UNICEF.org新网站正在建设中。
网页内容还在更新中。感谢您的耐心,敬请稍后查看。

塞拉利昂

在塞拉利昂,支持埃博拉幸存者回归正常的生活

哈丽特.梅森报道

联合国儿童基金会正与合作伙伴组织通力合作,为受到埃博拉病毒影响的儿童提供心理支持,帮助他们实现一个更美好的未来。这些儿童有的是埃博拉的幸存者,有的正在经受失去家人或看护人员的痛苦。

塞拉利昂弗里敦,2015年5月26日 — 当像哈瓦*这样的儿童幸存者出现在用塑料布围起来的埃博拉治疗中心的时候,他们得到了救助、拥有了微笑,而且这里经常充斥着欢快的舞蹈和动听的歌声。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Sierra Leone/2015/Mason
社会工作者克里斯娜.约翰在小组辅导会议上,正在给受到埃博拉病毒影响的儿童们进行心理辅导。

人们有的时候可能会忘记即使医生和护士出具了健康证明书,埃博拉幸存者仍然需要支持。他们之中很多人失去了父母和看护人,在身体痊愈(病毒离开)后还需要很长时间来应对后续的健康问题并让曾经的创伤愈合。

“大约两个月前之前,我从一个埃博拉治疗中心出院,我没有感到一丝一毫的高兴,因为埃博拉让我失去了母亲和其他五位亲人。”哈瓦说。

哈瓦并不是她所在社区里唯一承受着这样痛苦的人。在住着80个家庭的大院子里,其他24位儿童也有着类似的处境,他们或是埃博拉的幸存者,或是被疾病夺去了父母或看护人而沦为孤儿。

仅仅在这个大院内,埃博拉病毒已经夺走了34个人的生命。许多居民表示,失去亲人的创伤以及与疾病相关的精神阴影确实令人难以忍受。

携手支持儿童

克里斯娜.约翰是一位来自联合国儿童基金会的合作伙伴组织保护儿童国际的社区工作者,她和邻居们每周都会为像哈瓦这样的孩子提供一些支持和帮助。“当我刚开始来这里的时候,儿童们的情况都很糟。”她说:“有一些幸存者遭受到了严重的打击,产生了其他健康问题,有一些孤儿郁郁寡欢,孤独感让他们远离同龄人甚至是年长的家庭成员。”

“为儿童们提供社会心理支持迫在眉睫,他们需要获得这样的社会服务和心理支持,”前联合国儿童基金会驻塞拉利昂代表罗兰德.蒙纳敕说:“我们因此扩大了该计划的规模,与合作伙伴一起向受埃博拉疫情影响的一万多名儿童及其家庭提供社会心理支持。”

在英国国际发展部的资金支持下,联合国儿童基金会正在与塞拉利昂14区的14位合作伙伴一起为受到影响的儿童提供心理支持服务。

继续前进

在大多数情况下,经受过埃博拉影响的儿童在分享他们故事的时候会显得缺乏勇气。克里斯娜.约翰运用多年的社区工作经验,帮助儿童们感觉更舒服。

“我和他们交朋友、一起做游戏、组织艺术活动以及举行分组和个别辅导,帮助他们释放压力。”她说。

在做所有这一切的时候,她都没有忘记去提醒孩子们如何远离埃博拉。

“我告诉他们预防埃博拉病毒的关键措施,包括用肥皂和清水洗手。

通过克里斯娜.约翰这样的社区工作者,为儿童提供的一系列心理服务正在帮助他们重新开始生活。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Sierra Leone/2015/Mason
10岁的哈瓦说:“感谢上帝让我战胜了这可怕的疾病。”

“我们让提供的支持尽量多样化,帮助这些儿童们重新开始生活。”她说:“幸福的笑脸已经取代了几个月之前忧郁的面孔。现在他们出现在同伴面前时会很自在,交流也变得更多,对美好未来的向往正在取代对埃博拉病毒的担心。”

实现梦想

此次埃博拉疫情是有史以来最严重的一次,对塞拉利昂儿童的生活造成了巨大影响,塞拉利昂是西非受灾最严重的国家之一。

“保护儿童国际为我们做了很多。”哈瓦说:“克里斯阿姨每周都会来到这里,与我们一起做游戏并鼓励我们不要哭泣。我原以为自己无法停止为母亲和亲人们哭泣。”

她说与开始参加支持会议之前相比,感觉自己现在更快乐了。

“感谢上帝让我战胜了这可怕的疾病。“哈瓦说:“我每天都会祈祷让埃博拉尽快消失,我相信上帝听得到我的祷告。我希望还能像疾病来临之前那样,到四处随意走动,做爱做的事情。”她说。

在她这个年龄,哈瓦已经开始思考如何能让家人过更好的生活。

“我想成为一名银行经理,可以挣钱来照顾我的家人,为他们建一所大房子,也照顾好我自己。”她笑着说:“我很高兴能回到学校学习并完成学业,因为我需要教育来实现梦想。”
 
*化名


 

 

联合国儿童基金会摄影专辑: 消除埃博拉始于家庭

搜索

In Sierra Leone, supporting Ebola survivors on the road to recovery | At a glance: Sierra Leone | UNICEF

We’re building a new UNICEF.org.
As we swap out old for new, pages will be in transition. Thanks for your patience – please keep coming back to see the improvements.

