UNICEF.org新网站正在建设中。
网页内容还在更新中。感谢您的耐心,敬请稍后查看。

阿拉伯叙利亚共和国

围困中的迈达亚呈现复苏迹象

淑珊.梅宝拉图报道

在经过了数次人道主义援助之后,叙利亚被围困的小镇迈达亚的居民呈现出了复苏的迹象。但受限于出入通道,临时医院仍然缺乏专业的医疗队伍和补给,且仍有数已百计的人们急需医疗救助。

叙利亚迈达亚,2016年5月10日—迈达亚是叙利亚的一个小镇,曾经这里随处可见营养不良的儿童,场景令人震惊,如今它正在呈现出复苏的端倪。受益于联合国儿童基金会的支持和医护人员的坚定信心,迈达亚镇的营养不良状况已经得到缓解。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Syrian Arab Republic/2016
一名联合国儿童基金会的工作人员问候8岁的穆罕默德。在一月份联合国儿童基金会工作组见到他时,他严重营养不良,身体极度虚弱。在接受了食物治疗之后,如今他变得强壮了,并已重返校园。

但是围困所造成的限制仍然无法突破,那些需要特别治疗的儿童无法获得医治与医疗后送。对于那些急需医疗救助的人来说—约1,300人,其中包括92名儿童以及他们的家人—情况依然令人绝望。

最近一次对迈达亚进行跨机构人道主义的行动发生在2016年4月30日,联合国儿童基金会走访了镇里唯一的一家临时医院。该医院装备不良、资质不足,无法救助大量的病人,这里的工作人员恳求立即对重症患者进行医疗后送。考虑到受限的人道主义通道,他们也对很快将耗尽的营养供给表达了担忧。

“我们每天都看到需要医疗后送的患者去世。患者的性命危在旦夕,而我们能做什么呢?”

茁壮成长

在访问医院期间,联合国儿童基金会的工作人员对2月17日的行动所救治的患有严重营养不良症状的40名儿童进行了随访护理。

“相比在一月份和二月份我们所看到的极端营养不良状况,如今迈达亚的状况已经得到了稳定,”联合国儿童基金会营养专家拉贾.沙拉汗博士说道,她和她的同事营养官哈桑.巴拉德博士一起参加了本次行动。

“在前两次的行动中我们发现几乎无人能幸免。很不幸,在一月份的访问期间我们目睹了一位16岁男孩的离去,他患有极度营养不良症状,并伴有其他并发症。救治来得太晚了—而这一切令人扼腕痛惜。”沙拉汗补充道,“如今,孩子们的脸上又有了笑容,他们看上去也更加健康,更有活力。医院的会诊也更有条不紊。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Syrian Arab Republic/2016
2016年一月,默罕默德和联合国儿童基金会驻叙利亚代表坐在一起。就在几个月前,他还是严重营养不良,身体极度虚弱。

八岁的穆罕默德是状况正在持续好转的儿童之一。几个月前,他出现在一个像病毒般扩散的视频中,让迈达亚的严重营养不良状况引发了世界的关注。当联合国儿童基金会工作人员在一月份见到他时,默罕默德极度虚弱,胸腔的肋骨都快从他瘦小的身体中突出来。由于医疗组的到来,默罕默德的生命得到了救助,他们利用联合国儿童基金会提供的治疗食品对他进行医治。如今默罕默德变得强壮了,他也重新回到了学校。他自豪地说长大后想成为一名医生。

利马,她的大眼睛出现在另一个视频中,同样像病毒般扩散,令人难忘,在一月份被送到临时医院时,她几乎处在死亡的边缘。那时她正遭受严重的营养不良,几乎完全没有食欲,她虚弱的身体几乎无法吸收任何食物中的营养。那时她的状况异常严重,不是走向死亡,就是遭受永久性身体和精神损伤。幸运的是,利马得到了及时的救治,如今她已可以自己站立,健康状况持续好转。她将拥有一个健康的生活,但仍然需要持续的特别医疗护理。

围困的恶果

尽管儿童的营养状况已得到了改善,但这个小镇的整体人道救援状况依然不容乐观。儿童仍然持续遭受围困所带来的毁灭性后果。艾达,8岁的她,右眼在一月份的时候受到了流弹伤害。但是她不能离开迈达亚进行救治,如今她的右眼已失明。

