UNICEF.org新网站正在建设中。
网页内容还在更新中。感谢您的耐心,敬请稍后查看。

塞拉利昂

关爱与保护,不只局限于埃博拉病毒肆虐时期

因德瑞斯.G.卡萨耶报道

通过将隔离设施落实到村,方便有需要的村民寻求治疗,塞拉利昂的社区护理中心对实现埃博拉零传播做出了重大贡献。 同时,这些护理中心还帮助建立起了医疗系统的公信力,这对于人们今后的健康生活尤为关键。

塞拉利昂卡尼亚,2015年10月19日 — 连续两天马马杜.赛萨伊都感觉到头疼,他觉得自己可能感染了埃博拉病毒。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Sierra Leone
塞拉利昂坎比亚区,由联合国儿基会资助建立的卡尼亚社区护理中心。 在埃博拉危机爆发的高峰期,塞拉利昂境内有46家联合国儿基会资助建立的社区护理中心提供了服务;现在仍有17家在运行。

马马杜一想到可能出现的最坏情况就有些害怕,他艰难地走到位于塞拉利昂坎比亚区的卡尼亚社区护理中心,这家护理中心由坎比亚区卫生管理团队开办,同时接受联合国儿基会与英国国际发展署(DFID)的援助。

 “我一个人走过来的,因为我真的感觉很难受。”马马杜说道, “我担心我可能感染了埃博拉。” 

在塞拉利昂,并不是每一个生病的人都习惯寻求专业的医疗援助,而埃博拉疫情又使得人们对公共卫生系统的信任度降低了不少,这样一来,病源传播反而更加严重。 

埃博拉对医疗工作者本身的影响也很大: 根据世界卫生组织的数据,2014年1月至2015年3月,该国超过325例埃博拉感染病例,超过150例死亡,在疫情爆发前,全国600万人口只配备了不到140名医生。 

以前,村民们一旦生病总是更愿意寻求传统医者的帮助。然而草药和在家疗养并不能对抗埃博拉,反而因为没有及时隔离,也没有遵从标准的预防与控制感染的指导,进而助长了病毒的猖獗传播。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Sierra Leone/2015
阿玛拉.卡马拉是卡尼亚社区护理中心的安保人员,他一边用红外温度传感器为一位走进该护理中心的病人测量体温,看是否有发烧症状(埃博拉症状之一),一边提醒该病人用消毒水洗手。

在埃博拉危机爆发的高峰期,塞拉利昂境内有46家联合国儿基会资助建立的社区护理中心提供了服务。 护理中心为员工进行了感染预防与控制(IPC)培训,同时提供了操作指南。 除了练习如何正确使用个人防护装备(PPE)、阅读感染预防与控制原则,他们还需要针对不同病人对不同场景进行角色扮演。

“这些社区护理中心在社区与医疗系统之间搭建了桥梁。”联合国儿基会健康专家、联合国儿基会社区护理中心埃博拉专项协调员莉亚.阿克利卢说道, “联合国儿基会社区护理中心已隔离33391人,新增数据目前还在统计中。 他们隔离的范围很广,这也是积极预防疑似病例所必须的。 社区的选址和开放程度也很关键,据我们的数据统计,到社区护理中心就医的人一般都是刚刚出现了某些症状的人,这也使得尽早隔离、帮助减少病毒在社区的传播成为了可能。”

社区护理中心的理念超越了“建好了自然会有人来”的消极观念,转而积极督促社区使用防护设施、消除人们对埃博拉的恐惧感。 具体实施途径是发展一些联络员,负责联络村民和社区护理中心。

达乌达.卡马拉就是卡尼亚社区护理中心的社区联络员。 “社区护理中心刚刚成立时,这里的人还很害怕,说护理中心工作人员给人发的东西,会把全社区的人都害死。”他说道, “所以联合国儿基会当时召集了大酋长、小酋长和镇长以及我们当中的一些人,为社区护理中心和社区成员服务。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Sierra Leone/2015
卡尼亚社区护理中心一位健康工作者在鉴定完毕一名疑似埃博拉患者后脱下自己的个人防护装备。

“我要去社区和他们聊一聊,告诉他们社区护理中心的重要性和优势所在。 现在,很多人去周边卫生机构(PHU)之前会先来社区护理中心。”

