UNICEF.org新网站正在建设中。
网页内容还在更新中。感谢您的耐心,敬请稍后查看。

巴基斯坦

外国儿童的援助之手帮助巴基斯坦对抗营养不良问题

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Pakistan2016/Malik
10个月大的尤纳斯手拿着一小袋即食性治疗食品(RUTF)。不久之前,他母亲将他带到基础卫生单位时,他被诊断为严重急性营养不良。在得到卫生单位的支持和门诊治疗计划后,现在他的健康状况已明显好转。

阿卜杜勒.萨米.马利克报道

将近一半的巴基斯坦儿童患有慢性营养不良(发育迟缓),而有11%是急性营养不良(身体消瘦)。这一情况导致了不满5岁儿童的高死亡率和发病率,影响他们的身心发展,并对国家的繁荣发展造成显著的经济影响。

在旁遮普省,尽管发育迟缓问题有所下降,但身体消瘦的情况却在超过三分之二的地区以一种令人担忧的速度上升。这是严重的威胁,而发育迟缓也可能在未来开始上升。联合国儿童基金会正帮助巴基斯坦克服这一持续性难题,通过对营养不良的儿童和妇女进行身份认定,尤其是那些生活在难以覆盖到的边缘化社区中的人们,通过系统干预提升他们的营养水平。

南旁遮普穆扎法格,2016年7月7日—几周前哈西娜.菲亚兹怀抱着她10个月大的儿子尤纳斯走进马穆德.科特的保健中心。人们可以清楚地看到不单单是孩子虚弱且体重不足,这位母亲同样如此。

“我的儿子非常虚弱,他不停地哭,而且总是无精打采。”哈西娜向妇女医护人员(LHW)苏梅拉.亚斯明介绍她的孩子的状况,“我给他喂食母乳和牛奶,但是他仍然腹泻不止,日渐消瘦。”

在苏梅拉测量了尤纳斯的上臂围(MUAC)和他的体重与身高之后,结果很明显,他患上了严重急性营养不良症状(SAM)。她在门诊治疗计划(OTP)中为尤纳斯进行了登记,OTP是急性营养不良社区管理计划(CMAM)的一部分。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Pakistan/2016/Zaidi
一名医护人员在联合国儿童基金会支持的营养中心测量尤纳斯的上臂围(MUAC)。通过上臂围、体重和身高的测量值反映出尤纳斯患有严重急性营养不良(SAM)症状。

苏梅拉将小包装的即食性治疗食物(RUTF)交给哈西娜,并嘱咐她要每天喂尤纳斯服用。她还建议她参加在BHU和社区举行的健康、卫生和营养课程,这些课程可以帮助妇女了解母乳的重要性,制作卫生良好且营养健康的食谱。哈西娜带着两周的RUTF剂量离开了,并且如果需要的话她还可以再来拿。   

几周以后,在给尤纳斯做复查的时候,苏梅拉开心地发现他的上臂围值已经从10.5厘米提高到了11.5厘米,体重也从5.7公斤提高到了6.6公斤。总体来看,他的营养状况已经从SAM转为中等急性营养不良(MAM)。

打破营养不良的恶性循环

“每个月都有20到25名儿童登记到OTP中。”苏梅拉说,“这里只是一家很小的BHU,但是,每周都有新增病例并不是一个好的迹象。我们通过为他们提供复合维生素、矿物质补充以及有关摄取合适足量的家庭食物的营养建议等各种方式帮助母亲和孩子们。如果一名儿童患有严重急性营养不良,我们会为他提供即食性治疗食物(RFTU),这是国际通用的对此类儿童的治疗方式。”

营养不良是妇女和儿童面临的主要问题,尤其是在巴基斯坦的农村地区。它与婴幼儿的喂养和卫生习惯有着直接关联。如果孕妇患有营养不良,那么婴儿很可能一出生就体重不足,这也会导致婴儿容易受到感染、营养不良、甚至死亡的威胁。在最初的六个月里,纯母乳喂养对于防止新生儿出现营养不良至关重要。如果可能的话,母乳喂养应该持续到婴儿两周岁。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Pakistan/2016/Zaidi
萨加达.毕比,一名女性医护人员(LHW)在巴基斯坦穆扎法格地区的一个健康之家里为妇女和儿童讲授有关卫生、营养和母乳喂养的知识。这些课程是由联合国儿童基金会和政府联合发起的旨在降低旁遮普省营养不良比率而开展的活动的一部分。