At a glance: Sierra Leone

In Sierra Leone, supporting Ebola survivors on the road to recovery

By Harriet Mason

For children affected by the Ebola virus, either as survivors or after losing family members or caregivers, UNICEF is working with partner organizations to provide psychosocial support and to help them realize a brighter future.

FREETOWN, Sierra Leone, 26 May 2015 – When child survivors like 10-year-old Hawa* emerge from the plastic-walled Ebola treatment centres, there are relief, smiles and often a joyous mix of dancing and singing.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Sierra Leone/2015/Mason
Social worker Chrisnel John in a group counselling session with children whose lives have been affected by the Ebola virus.

But people sometimes forget that even after the doctors and nurses have issued a clean bill of health, Ebola survivors still need support, with many having lost parents and caregivers, dealing with residual health issues and managing the trauma that will persist long after the virus has left.

“When I was discharged from an Ebola treatment centre about two months ago, I was feeling very unhappy, because I had lost my mother and five other relatives to Ebola,” says Hawa.

Hawa is not the only one in her community in distress. Twenty-four other children in the same compound of 80 households are either Ebola survivors or have been orphaned after losing parents or caregivers to the disease.

Just in this compound, the Ebola virus has taken the lives of 34 people. Many residents say the trauma of losing loved ones and the stigma associated with the disease are difficult to bear.

Partnerships in support of children

Chrisnel John is a social worker for UNICEF partner Defence for Children International (DCI), and she provides weekly support to Hawa and her neighbours. “When I started coming here, the situation of the children was very difficult,” she says. “There were some survivors who were traumatized, had other health issues, and some orphans who were really depressed, felt solitary and withdrew from their peers and even elder family members.”

“Psychosocial support is critical for children in emergencies, and there’s need for them to readily access these social and emotional services,” says Roeland Monasch, former UNICEF Representative to Sierra Leone. “We have therefore scaled up programming to support the psychosocial needs of children who have been affected by the Ebola outbreak and have provided support for over 10,000 children and their families through partners.”

With funding from the UK Department for International Development (DFID), UNICEF is working with 14 partners across Sierra Leone’s 14 districts to provide psychological support services to affected children.

Moving on

In most cases, children affected by Ebola are timid when it comes to sharing their stories. But Chrisnel uses her years of experience as a social worker to help children feel comfortable.

“I made friends with the children, played games, organized arts activities and held group and individual counselling sessions to help them let out their stress,” she says. 

In all of this, she didn’t forget to remind them of how to stay safe from Ebola.

“I tell them the key Ebola preventive measures including frequent washing of hands with soap and clean water.”

According to Chrisnel, the range of psychosocial services provided for the children is helping them to start moving on with their lives.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Sierra Leone/2015/Mason
“I am thankful to God that I survived this terrible disease,” says Hawa, 10.

“The diverse support we provide has helped revive the lives of these children,” she says. “Happy faces have replaced the gloomy ones they had few months ago. Now they feel comfortable around their peers, interact more and are gradually replacing the worries of Ebola with hope for a better future.”

Achieving dreams

The current Ebola outbreak is the worst the world has seen and has had tremendous effects on the lives of children in Sierra Leone, one of the hardest-hit countries in West Africa.

“DCI is doing well for us,” says Hawa, “Aunty Chris has been coming to us every week, she plays with us and encourages us to avoid crying. I thought I was never going to stop crying for my mother and relatives."

She says she feels happier than before she started coming to the support sessions.

“I am thankful to God that I survived this terrible disease,” says Hawa. “I pray every day for Ebola to finish, and I know God will answer my prayers. I want to start moving freely and doing what I used to do before the disease came,” she says.

At her age, Hawa has started thinking of how she could make life better for her family.

“I want to be a bank manager so I can earn money to take care of my family, build them a big house and take care of myself,” she says with a smile. “I am excited to go back to school to learn and finish my schooling, because I need to be educated to achieve my dreams.”

 

*Name changed


 

 

UNICEF Photography: The end of Ebola begins at home

New enhanced search