UNICEF.org新网站正在建设中。
网页内容还在更新中。感谢您的耐心,敬请稍后查看。

塞尔维亚共和国

在塞尔维亚寻求安全的漫漫长路

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/UNI196291/Georgiev
难民和移民家庭沿着铁轨前行,以穿过前南斯拉夫马其顿共和国到达塞尔维亚。数千名无人陪伴的儿童也穿越地中海地区到欧洲寻求安全保护。

     

联合国儿童基金会塞尔维亚办事处报道

巴希尔是自2015年起穿越地中海到欧洲寻求安全保护的数万名无人陪伴的儿童之一。如今,他住在塞尔维亚的寄养家庭“彼得罗维奇”,同时等待着跟家人的团聚。

塞尔维亚,2016年6月13日—在塞尔维亚的一个小镇里,一位戴着棒球帽的少年男孩在佩塔尔和佩塔尔.彼得罗维奇*家的前院里缓缓踱步。他戴着耳机,一边听着说唱音乐一边轻声哼唱。

巴希尔*是彼得罗维奇家庭的最新成员,一名寄养在这个家庭里的16岁男孩。在几个月前从阿富汗逃出来后,他艰难地越过了巴基斯坦、土耳其、希腊和前南斯拉夫马其顿共和国,最后终于到达塞尔维亚。

独自一人穿越欧洲

在到达塞尔维亚边界时,官员注意到了他是独自一人。巴希尔向警察解释说他的父母已经向西欧申请了政治避难,因此他被官方认定为无人陪伴的儿童。塞尔维亚社会服务人员将巴希尔安置到了寄养家庭中,在那里他正在等着和他的家人团聚。

“我花了四个月才到达塞尔维亚。佩塔尔是一个非常好的妇女。当我到他们家时,我的体重只有64公斤,而现在已经涨到了72公斤,”巴希尔笑着说,同时说明着他在这个寄养家庭里所受到的待遇。

彼得罗维奇家庭为巴希尔提供了太多他所需要的照顾和关怀。他是很少的幸运儿之一,因为大多数无人陪伴的儿童在欧洲都缺少支持网络,他们中的许多人都遭受到了不同形式的心理创伤,有些人还受到了冲突、暴力和虐待的影响。很多男孩或女孩在他们自己国家就和父母失去了联系,或者是在去欧洲的途中与家人走散。

巴希尔是自2015年起穿越地中海到欧洲寻求安全保护的数万名无人陪伴的儿童之一。在那段时间,超过一百万人——大多数来自叙利亚、阿富汗和伊拉克——冒着生命危险飘洋过海,以逃离冲突和经济困境。这无疑已经成为二战以后欧洲所面临的最大难民危机。在2015年6月,到达的难民中有10%是儿童。而截至2016年6月开始前,到达欧洲的人中35%都是儿童。

为无人陪伴的儿童提供一个安全的家庭环境

安全的家庭环境对每个儿童的健康成长来说都是至关重要的,不论他们地位如何。除了巴希尔外,彼得罗维奇家庭还寄养了另外三个幼儿园年龄段的儿童。在过去的十年间,他们共接收照顾了15名儿童,包括六名难民和移民儿童。抚养工作为佩塔尔带来了极大的愉悦,但就像她所说的,这也是一项巨大的责任。

“我发现它很美妙。我不知道该如何向你描述这件事情。也许你必须要在他们身上倾注比自己孩子更多的关怀,因为对他们的责任更大,”佩塔尔说到。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/UNI196290/Georgiev
一名儿童拖着一个装满了他的东西的大布袋在铁轨上行走,以穿越前南斯拉夫马其顿共和国到达塞尔维亚。

“曾经有大概四个月的时间我们没有收留任何儿童。房子都感觉很空荡。但是当我们期待着儿童的到来的时候,我们会感到非常的开心。只要我们还有能力,并且身体健康,就会继续下去,我希望能一直照顾寄养的儿童,”佩塔尔.彼得罗维奇说,三名上幼儿园的儿童刚刚放学回来,正围着他跑。