巴基斯坦是南亚母乳喂养指导最少的国家,而旁遮普省则是巴基斯坦母乳喂养指导最少的地区。在旁遮普36个地区中的18个地区中,每月有超过4,000名严重急性营养不良的儿童登记到OTP中。不安全食品、孕妇营养不良、疾病和病痛、医疗服务不足、缺乏喂养意识以及健康习惯是造成儿童营养不良的主要原因。

为扭转这一趋势,旁遮普政府卫生部门已经启动了一项生殖母婴儿童健康与营养综合(IRMNCH&N)活动。联合国儿童基金会为这一计划中的营养部分提供支持,包括对儿童、孕妇以及哺乳期妇女的营养状况进行筛查,提供微量元素补充,开设有关健康、卫生和营养的培训课程,为母乳喂养提供咨询,并为急性营养不良症状提供治疗。

“如果母亲采取母乳喂养,那么她自身的营养状况会对婴儿的营养状况产生直接的影响。”阿比达.纳斯琳,IRMNCH&N的地区助理协调员说道,“母乳是儿童最好的食物。但是,有的母亲会喂养儿童奶粉。通常都是通过奶瓶喂养。如果奶瓶和奶嘴没有经过合适的消毒的话,则有可能造成儿童感染腹泻,这会对儿童的健康造成很大危害,尤其是已经患有营养不良的儿童。因此对于母亲而言,掌握合理的母乳喂养技巧非常重要,并且采取相应的卫生措施,以防止儿童患病。我们在健康、卫生和营养课程及婴幼儿哺乳咨询(IYCF)课程上都会讲授这些内容。”

在营养计划的整体效果和OTP的特定实施中,足量且定期提供RUTF和微量元素是必不可少的。联合国儿童基金会为巴基斯坦政府提供主要的RUTF。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Pakistan2016/Malik
在完成首次咨询七周后,尤纳斯和他的母亲再次来到基础卫生单位,他的MUAC测量值、体重和身高都有所提高。

来自外国儿童的援助之手

“英国儿童之力”是英国的一个非盈利组织,它鼓励儿童更多地参与相关活动,以提高他们对世界其他地区儿童的营养不良问题的关注。对儿童所完成的每个活动,他们可以获得分数来为国外营养不良的儿童提供RUTF。“英国儿童之力”已经向联合国儿童基金会驻巴基斯坦办公室捐赠了30,000欧元,用于购买RUTF并分发给南旁遮普患有营养不良的儿童。  

通过“英国儿童之力”的捐赠所购买的RUTF被用于穆扎法格地区的五个联合委员会(行政区域),这些地区的儿童营养状况尤为不容乐观。在这些联合委员会中,近700名儿童被诊断为SAM病例。这些儿童已经登记到了OTP中,目前正在接受RUTF治疗以提高他们的营养状况。尤纳斯是在经过治疗后营养状况明显好转的儿童之一。

“现在尤纳斯的营养水平已经有所提高,达到了中等营养不良程度,我们接下来会停止RUTF治疗而转为微量元素供应和基于家庭食物的治疗。”苏梅拉说,“他的母亲已经参加了健康、卫生和营养课程,了解到了真正的营养是来自日常的饮食,包括例如鸡蛋、肉类、水果和蔬菜等必须食品等。”    

在营养计划收到良好效果之后,旁遮普政府已经将规模扩大到了22个地区——超过全省的一半。考虑到这一地区的低比例母乳喂养和营养不良问题的严重性,这一扩展显得尤为重要。“在旁遮普省,超过36,000名LHW接受了基础营养和婴幼儿哺乳咨询服务,他们正在各自社区发挥着重要作用。”联合国儿童基金会旁遮普营养官员乌兹马.胡拉姆(Uzma Khurram)说道,“我们同旁遮普政府卫生部门一道,希望通过所有的努力,旁遮普的五岁以下(儿童)和他们的母亲的营养状况局面能够在未来几年得到改善。”


 

 

联合国儿童基金会摄影专辑: 一周图片精选

搜索

We’re building a new UNICEF.org.
As we swap out old for new, pages will be in transition. Thanks for your patience – please keep coming back to see the improvements.

