Country overview

Country Overview



Namibia is a southern African state that shares borders with South Africa to the south, Botswana to the east, Angola and Zambia to the north, and Zimbabwe in the northeast. The western border of Namibia is the Atlantic Ocean. The country covers about 824,116 square kilometres of land and some 526,000 square kilometres of sea, extending 200 nautical miles into the Atlantic.  Aridity characterises Namibia’s topography. Two deserts cover the nation, the Namib along the coast and the Kalahari in the east. Namibia is divided into 13 regions, each managed by a Regional Council and Governor. The national capital, Windhoek, is situated in the highlands in the centre of the country.




 Email this article

unite for children