Media centre

News Releases

Reporters' toolkit

Ethical guidelines

Hot topics

Children and media

Calendar 2016

Press contacts


Child Rights Awards 2007 - A call to broadcasters




KUALA LUMPUR, 18 May 2007 - The United Nations Children's Fund (UNICEF), the Cable & Satellite Broadcasting Association of Asia (CASBAA) and the Asia Pacific Broadcasting Union (ABU) are now inviting Asia-Pacific broadcasters and producers to submit entries for the Asia-Pacific Child Rights Award 2007.

The Award is made each year to the best television programming on children’s rights produced in the Asia-Pacific region. It recognises the efforts of broadcasters in pursuing both the production of top quality children’s programming and better news coverage of children’s issues. There is one category and one winner.

Programs both for children and about children are eligible and can cover any child rights’ issue. Entries can include documentaries that detail the plight of children, dramas that help break down stereotypes and discrimination, or animation that teaches and entertains. Entries must have been broadcast between August 2006 and July 2007, and must be received by 10 August 2007. The Award will be presented at the CASBAA convention in Hong Kong on 2 November 2007. The winner will be flown to Hong Kong for the ceremony.

Past winners include:

  • 2006: Conquering the Darkness – The Fight Against Memories of Abuse, by Japan’s Kansai Telecasting Corporation
  • 2005: Juvenile Injustice, by Philippine’s ABS-CBN Channel 2
  • 2004: Hong Kong Connection: Children In Need, by Radio Television Hong Kong
  • 2003: Angels in Prison, by Philippines’ GMA-7 Channel
  • 2002: Child Soldiers, by Radio Television Hong Kong
  • 2001: Children Will Grow, by Japan’s Mainichi Institute

Malaysia's entry "Dark Street Kids" produced by Radio Televisyen Malaysia was one of the top ten finalists in 2006. Produced by Nawar Hani Kamaruddin, the documentary tells the story of children who are born and live in dark alleys or brothels of Malaysia. It chronicles the hardship, as well as the stigma and discrimination, they face being the children of commercial sex workers.

Since its inception in 2001, the Child Rights Award has proved to be a tremendous success. Eligible countries for the Awards are:

Afghanistan, Australia, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Brunei, Cambodia, China, Cook Islands, DPR Korea, Fiji, French Polynesia, Federated Stares of Micronesia, Hong Kong, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, India, Indonesia, Japan, Kiribati, Korea, Lao PDR, Macau, Malaysia, Maldives, Mongolia, Myanmar, Marshal Islands, Nauru, Nepal, New Zealand, Niue. Pakistan, Palau, PNG, Philippines, Samoa, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Timor Leste, Tajikistan, Thailand, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, Tonga, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Vietnam.

To obtain more information on the award, please visit






Related Information


 Email this article

Donate Now

unite for children