Pakistan

Fighting malnutrition in Pakistan with a helping hand from children abroad

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Pakistan2016/Malik
10-month-old Younas holds a Ready-to-Use Therapeutic Food (RUTF) sachet. A short time ago, his mother brought him to the Basic Health Unit where he was diagnosed with Severe Acute Malnutrition. Now he is healthier thanks to support from the health unit and an Outpatient Therapeutic Programme.

By A. Sami Malik

Nearly half of all children in Pakistan are chronically malnourished (stunted) while 11 per cent are acutely malnourished (wasted). This situation contributes to high mortality and morbidity rates among children under 5 years of age, undermining their mental and physical growth and leading to significant economic impact on the country’s development and prosperity. 

In the province of Punjab, while stunting is declining, wasting is increasing in more than two-thirds of the districts at an alarming rate. This is a serious threat, and stunting could begin to increase in future. UNICEF is helping Pakistan to overcome this persistent problem by identifying malnourished children and women, especially in hard-to-reach, marginalized communities, and raising their nutrition levels through systematic interventions.

MUZAFFARGARH, Southern Punjab, 7 July 2016 – It was only seven weeks ago that Haseena Fiyyaz walked into the Mehmood Kot Basic Health Unit (BHU) with her 10-month-old boy, Younas, in her arms. One could easily see that not only was the child frail and underweight, but so was the mother.

“My boy has become weak, cries a lot and is lazy all the time”, said Haseena, explaining her child’s condition to the Lady Health Worker (LHW), Sumaira Yasmeen. “I breastfeed him and also give him buffalo milk, but he keeps getting diarrhoea and is losing weight day by day.”

Once Sumaira had performed the Mid Upper Arm Circumference (MUAC) check on Younas and measured his weight and length, it became evident that he was suffering from Severe Acute Malnutrition (SAM). She registered Younas in the Outpatient Therapeutic Programme (OTP), which is part of the Community Management of Acute Malnutrition (CMAM) programme.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Pakistan/2016/Zaidi
A health worker measures Younas's mid-upper arm circumference (MUAC) at UNICEF-supported nutrition centre. Measurements from his MUAC, weight and length showed that Younas was suffering from Severe Acute Malnutrition (SAM).

Sumaira handed Ready-to-Use Therapeutic Food (RUTF) sachets to Haseena and explained that Younas should be given them every day. She also advised her to attend the health, hygiene and nutrition sessions that are conducted in both the BHU and the community to help women understand the significance of breastfeeding, maintaining good hygiene and a nutritious diet. Haseena left with a two week supply of RUTF, knowing she could collect more as she needed.    

Seven weeks later, after doing a follow-up check on Younas, Sumaira was delighted to see that his MUAC measurement has improved from 10.5 to 11.5 centimetres, and his weight has increased from 5.7 to 6.6 kg. Overall, his nutritional status had improved from SAM to Moderately Acute Malnutrition (MAM).

Breaking the cycle of malnutrition

“Every month, 20 to 25 new children are registered in the OTP”, said Sumaira. “This is a small BHU and that many new cases of malnutrition every week is not a good sign. We are however trying to help mothers and children by giving them multi-vitamins and minerals supplementation and nutrition advice for taking appropriate and adequate home based food. If a child is severely acute malnourished, we give him Ready to Use Therapeutic Food (RUTF), which is internationally used as treatment for such children.”

Malnutrition is a major issue for women and children, especially in rural areas of Pakistan. It has a direct correlation with infant and young child feeding and hygiene practices. If a pregnant woman is malnourished, the child is likely to be born underweight, making her or him susceptible to infections, malnourishment, and eventual death. Exclusive breastfeeding for the first six months is vital to preventing malnutrition in newborns. If possible, it should continue until the child is two years of age. 


UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Pakistan/2016/Zaidi
Sajdda Bibi, a Lady Health Worker (LHW) conducts a hygiene, nutrition and breastfeeding awareness session for a group of women and children in a health house in Muzaffargarh district, Pakistan. These sessions are part of a larger effort by UNICEF and the Government to improve rates of malnutrition in the Punjab province.

Pakistan has the worst breastfeeding indicators in South Asia, and Punjab has the worst breastfeeding indicators in Pakistan. In 18 of the 36 districts of Punjab, over 4,000 severely acute malnourished children are registered in the OTP every month. Food insecurity, maternal undernutrition, disease and illness, inadequate health services and lack of awareness about feeding and healthcare practices are the main reasons for malnutrition in children. 

To help reverse these trends, the Government of Punjab’s Department of Health has launched an Integrated Reproductive Maternal Neonatal Child Health and Nutrition (IRMNCH&N) Programme. UNICEF is supporting the nutrition component of the programme, which includes screening children and pregnant and breastfeeding mothers to check their nutritional status; providing micronutrient supplements; conducting awareness sessions on health, hygiene and nutrition; counselling mothers about breastfeeding practices; and treating acute malnutrition. 

“If a mother is breastfeeding, her own nutritional status has a direct bearing on that of the child”, said Abida Nasreen, Assistant District Coordinator of the IRMNCH&N. “Mother’s milk is the best food for a child. However, some mothers start giving additional diet in the form of powder milk. This is given to the child through a bottle. A bottle and the nipple which is not properly disinfected could cause diarrhoea which can be very harmful, especially for a child who is already undernourished. It is therefore important that mothers are taught proper breastfeeding techniques and are sensitized about hygiene measures that can prevent their children from falling ill. We do this during the health, hygiene and nutrition sessions and during the Infant Young Child Feeding Counselling (IYCF) sessions.”

For the overall effectiveness of the nutrition programme and in particular the OTP, adequate and regular supply of RUTF and micronutrients is essential. UNICEF procures a major part of the RUTF for the Government of Pakistan.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Pakistan2016/Malik
When Younas and his mother returned to the Basic Health Unit seven weeks after his original consultation, his MUAC measurement had improved and his weight had increased.

A helping hand from children abroad

Kidpower UK is a non-profit organization in the United Kingdom that encourages increased activity in children while sensitizing them to problems of malnutrition in other parts of the world. For every activity that children complete, they receive points which can be used to procure RUTF for malnourished children abroad. Kidpower UK has donated £30,000 to the UNICEF Pakistan Country Office for purchasing RUTF to be distributed to children suffering from malnutrition in South Punjab.   

The RUTF that was procured through the Kidpower UK donation is being used in five Union Councils (administrative area) of the Muzaffargarh district, where the nutritional status of children is particularly low. Nearly 700 children in these Union Councils were identified as SAM cases. These children have been registered in the OTP and are receiving adequate supplies of RUTF to improve their nutritional statuses. Younas is one of the children who has shown considerable improvement within a short period of treatment. 

“Now that Younas’s nutritional level has improved and he is moderately malnourished, we will stop giving RUTF and shift him to micronutrient supplementation along with appropriate home based food”, said Sumaira. “His mother has been attending health, hygiene and nutrition sessions and has learnt that real nutrition comes from daily diet which must include essential food groups e.g. eggs, meat, fruits and vegetables.”     

After the encouraging results of Nutrition Programme, the Government of Punjab has scaled up the programme in 22 districts – more than half of the province. This expansion is particularly important considering the intensity of the low breastfeeding rates and issue of malnutrition in the area. “In Punjab province, more than 36,000 LHWs are trained on basic nutrition and infant and young child feeding counselling services and they are performing valuable services within their own communities”, said Uzma Khurram, Nutrition Officer at UNICEF Punjab. “We together with Department of Health Government of Punjab are hopeful that with all these efforts, the current scenario of malnutrition among under-five [children] and for mothers in Punjab will improve over the next few years.”


 

 

UNICEF Photography: Photo of the week

New enhanced search