pennies in exchange. And on others he simply begs for money. Most people avoid him or utter profanities at him, but he is happy to get away with a few euros a day to help his poverty-stricken family.

Gani is only 12 years old, born into poverty and one of the most discriminated communities in Kosovo* – the Roma community. And this was his life. Forced to quit school and beg on the streets, his days used to look bleak, until a fortunate turn of events changed everything for him.

Gani was spotted on the streets by Terre des Hommes (TdH), an implementing partner of UNICEF. In cooperation with the Centres for Social Work (CSW) and local civil society organizations, UNICEF has helped establish the Case Management Roundtable (CMR) in 12 municipalities. The CMR is a mechanism for identifying, assisting and referring vulnerable children and families, including children who are victims of neglect, abuse, exploitation and trafficking, as well as children in conflict with the law.

Under the lead of social services, the CMR meets on a monthly basis and discusses intervention plans for children like Gani. The social workers conduct an in-depth assessment for every single case, identifying appropriate services and regularly visiting and monitoring supported families. 

Protecting the most vulnerable

Hafije Kastrati, a social worker in Fushe Kosove was in charge of providing assistance to Gani’s family, making sure he returned to school and lived a normal child’s life. She said that Gani and his family were in a particularly tough situation: “Gani was identified as a child at risk; it is not only him, but there were another two to three children in his family that were begging on the streets or cleaning car windows.”

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Video
Gani waves on cars passing by. Before getting support from social services and the Case Management Roundtable, he washed car windows to earn money for his family.

Kastrati noted that these children on the street are at high risk of being abused or raped. They are often victims of domestic violence and may even be forced by their families to beg on the streets. When a child is identified, social services conduct field visits to the family, sometimes involving the police as well.

Naim Bilalli, a Case Management Coordinator at Terre des Hommes says that Gani’s case was referred by a local NGO for the reason of neglect and school dropout. “The Centre for Social Work of Fushe-Kosove visited the family for an initial assessment of the case … where they noticed that this family is living in very bad hygienic conditions, children didn’t have clothes and family relations were very bad”, Bilalli said. Gani was pushed by his family to beg on the street, even after initial counseling was provided by the CSW of Fushe-Kosove. But Gani himself also noted that he felt the need to help his impoverished family.

I wanted to help my family because there was no one to help them. I would go next to traffic lights to make some money to help my family”, Gani said. “People would often ask me if I’m going to school, and tell me that I shouldn’t be on the streets.” 

After reviewing Gani’s case, Kastrati and other Fushe-Kosove-based Social Workers reached out to Municipality officials who, in addition to providing basic assistance, helped Gani’s family to buy a tractor and a cow.

Gani’s dad, Sylë Berisha, expresses deep gratitude for the help his family received. “I really thank them for what they have done; they secured me a tractor and a cow, and now I do business selling vegetables and fruits”, Sylë said. “Gani regularly goes to school now and I thank them so much for it.”

A bright future

Since Gani’s case was raised in the monthly CMRs, Gani hasn’t needed to work anymore. He was involved in various counseling meetings and has also received educational materials like books, notebooks and pencils to help him get back to school. Gani says that his days look quite different now compared to just a year ago – he enjoys studying. “I don’t have to go on the streets anymore. I go to school and have a lot of friends”, he said. 

After completing social services counseling, Sylë says that he has new hopes for Gani. “I often talk to him. He’s a very good boy, and smart, and he will continue school”, he said. “I won’t pick his field of study, he can do that for himself; and I won’t get him married at 17 or 18 like I did with my three other children. I want him to find a job, have his own life.”

Likewise, Gani has great plans for his future: “When I grow up I want to become a President. Or a deputy minister. But I have to study and do my best.”

___________________________________________________

In 2015, 174 girls and boys from 12 municipalities, at medium and high risk of being neglected, abused or at risk of becoming in conflict with the law have benefited from integrated community services in the form of emergency support, but also family visits, school visits, psychological counseling, family counseling, sheltering, vocational training, et al., all made possible through the CMR mechanisms. 

UNICEF played a critical role in establishment and institutionalization of CMR mechanisms. Due to UNICEF advocacy efforts and its technical assistance, the draft of the new Child Protection Law includes provisions on instutionalisation of CMR. With UNICEF technical assistance, Minimum standards for social services in respect to children at risk or in conflict with the law, children without parental care and vulnerable children have been developed. The capacities of professionals have been strengthened to ensure effective functioning of CMRs. UNICEF will continue playing an active role in the CMR scaling-up process so that more children benefit from necessary assistance and services.

*All references to Kosovo in this story should be understood to be in the context of United Nations Security Council resolution 1244 (1999).


 

 

New enhanced search