正确步骤

马马杜在感觉不舒服后来到社区护理中心,阿玛拉.卡马拉接待了他。阿玛拉是马马杜在自己村就认识的一位安保人员。 阿玛拉在带马马杜进入护理中心前采取了一些预防性措施。

“我是一名安保人员,负责保护人们的生命和财产安全。”阿玛拉说道, “所以当有病人来访时,我的职责就是告诉他们要洗手,同时为他们测量体温。 然后才会让他(她)去做鉴定。”

社区护理中心在社区聘用了一批像阿玛拉一样的工作人员,从而巩固护理中心与社区成员之间的良好关系,维护社区的利益,提高护理中心的利用率。 像隔离和提供护理这样的日常操作,主要由区卫生管理团队的护士负责。 同时还录用了一批保健、保洁和负责安全的保安人员以及消毒人员。

在测量了马马杜的体温并且对他做了会诊(包括询问是否出现了其他埃博拉症状)后,值班护士判定马马杜还不符合社区护理中心的接收标准,因而推荐他去周边卫生机构作进一步检查。 这些社区护理中心不仅在隔绝疑似病例方面也在保护转诊病人方面支持了现有医疗系统。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Sierra Leone/2015
卡尼亚社区护理中心的健康工作者团队。

走出社区护理中心的马马杜终于松了一口气,因为他刚刚得知自己近两天所遭受的疼痛很可能并不是因为埃博拉。 周边卫生机构就在社区护理中心附近,马马杜很快走到了。在这里,根据快速诊断检测设备的诊断,原来马马杜得的是疟疾,虽然这也是一种潜在致命性疾病,和埃博拉有一些相似症状,但却比埃博拉好治得多。 马马杜获得了免费治疗并被送回了家。

一次持久的教训

今天,埃博拉零传播运动仍在继续,塞拉利昂仍有17家社区护理中心在运行着。 这些护理中心由精心设计的帐篷组合构成,只是临时性的急救设施,一旦不需要了就会被关闭。 在关闭这些社区护理中心的同时,我们通过将工作人员、物资供应及相关知识从社区护理中心转移至周边卫生机构,努力让当地的医疗系统确保疫情零反复。

如果要说这次疫情爆发给了人们什么教训,那就是社区参与的重要性。 虽然埃博拉疫情爆发已经结束很久,但赢得社区信任、使用医疗系统仍然具有持久意义。 在对抗(塞拉利昂在全世界范围内排名居高不下的)大量可预防儿童和孕产妇死亡案例中,这种信任还将具有根本优势。

 

 


 

 

联合国儿童基金会摄影专辑: 根除埃博拉始于家庭

搜索

Providing care and protection, in Ebola times and beyond | At a glance: Sierra Leone | UNICEF

We’re building a new UNICEF.org.
As we swap out old for new, pages will be in transition. Thanks for your patience – please keep coming back to see the improvements.

At a glance: Sierra Leone

Providing care and protection, in Ebola times and beyond

By Indrias G Kassaye

By bringing isolation facilities to the village level and making it easier for people to seek treatment, Community Care Centres in Sierra Leone have made a critical contribution towards getting to zero Ebola transmissions. They have also helped build public trust in the medical system, critical for a healthier future.

KANIA, Sierra Leone, 19 October 2015 – After two days suffering severe headaches, Mamadu Sesay thought he might have contracted the Ebola virus.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Sierra Leone
The UNICEF-supported Kania Community Care Centre, in Kambia District, Sierra Leone. At the height of the Ebola crisis, 46 UNICEF-supported CCCs provided services throughout the country; 17 remain in operation.

Fearing the worst, Mamudu made his way to the Kania Community Care Centre (CCC) in Sierra Leone’s Kambia District, operated by the District Health Management Team, with support from UNICEF and the UK Department for International Development (DFID).

“I walked here by myself, because I felt really bad,” says Mamadu. “I was afraid I might have Ebola.”

Seeking professional medical help is not a reflex for everyone who gets sick in Sierra Leone, and trust in the public health system was undermined by the Ebola epidemic, which severely stretched resources.

Ebola also had a heavy impact on health workers themselves: Between January 2014 and March 2015, more than 325 were infected by the virus, and more than 150 died, in a country that before the epidemic had fewer than 140 doctors for its 6 million population, according to the World Health Organization.

Historically, villagers have been more inclined to seek the help of traditional healers when they fall ill. But herbs and home remedies don’t work against Ebola, and they even contributed to its spread by keeping people out of quarantine and not following standard infection prevention and control guidelines.

