UNICEF.org新网站正在建设中。
网页内容还在更新中。感谢您的耐心,敬请稍后查看。

塞拉利昂

在塞拉利昂,与社区民众共同努力预防少女怀孕

哈丽特.梅森报道

正当人类在教育、健康、预防艾滋病毒∕艾滋病以及制止暴力方面取得进展之时,青少年女性偏离成长正轨的现象仍然屡见不鲜。加倍关注未成年女性是2015年国际女童日强调的重中之重。本年度,该节日的主题为“青少年女性的权利:2030年愿景”。

在塞拉利昂,消灭埃博拉病毒的战斗仍在继续。为了防止少女怀孕,使她们得以留校读书,联合国儿童基金会和它的合作伙伴提供了地方性以及全国性的项目支援。

塞拉利昂可庞巴马,2015年10月7日 — 可庞巴马村位于塞拉利昂南部。每个午后,17岁的伊萨图.耶和华和一些其他女孩都会聚集在可庞巴马村的一个社区大厅规划未来。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Sierra Leone/2015/Mason
17 岁的伊萨图.耶和华在家里的走廊上阅读课堂笔记,她家就在塞拉利昂的可庞巴马村里。

这里是青少年权利与生计俱乐部,它为青少年女性提供了一个安全的场所,学习生活技能,并重点关注性健康与生殖健康,以减少她们怀孕的可能性。

伊萨图说她的一些同龄朋友已经有了孩子,而她们的经历促使她参与了此项目。

“我参加青少年权利与生计俱乐部是为了赋予自己应有的权利并防止自己怀孕。她说到:“我很高兴,青少年权利与生计项目对我能够留校学习至关重要。”

假日里,她们的指导老师穆巴鲁.凯开会照看她们。“我挨家挨户探访她们每一个人,以确保她们安然无事。我们讨论她们遇到的所有问题并一起解决。”凯开老师说道。

除了讨论青少年女性怀孕问题外,这些女孩也学习扎染、制皂、裁剪或美发。与此同时,她们还可以学习理财技能,帮助自己形成攒钱的意识以便自力更生。接受这些培训之后,她们会收到创业材料和一笔贷款,这将帮助她们创立自己的小事业以便养家糊口。

对健康和成长的影响

在塞拉利昂,青春期少女怀孕是一个普遍的问题,这也影响少女和年轻女性的健康以及她们在社会、经济、政治方面的发展和权利。埃博拉病毒危机加剧了这一现状。伴随着经济冲击的影响,学校关闭致使愈来愈多贫困无助的家庭只能采取极端的生存策略。

由国际计划、救助儿童会、世界宣明会以及联合国儿童基金会联合进行的一项名为“塞拉利昂儿童的埃博拉恢复评估”的调查指出,童工、剥削、暴力和少女怀孕的事件报告日益增加。大部分怀孕的少女已无法再重返校园。

与此同时,联合国人口基金会也针对青少年女性怀孕问题作出了一份快速评估。此项评估仍有待官方确认,但初步结果表明,在埃博拉病毒紧急突发期间,有超过14300名塞拉利昂少女怀孕。

联合国儿童基金会一直以来都在与爱尔兰援助署、英国国际发展部、联合国人口活动基金会以及其他机构和项目一起倾力合作以解决这一问题。在此援助下,塞拉利昂政府也得以建立特别的系统,帮助怀孕少女继续接受教育,使她们在怀孕后得以更轻松地回归正规教育。援助还包括提供社会心理学咨询、健康资讯以及母婴健康服务。

社区其他成员,包括父母、男人、男童以及思想传统的领导人,如今也会讨论少女怀孕、早婚、家庭暴力等话题。

UNICEF Photo
在可庞巴马的青少年权利与生计俱乐部内,一群女孩载歌载舞。这是保护她们安全和教授生活技能的地方。

“每当我看到那些怀孕的少女时,我都会替她们感到担忧,因为我知道她们并不能照顾好她们自己以及她们的孩子。”可庞巴马的居民捷咪夫人说道。

“我经常鼓励她们要继续学习,因为学习会让她们在未来过上更好的生活。”她补充道。

教育的益处

在塞拉利昂,少女怀孕依然是个影响少女和年轻女性成长的难题,但在可庞巴马村,这个趋势已经有所下降。“女孩已经不再像之前那样容易怀孕了。”指导老师凯开女士说道,“她们如今在生殖健康和避孕措施方面的意识更强。学校关闭后,我们的女学生没有一个怀孕的,我很确定,当学校重新开放时,她们都将返回校园。”

伊萨图同意此说法,她和村里其他的女孩现在已经意识到教育的好处并受到鼓励要更专注于学习。

“如今我在学校更加用功。因为我知道,要想改善家人的生活,接受教育非常重要。凡事都对应其适当的时间,包括性爱。”她说道,“毕业后我想当一名护士,因为我想让同胞们接受更好的医疗服务。”

青少年权利与生计项目由孟加拉乡村进步委员会塞拉利昂分部管理,在防止青少年女性怀孕的问题上也获得了支持。“青少年女性应该在学校接受教育,为她们的未来做准备,而不是怀孕和抚养孩子。”联合国儿童基金会塞拉利昂代表杰夫.韦弗音说道,“这也是我们和合作伙伴密切合作的原因,确保青少年女性获得一切上学和接受教育的机会。”


 

 

联合国儿童基金会摄影专辑: 根除埃博拉始于家庭

搜索

We’re building a new UNICEF.org.
As we swap out old for new, pages will be in transition. Thanks for your patience – please keep coming back to see the improvements.