其他儿童同样面临严重的生命威胁,包括肾衰竭、风湿热、流弹伤害、肝脏和心脏疾病——这些病症都需要特别救治,而在目前的临时医院不可能完成。联合国儿童基金会确定了92名需要紧急医疗后送的儿童。

一位尚未毕业的医学生、一位牙医和一位兽医是迈达亚仅有的三位专业医护人员。他们正在尽全力救治生命,但是他们在极端的环境下工作,面对的是大量的患者和严重不足的医疗供给与设备。“我们不得不在工作过程中学习如何救治病人,我们还是学生,但却已经成了专家,”医护人员告诉联合国儿童基金会的工作人员。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Syrian Arab Republic/2016
联合国儿童基金会的一位工作人员将利马抱在自己的腿上。在一月份被送到迈达亚临时医院时,利马遭受了严重的营养不良,几乎生命垂危。如今她已经恢复,将会拥有健康的生活。

随着过去三个月食品和营养供给通过空运的送达,这里的人们已经可以再次恢复一日三餐的生活。与前几个月有所不同,人们已经不再抱怨吃不上饭了,而是抱怨食物的品种不足。迈达亚的生活迹象正在复苏,但是商店里的货架依然空空如也。

需要紧急后送

医护人员表示有很多肝脏疾病和其他严重疾病的病例无法救治,很多人已经因此而死去。持续的饥饿加上突然的进食或摄入不当的食物种类本身就会导致医疗并发症,这需要专业且持续的护理。

在4月20日进行的医疗后送行动中,只有125名患者从迈达亚撤离。面对大量急需救治的患者,健康中心的工作人员疲于应付。他们预料到了灾难性的后果,提醒联合国儿童基金会他们既没有足够的资源、专家,也没有设备和药物用于患者的救治。

为了维持和保持在儿童营养健康方面所取得的进展,联合国儿童基金会及其他救助机构必须拥有进入迈达亚和其他被围困城镇的无条件的持续通道。通道不仅可用来运输救生援助,还可以用于进行评估、提供医疗救助、进行重病患者的医疗后送以及重建健康与营养服务工作。


 

 

联合国儿童基金会摄影专辑:叙利亚危机

搜索

We’re building a new UNICEF.org.
As we swap out old for new, pages will be in transition. Thanks for your patience – please keep coming back to see the improvements.

At a glance: Syrian Arab Republic

Signs of recovery amid the siege in Madaya

UPDATE (January 2017): In Syria today, 15 areas, including Madaya, remain under siege, with an estimated 700,000 people, including around 300,000 children, still trapped. Nearly 5 million people, including more than 2 million children, live in areas that are extremely difficult to reach with humanitarian assistance due to heavy violence and restricted access.

In 2016, working with partners, UNICEF helped provide more than 14 million people with safe water through its work to operate and maintain water and sanitation systems; vaccinated over 3.5 million children against polio; provided nearly 3 million children in formal schooling with school supplies; and reached nearly 2 million children with mine risk education activities. Learn more: UNICEF's Humanitarian Action for Children 2017 >

By Shushan Mebrahtu

After several humanitarian aid convoys reached Madaya, residents of the besieged Syrian town are showing some signs of improvement. But limited access has left the makeshift hospital without professional health staff and supplies, while hundreds are still in need of urgent medical care.

MADAYA, Syrian Arab Republic, 10 May 2016 – Madaya, the Syrian town that was once the scene of shocking images of malnourished children, is showing small signs of recovery. Thanks to UNICEF’s support and the determination of health workers, the situation of malnutrition in Madaya is slowly improving.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Syrian Arab Republic/2016
A UNICEF staff member greets 8-year-old Mohammed. When the UNICEF team met him in January, he was malnourished and extremely weak. After being treated with therapeutic food, he is now stronger and has gone back to school.

But the restrictions imposed by the siege continue to deny medical access and evacuation of those children who need specialized treatment. For those in need of urgent medical care – some 1,300 people, including 92 children and their families – the situation remains desperate.

The most recent inter-agency humanitarian convoy to Madaya took place on 30 April 2016, and the UNICEF team visited the only makeshift hospital inside the town. Ill-equipped and underqualified to treat the high volume of patients, the staff pleaded for immediate medical evacuation of the critically ill. They also expressed fears that they will soon run out of nutritional supplies, given the extremely limited humanitarian access.

