UNICEF.org新网站正在建设中。
网页内容还在更新中。感谢您的耐心,敬请稍后查看。

塞拉利昂

保证埃博拉隔离区内无父母照料的儿童的安全

印迪阿斯.卡萨耶报道

在塞拉利昂的一个村庄内,埃博拉隔离严格限制了人们的行动,使他们的日常生活陷入了停顿。对于那些无人照顾的儿童,为他们提供安全和照顾尤为困难。

塞拉利昂通科利利区,2015年8月27日 —艾玛.卡马拉今年16岁,她的母亲不久前离开家去内地做买卖。临行前,母亲将三个孩子拜托给邻居照顾。这位母亲无论如何也没有想到,三个孩子在她离开后不久便被隔离。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Sierra Leone/2015/Kassaye
通科利利区马瑟瑟贝村,一个女孩和她的两个弟弟坐在救护车中,他们之前自己生活,无人照料,现在正被送往附近的临时观察看护中心。

“有的时候妈妈要外出一个月。她还不知道我们已经被隔离。”艾玛说。艾玛的母亲周二出门,而就在周五,由于塞拉利昂通科利利区意外发现了一例新的埃博拉病例,他们所在的马瑟瑟贝村被设为隔离区。

村里大多数人为农民(该国大部分地区均如此)。为了增加收入,村民们经常到通科利利区北部矿区工作。采矿业是塞拉利昂最大的出口收入来源,矿产资源包括钻石、黄金、铁和金红石。

艾玛妈妈的境况不是很好,她是一位单亲妈妈,又没有土地,只能通过外出做买卖来赚钱养家糊口。

马瑟瑟贝村所在的通科利利区已经有150天未发现埃博拉病例,本次新增病例是一名男子,他从埃博拉高发区弗里敦旅行归来生病。

与世界隔离

受感染男子死于埃博拉后,整个村庄的人(包括卡马拉家的孩子们)都被隔离。使用橙色的塑料隔离护栏将路边的房子封锁,将其与外界隔离。要到21天(埃博拉病毒最长潜伏时间)后,房子里的人们才能重新随意走动。

对整个村庄实施隔离并不容易,因为隔离就是阻断流动性,而村民要维持基本生活,又必须需要照顾农田、汲水、上学、看病以及做买卖。该国政府与世界卫生组织、联合国儿童基金会以及许多非政府组织通力合作,以确保每个人都能获得水、食物、环境卫生和个人卫生设施和用品。对于孩子们来说,玩具、游戏和收音机丰富了他们的日常活动,并使得他们可以收听校园广播节目。

但这样的条件对于那些无人照料的儿童来说还远远不够

“我们在评估隔离区内儿童的生活状况时,发现艾玛和她的两个弟弟自己生活,无人照料。”联合国儿童基金会儿童保护干事艾米.索莉说,“这些儿童无人照料,没人能保证他们在实施正确的环境卫生和个人卫生措施,也没人能保证他们的安全。尤其是这个女孩正处于青春期,要做到这些更加困难。对于他们来说,最好的安置地点是临时观察看护中心(OICC)。同时,我们也会想办法将这里的情况转告给他们的母亲。”

照料与保护

临时观察看护中心由非政府组织儿童基金进行管理,得到了联合国儿童基金会的支持。邻近的马格布卡村的临时观察看护中心为无人照料的高风险、无症状的儿童提供临时照顾与保护。埃博拉病毒的幸存者可以对该病毒免疫。他们在接受培训之后负责照顾这些儿童,为儿童们提供建议与支持,陪孩子们看书、做游戏、玩玩具和看电影,逗他们开心,与此同时,也观察他们是否有携带病毒的症状。如果症状明显,这些孩子将被送至一个治疗中心接受诊断。

这里的工作人员欢迎儿童们的到来并为他们登记。洗澡并更换新衣服之后,孩子们很快适应了新环境。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Sierra Leone/2015/Kassaye
15岁的马里亚玛.卡格博与她4岁的弟弟阿布杜在马格布卡村为无人照料儿童而设立的临时观察看护中心内,准备接受埃博拉病毒观察与诊断,该中心由联合国儿童基金会提供支持。

“我们在这儿一切都很好。”艾玛说, “我的弟弟们也都很好。我们一起做游戏、看电影,很开心。我们今天早上看了《名童》。我们吃饭也吃得很香。我一点都没觉得这里是隔离区,我们在这很快乐。”

同时,看护中心也正在寻找艾玛母亲,告诉她孩子们现在何处。她可能还不知道隔离的事情。

隔离结束后回家

隔离21天结束后,艾玛和弟弟带着一个护理包回到家。护理包中有衣服、床单、床垫、日常用品以及其他一些可以帮助度过过渡期的用品。

他们的母亲已通过他们的舅舅带话回来。舅舅会经常过来照顾他们。

塞拉利昂最新的一名埃博拉患者(同样来自于马瑟瑟贝村)已于8月24号治愈出院。如果没有新的病例出现,该国将于42天之后宣布埃博拉疫情结束。

截至8月26日,塞拉利昂共确诊埃博拉病例8697例,其中3586人确认死亡。

联合国儿童基金会与众多合作伙伴紧密合作,应对埃博拉病毒的爆发并积极协助疫情爆发后的恢复工作。这些合作伙伴包括世界卫生组织、英国国际开发部、美国对外灾难援助办事处、日本政府、爱尔兰援助和联合国儿童基金会国家委员会。联合国儿童基金会呼吁投入1.78亿美元以响应塞拉利昂的埃博拉疫情,截至7月底收到资金1.226亿美元,资金缺口达5520万美元。


 

 

联合国儿童基金会摄影专辑: 根除埃博拉始于家庭

搜索

We’re building a new UNICEF.org.
As we swap out old for new, pages will be in transition. Thanks for your patience – please keep coming back to see the improvements.