Breaking down barriers

Within this context, the CCCs were set up by UNICEF, with support from DFID, in Bombali, Tonkolili, Kambia and Kono districts. Two more CCCs were later added in Western Area. The CCCs didn’t just bring isolation facilities to the village level – essential in containing local outbreaks; they also broke down barriers to people seeking care.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Sierra Leone/2015
Amara Kamara, security guard at the Kania CCC, uses an infrared thermometer to check a walk-in patient for fever, one of the symptoms of Ebola, while ensuring his hands are washed with chlorinated water before entering.

At the height of the Ebola crisis, 46 UNICEF-supported centres were providing services throughout the country. Staff received training on infection prevention and control (IPC), and protocols were put in place before they opened. In addition to practicing correct use and disposal of Personal Protective Equipment (PPE) and reviewing IPC principles, there were role plays involving different patient scenarios.

“CCCs bridged the gap between the community and the health system,” says Liya Aklilu, UNICEF Health Specialist and UNICEF CCC Coordinator for the Ebola Response. “The UNICEF CCCs alone screened 33,391people – and we’re still counting. They cast a very wide net, which is what you need to do in order to proactively identify suspected cases. Their location in the community and accessibility were also crucial, as our data show that people came to the CCCs early, when symptoms presented, making early isolation a possibility and helping to reduce possible transmission in the community.”

The idea was go beyond the notion of ‘Build it and they’ll come’ and instead invest actively in making sure communities used the facilities and put aside misplaced fears about Ebola. One of the ways this was carried out was by engaging people as liaisons between villagers and the CCC.

Dauda Kamara is the community focal point working with the Kania CCC. “When the CCC started, people in the community were afraid, saying that the CCC staff are going to give something that is going to kill all of the community,” he says. “That is why UNICEF got together with the paramount chief, the section chief and the head of town and engaged some of us to take responsibility – to work with the CCC and the community members.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Sierra Leone/2015
A health worker at Kania CCC removes her personal protective equipment after triaging a potential Ebola patient.

“I would go to the community and discuss with them, telling them the importance of the CCC and inform them of the advantage of the CCC. Now a lot of them are coming to the CCC before going to the Peripheral Health Unit [PHU].”

Procedures in place

When Mamadu arrived at the CCC feeling sick, he was met by Amara Kamara, a security guard who Mamadu knows from his village. Amara assisted him with the precautionary procedures taken when entering the health facility.

“I am the security guard protecting life and property,” Amara says. “When a patient comes, my responsibility is to tell the patient to do the handwashing and take his or her temperature. After that, I will show him or her where to go for triage.”

The CCCs employ staff from the community like Amara in order to foster good relations, community ownership and utilization. Day-to-day operations such as screening and providing care are led by nurses from the District Health Management Teams. Hygienists, cleaners and security staff responsible for safety and decontamination staff are also recruited from the community.

After checking Mamadu’s temperature and interviewing him, including asking whether he has other symptoms of Ebola, the attending nurse determined that Mamadu did not meet the case definition for admission to the CCC and referred him to the nearby PHU for further tests. The CCCs supported the existing health system not just by isolating suspected cases, but also ensuring referrals were exchanged between the two.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Sierra Leone/2015
The team of health workers at the Kania CCC

Leaving the CCC, Mamadu appeared visibly relieved at the good news that the pain he had been experiencing over the past two days was probably not Ebola. At the PHU, located a short walk from the CCC, a rapid diagnostic test kit was used to diagnose that Mamadu had instead contracted malaria, another potentially deadly disease that shares some symptoms of Ebola but is far more easily treated. Mamadu was provided free medication and sent home.

A lasting lesson

Today, as progress to zero Ebola transmissions continues, 17 CCCs remain in operation in Sierra Leone. The centres, housed in tents within carefully designed compounds, are temporary emergency measures, and, in time, all will be shut down. As CCCs close down, efforts are made to enable the local health system to prepare for a resilient zero by transferring staff, supplies and knowledge from CCCs to PHUs.

If there’s a lesson from the outbreak, it is the importance of community engagement. Long after the Ebola outbreak has passed, winning the trust of communities to use health systems will have a lasting benefit. In the fight against the numerous and largely preventable causes of childhood and maternal deaths, which in Sierra Leone occur at some of the highest rates in the world, this trust will be a fundamental advantage.

 


 

 

UNICEF Photography: The end of Ebola begins at home

New enhanced search