“让他们理解家庭的意义是非常重要的。看到在家庭里成长起来是什么样子,每一天如何度过,当他们早上起床时,当他们吃午饭、晚饭、一起看电视的时候,当他们玩耍的时候和他们在一起,”佩塔尔说。

巴希尔在彼得罗维奇家里已经学到了一些塞尔维亚语。他想要跟佩塔尔学习如何管理一家人的所有技巧,因为他不知道自己还能在塞尔维亚待多久。巴希尔说即使他跟自己的亲人团聚了,他也不会忘记彼得罗维奇一家。

联合国儿童基金会与塞尔维亚劳动、就业、退伍军人和社会事务部门持续合作,以进一步加强这个国家的家庭寄养工作。经过了数十年的改革后,政府在为那些无法与亲人生活在一起的儿童提供替代照顾方面已经取得了长足的进步,包括由训练有素的社会工作者尽快为儿童安排寄养家庭。

这已经证明是应对难民和移民危机的有效途径——对于生活在塞尔维亚的无人陪伴的难民和移民儿童,社会公益服务将他们安排到寄养家庭中以提供保护和安置。这对于像巴希尔这样的儿童来说,远比将他们安置在机构中或拘役他们的效果好得多。

为无人陪伴的儿童谋求最大利益

并没有确切的数字表明自2015年以来有多少无人陪伴和失散的难民儿童穿越到欧洲。最新的有效数据显示在2015年将近96,500名无人陪伴的儿童向欧洲申请了避难——大约占到了寻求避难的儿童总数的20%。

在整个危机期间,联合国儿童基金会始终倡议对无人陪伴的儿童采取拘役以外的措施,倡议为他们提供各种服务,并帮助他们与家人在欧洲团聚。联合国儿童基金会也倡议为儿童提供有效的避难流程,并且在涉及到儿童相关决议时通过系统的行动为他们谋求最大利益。通过其各国办事处和国家委员会的网络,联合国儿童基金会组织动员合作伙伴并提倡政府向难民和移民儿童开放儿童福利体系,给予他们与本国儿童同样的获得家庭关怀的机会。

在塞尔维亚,在捐赠者、合作伙伴和塞尔维亚共和国政府的支持下,联合国儿童基金会对难民和移民儿童的响应已经开始发挥作用。

*为保护当事人身份,文中人名系化名。


 

 

联合国儿童基金会摄影专辑: 步步惊心

 

搜索

We’re building a new UNICEF.org.
As we swap out old for new, pages will be in transition. Thanks for your patience – please keep coming back to see the improvements.

Serbia

The long road to safety in Serbia

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/UNI196291/Georgiev
Refugee and migrant families walk along the railway tracks to cross from the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia into Serbia. Thousands of unaccompanied children have also crossed the Mediterranean to seek safety and protection in Europe.

     

By UNICEF Serbia

Bahir is one of tens of thousands of unaccompanied children who have crossed the Mediterranean Sea since the beginning of 2015 to seek safety and protection in Europe. Today, he's living with the Petrovics, a foster family in Serbia, while he waits to be reunited with his family.

Serbia, 13 June 2016 – In a small town in Serbia, a teenage boy with a baseball cap paces the front yard of Petar and Petra Petrovic’s* family home. He is wearing headphones and quietly singing while listening to rap music. 

The newest member of the Petrovic household is Bahir,* a 16-year-old boy who has been placed in foster care with the family. After fleeing Afghanistan several months ago, he made the arduous journey through Pakistan, Turkey, Greece and the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia before finally reaching Serbia. 

Travelling alone through Europe

Upon arriving at the Serbian border, officials noticed he was travelling alone. Bahir explained to the police that his parents had already applied for asylum in Western Europe so he was officially identified as an unaccompanied child. Serbian social services placed Bahir in foster care where he now waits to be reunited with his family. 