At a glance: Sierra Leone

In Sierra Leone, working with communities to curb teenage pregnancies

By Harriet Mason

All too often, adolescent girls disappear from the development agenda, even as progress is made on education, health, HIV/AIDS and protection against violence. The importance of redoubling efforts and focusing on adolescent girls is the emphasis of the 2015 International Day of the Girl Child. This year’s theme is ‘The power of the adolescent girl: Vision for 2030’.

As the fight to stamp out Ebola continues in Sierra Leone, UNICEF and its partners support local and national programmes to help prevent pregnancy among teenage girls and keep them in school.

KPANGBAMA, Sierra Leone, 7 October 2015 – Every afternoon, 17-year-old Isatu Jah and a group of other young girls gather in a community hall in the village of Kpangbama, in southern Sierra Leone, to plan for the future.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Sierra Leone/2015/Mason
Isatu Jah, 17, reads her school notes on the veranda at her family’s home in Kpangbama, Sierra Leone.

This is the Empowerment and Livelihoods for Adolescents (ELA) club, which works to reduce teenage pregnancy by providing a safe space for girls through training in life skills, with a strong focus on sexual and reproductive health.

Isatu says some of her teenage friends have become mothers, and their experience motivated her to join the programme.

“I joined the ELA club to empower myself and prevent myself from getting pregnant. I’m happy to say that the ELA programme has been key in helping me stay in school,” she says.

When the girls are on holidays, their mentor, Mbalu Kaikai checks on them. “I visit each and every one of them at their homes to make sure they are ok. We discuss any issues they have and try to address them together,” Ms. Kaikai says.

In addition to discussing teenage pregnancy, the girls can also get training in tie-dye, soap making, tailoring or hairdressing, and are coached in financial literacy skills to help them learn the concept of saving and become self-reliant. After the training, they receive start-up materials and a loan, to help them set up small businesses so they can support themselves and their families.

Impact on health and progress

Teenage pregnancy is a pervasive problem in Sierra Leone that affects girls’ and young women’s health and their social, economic and political progress and empowerment. The Ebola crisis has exacerbated the situation. The closure of schools, combined with the economic impact on the economy, has increasingly led poor and vulnerable families to adopt desperate survival strategies.

The survey ‘Children’s Ebola Recovery Assessment in Sierra Leone’ by Plan International, Save the Children, World Vision International and UNICEF found reports of increased child labour, exploitation, violence and exposure to teenage pregnancy. Most girls who became pregnant have not been able to return to school.

Meanwhile, a rapid assessment conducted by the United Nations Population Fund (UNFPA) on adolescent pregnancy still awaits official confirmation, but preliminary results indicate that more than 14,300 girls in Sierra Leone became pregnant during the Ebola health emergency.

UNICEF has been working with Irish Aid, the UK Department for International Development, UNFPA and other institutions and programmes to help address this issue, and the Government is being supported in setting up special systems to help pregnant girls continue their education, so that they can more easily resume formal education after pregnancy. Support also includes providing psychosocial counselling, health information and access to maternal and neonatal health services.

Community members including parents, men, boys and traditional leaders have also been involved in discussions on issues such as teenage pregnancy, early marriage and domestic violence.

UNICEF Image
A group of girls dance and sing in the Empowerment and Livelihoods for Adolescents clubhouse in Kpangbama, which provides a safe space and life skills training for girls.

“When I see girls who are pregnant, I feel bad because I know they will not be able to care for themselves and their children well,” says Madam Jamie, a resident of Kpangbama.

“I always encourage girls to stay in school, because that will help them live better lives in future,” she adds.

Benefits of education

While teenage pregnancy remains a major issue affecting girls and young women in Sierra Leone, it has been on the decline in Kpangbama. “Girls are not getting pregnant as they used to before,” says mentor Ms. Kaikai. “They are more aware of reproductive health and family planning facilities. None of our schoolgirls got pregnant when schools closed down, and I’m sure they will all return to school when they reopen.”

Isatu agrees that she and other girls in her village are now aware of the benefits of education and are inspired to focus more on their schooling.

“I’m working harder in school because I know it is important for me to be educated to improve life for my family. There is a proper time for everything, including sex,” she says. “I will like to be a nurse after I finish school, because I want to help my people get good medical care.”

The ELA programme, run by BRAC Sierra Leone, also receives support in preventing teenage pregnancies. “Adolescent girls should be in school preparing for their future lives, not pregnant and raising children,” says Geoff Wiffin, UNICEF Representative in Sierra Leone. “This is why we are working closely with partners to ensure girls get every opportunity to stay in school and be educated.”


 

 

UNICEF Photography: The end of Ebola begins at home

New enhanced search