“Daily we are witnessing the deaths of people who are on the list for medical evacuation. Patients are dying, what can we do?”

Growing stronger

While visiting the hospital, UNICEF staff provided follow-up care for around 40 children who presented serious symptoms of malnutrition during the last mission to the town on 17 February.

“Compared to the dire levels of malnutrition we saw in January and February, the situation in Madaya has stabilized,” said UNICEF Nutrition Specialist Dr. Rajia Sharhan who, along with her colleague Nutrition Officer Dr. Houssam Baradee, participated in the mission.

“During the last two missions we found people barely surviving. Sadly, during our visit in January we also witnessed the death of a 16-year-old boy who was acutely malnourished, with medical complications. It was too late to save his life – the scene was heartbreaking,” added Dr. Sharhan. “Now, the children are smiling, they look healthier and lively. Consultations at the hospital have become more organized.”

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Syrian Arab Republic/2016
Mohammed sits with the UNICEF Syria Representative in January 2016. Just a few months ago, he was severely malnourished, and extremely weak and fragile.

Eight-year-old Mohammed is one of the children who continues to recover. Just a few months ago, he was seen in a video that went viral and brought the world’s attention to the severe malnutrition in Madaya. When the UNICEF team met him in January, Mohammed was extremely weak and fragile, with his rib cage protruding from his small body. Mohammed’s life has been saved thanks to the health team in Madaya who treated him with UNICEF therapeutic food. Mohammed is stronger now and has gone back to school. He proudly says he want to become a doctor.

Limar, the baby with huge, haunting eyes who was featured in a video that also went viral, was on the brink of death when she was brought to the makeshift hospital in January. She was suffering from acute malnutrition and had lost her appetite completely, her weak body unable to obtain vital nutrients from any of the food she consumed. Her condition was so critical that she would either die or potentially face permanent mental and physical damage. Thankfully, Limar received lifesaving treatment just in time, and she is now back on her feet and recovering. She will be able to lead a healthy life, but she still needs continued specialized medical care.

Devastating consequences of siege

Despite the improvements in child nutrition, the overall humanitarian situation in the town is still dire. Children continue to suffer from the devastating consequences of the restrictions imposed by the siege. Ehda, aged 8, sustained a shrapnel injury in her right eye in February. She was not allowed to leave Madaya for treatment and loss of vision in the eye.

Other children are facing life-threatening conditions including renal failure, rheumatic fever, shrapnel wounds, liver and heart disease – conditions that require specialist treatment that is currently unavailable at the makeshift hospital. The UNICEF team identified 92 children who need urgent medical evacuation.

A young doctor who has not completed his medical studies, a dentist, and a veterinarian are the only three health professionals in Madaya. They are doing what they can to save lives, but they are working under extreme conditions, facing lines of patients to treat with insufficient medical supplies and equipment. “We have had to learn how to treat patients on the job, we have become specialists while still students,” the medical staff told UNICEF staff.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Syrian Arab Republic/2016
A UNICEF staff member holds Limar on her lap. Limar was suffering from malnutrition and was near death when she was brought to Madaya's makeshift hospital in January. She is now recovering and will be able to lead a healthy life.

With food and nutrition supplies arriving through aid convoys in the last three months, people are reported to be eating three meals a day once again. Unlike in previous months, people did not complain of hunger, but of the lack of food diversity in their diet. Some signs of life are returning to Madaya, but the shelves in the shops remain empty.

Urgent evacuation needed

Hospital staff reported that there were many cases of liver disease and other serious illnesses that cannot be treated, and a number of patients have died as a result. Prolonged starvation combined with the sudden introduction of food or the wrong type of food has itself led to medical complications, which require specialized and sustained care.

Only 125 patients were evacuated from Madaya during the last medevac on 20 April. Health centre staff, exhausted and overwhelmed by the number of people in need of lifesaving medical treatment, are simply unable to cope. They predict disastrous consequences, informing the UNICEF team that they have neither the resources, specialist expertise or the equipment and medicines required to treat people.

To maintain and continue the improvements in child nutrition and health, UNICEF and other aid agencies must have unconditional and sustained access to Madaya and other besieged towns. Access is needed not only to deliver lifesaving assistance, but to conduct assessments, provide medical treatment, support the evacuation of the critically ill and re-establish health and nutrition services.


 

 

UNICEF Photography: Syrian crisis

New enhanced search