“My journey to Serbia took four months. Petra is a very kind woman. When I came to their home, I weighed 64 kilograms and now I weigh 72 kilograms,” says Bahir smiling, while explaining how he has been accepted into his new foster family.

The Petrovic family have provided much needed care and support to Bahir. He is one of the lucky few, as most unaccompanied children lack support networks in Europe, and many have experienced some form of psychological trauma, some having been exposed to conflict, violence and abuse. Many boys and girls have lost contact with their parents in their home countries or have become separated from their families on the journey to Europe. 

Bahir is one of tens of thousands of unaccompanied children who have crossed the Mediterranean Sea since the beginning of 2015 to seek safety and protection in Europe. Over that period, more than 1 million people – the majority from Syria, Afghanistan and Iraq – have undertaken perilous sea crossings, fleeing conflict and economic hardship. This has undoubtedly been one of the largest refugee crises Europe has faced since the end of World War II. In June 2015, 1 out of 10 arrivals was a child. By the beginning of June 2016, 35 per cent of those arriving in Europe were children.

A safe family environment for unaccompanied children

A safe family environment is crucial for the development and well-being of every child, regardless of their status. In addition to Bahir, three more preschool-aged children have been placed into foster care with the Petrovic family. Over the last ten years, 15 children have been placed in their care, including six refugee and migrant children. Fostering brings tremendous joy to Petra, but as she says, it is also a big responsibility.

“I find this wonderful. I can't find the right words to describe this to you. Maybe you have to take even more care of them than of your own children, because the responsibility is bigger,” Petra says.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/UNI196290/Georgiev
A boy carries his belongings in a large cloth bag as he walks on railway tracks to cross from the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia into Serbia.

“There was a period of about four months when we didn’t have any children staying with us. Our house was empty. But when we were already expecting the children to come, we felt such joy. And as long as we are able to do it, and we are healthy, I would love it if we could always have foster children,” says Petar Petrovic, as three boys who have just returned from kindergarten run around him.

“It is important for them to understand what a family is. To see what it’s like to grow up in a family, how the days are spent, the mornings, when we get up, when we have lunch, dinner, watch TV together, being together with them when they are playing,” says Petar.

Bahir has already picked up some Serbian in the Petrovic’s home. He wants to learn all about managing a household from Petar, because he doesn't know how long he will remain in Serbia. Bahir says that even when he is reunited with his birth family, he will not forget the Petrovic family. 

UNICEF continues to work with the Ministry of Labour, Employment, Veteran and Social Affairs in Serbia to further strengthen foster care in the country. After decades of reforms, the Government has made significant progress in providing alternative care for children who are not living with their birth families, including the urgent placement of children with caring foster families by trained social workers. 

This has proven to be a successful approach during the response to the refugee and migrant crisis – social services have been providing protection and placement in foster families for unaccompanied refugee and migrant children who are staying in Serbia. This is much better for children like Bahir than being placed in an institution or in detention. 

Advocating for the best interests of unaccompanied children

It is not known exactly how many unaccompanied and separated refugee children have crossed into Europe since the beginning of 2015. The latest available figures show that nearly 96,500 unaccompanied children applied for asylum in Europe in 2015 – around 20 per cent of the total number of children who sought asylum.

Throughout the crisis, UNICEF has been continuously advocating for alternatives to the detention of unaccompanied children, for access to services at all times, and for family reunification for children in Europe. UNICEF has also advocated for effective asylum procedures for children, as well as systematically acting in their best interests when making decisions related to children. Through its network of Country Offices and National Committees, UNICEF has been mobilizing partners and advocating with governments to open national child welfare systems to refugee and migrant children and give them the same opportunities for family-based care as children from those countries. 

In Serbia, UNICEF’s response to the refugee and migrant crisis has been made possible by its donors, its partners, and the Government of the Republic of Serbia.

*Names have been changed to protect identities.


 

 

UNICEF Photography: Danger every step of the way

 

New enhanced search