At a glance: Sierra Leone

Staying safe in Ebola quarantine without Mum or Dad

By Indrias G. Kassaye

For a village in Sierra Leone, the tight restrictions of Ebola quarantine bring the movements of everyday life to a stop. For children on their own, providing safety and care is especially challenging.

TONKOLILI DISTRICT, Sierra Leone, 27 August 2015 – When 16-year-old Emma Kamara’s mother left home for a long trading trip upcountry, she had no idea that her three children, left in the care of neighbours, would soon be under lockdown.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Sierra Leone/2015/Kassaye
An ambulance takes Emma Kamara and her brothers to the nearby Observation Interim Care Centre, Massesebe Village, Tonkolili District, Sierra Leone. The children have been living on their own, in their home.

“Sometimes she stays away for a month. She doesn’t know we have been placed under quarantine,” says Emma. Her mum travelled on a Tuesday, and on the Friday Massesebe village was put under quarantine after a surprise new case of Ebola in their district of Tonkolili, in Sierra Leone.

Most people in the village, as across much of the country, work as farmers. The villagers often supplement their incomes through work in the mining areas in the northern part of the district. The mining industry – including diamonds, gold, iron and rutile – is the country’s biggest source of export earnings.

Emma’s mum is particularly vulnerable, because as a single-mother without access to land, she depends entirely on the cash she earns on these trading trips.

The latest Ebola case in Tonkolili district, where Massesebe village is located, was the first in 150 days, and it came from migration of a different sort – a sick man travelled back to the village from an Ebola hot spot in Freetown.

Cut off from the world

After the man’s death from Ebola, the whole village, including the Kamara children, was put under quarantine: Orange plastic quarantine barriers cordoned off the roadside homes from the rest of the world, and it would be 21 days, the maximum incubation period of the Ebola virus, until those residing inside their homes would walk out freely again.

Quarantining an entire village is not easy, because it shuts down the mobility that people depend on to meet their basic needs, like tending to farmland, collecting water, going to school, visiting the hospital, and trading. The Government, in partnership with the World Health Organization (WHO), UNICEF and a number of NGOs, rallied to make sure everyone had water, food, hygiene and sanitation facilities and supplies. For the children, toys, games and radios helped provide activity and school radio programmes.

But such conditions are less than ideal for children without a caregiver in the home.

“When we were assessing the situation of children in the quarantined village, we found Emma and her two brothers living alone,” says Amie Tholley, UNICEF Child Protection Officer. “These children are without a caregiver – no one to make sure they are following proper hygiene and sanitation measures, and no one to make sure they are safe, which can be particularly difficult for an adolescent girl. The best place for them is at the Observation Interim Care Centre [OICC]. Meanwhile, we will try to get word to their mother.”

Care and protection

Operated by the NGO Child Fund, with support from UNICEF, the OICC in neighbouring Magburka provides temporary care and protection for high-risk, asymptomatic children without a caregiver. Trained Ebola survivors, who are now resistant to the virus, care for the children, providing counselling and support, keeping them entertained with books, games, toys and films while monitoring for any signs of the virus. If symptoms become manifest, the children will be referred to a treatment centre for diagnosis.

The staff welcome and register the children, and after bathing and changing into new clothes, it isn’t long before they are comfortable in their new surroundings.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Sierra Leone/2015/Kassaye
Emma Kamara and one of her brothers are shown here at the UNICEF-supported Magbruka Observation Interim Care Centre for children without caregivers, where they will be under observation for Ebola.

“We are all fine here,” says Emma. “My brothers are okay. We are enjoying playing games and watching films. We watched ‘Famous Kids’ this morning. We are also eating lots of food. I don’t miss the quarantine at all – we are happy to be here.”

Meanwhile, the search is on for Emma’s mother to inform her where her children are. She might not have even heard about the quarantine.

Transition home

When the 21-days end, Emma and her brothers return home with a care package, including clothes, sheets, mattresses, household items and other supplies to ease the transition from quarantine.

Their mother had sent word through their uncle, who will visit them regularly to make sure they are doing well.

The last Ebola patient in Sierra Leone, also from the village of Massesebe, was discharged on 24 August, and without further cases, the country will be declared free from Ebola transmission 42 days later.

As of 26 August, there have been 8,697 confirmed cases of Ebola, with 3,586 confirmed deaths from the virus in Sierra Leone.

UNICEF works in partnership with a large number of partners, including WHO, the UK Department for International Development, the Office of US Foreign Disaster Assistance,  the Government of Japan, Irish AID, and National Committees for UNICEF, to respond to the Ebola outbreak, including the recovery phase. UNICEF’s current US$178 million appeal to respond to the Ebola crisis in Sierra Leone through end of July remains underfunded, with $122.6 million received to date, leaving a funding gap of $55.2 million.


 

 

UNICEF Photography: The end of Ebola begins at home

New enhanced search