UNICEF.org新网站正在建设中。
网页内容还在更新中。感谢您的耐心,敬请稍后查看。

巴基斯坦

合作伙伴关系促进巴基斯坦农村繁荣并保护当地儿童

阿卜杜勒.萨米.马利克报道

联合国儿童基金会与宜家基金会携手增强巴基斯坦农业地区的儿童权利、健康服务与卫生实践意识,并通过职业及商业培训改善家庭和社区状况。

巴基斯坦贝拉,2015年10月28日—“我们一起努力,不仅分担彼此的负担,还一起为儿童们创造更美好明天,”简.碧碧看着她的丈夫穆罕默德·谢里夫,自豪地说道。 “我们的孩子在私立学校上学,成绩也都不错。 我们绝不会让孩子们放弃学业,到棉花地里干活。 我们挣的钱足够让他们过上安稳的生活,他们也可以专心学习了。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Pakistan/2015/Malik
正在厨房里做薄煎饼(面包)的简.碧碧是巴基斯坦贝拉城中四个孩子的母亲。她承担了所有家务,此外还与丈夫一同经营着家庭生意。

就在三年前,38岁的简.碧碧还挣扎着使收支平衡。 丈夫谢里夫在当地的西装店工作,而简.碧碧则是在家料理家务。在这样的条件下,照顾好两男两女四个小孩可是件麻烦事。 作为家里唯一的收入来源,谢里夫挣的钱几乎养不活他们。

这对夫妇就住在俾路支省拉斯贝拉区贝拉城郊的一座村子里。 这里主要是块棉花种植区,大多数人都在地里当劳工。 受贫困影响,许多社区都缺乏必要的基础服务。 和许多本村的妇女一样,简.碧碧也在棉花地里工作以贴补家用。

简.碧碧说:“这里是座贫困社区, 村里大多数男人都进城当劳工,按日赚取工资。 女人们就在家做家务。 唯一能赚点外快的途径就是在收获期到棉花地里做工。 男人、女人和孩子都去摘棉花。 我过去也是摘棉花的,但却绝不让自己的孩子们下地干活。”

为儿童创建保护的环境

2012年,宜家基金会与联合国儿童基金会合作,共同启动了棉花种植区儿童权利项目,旨在增强巴基斯坦、特别是以农业(尤其是棉花种植)为主要经济活动的农村社区的儿童保护环境。 该项目涵盖了隶属俾路支、旁遮普及信德三省的六大棉产区。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Pakistan/2015/Malik
在自家刺绣店工作的穆罕默德·谢里夫,该店由俾路支省政府社会保护计划棉花种植区儿童权利项目基金援建。

这一多领域项目专注于健康、教育、社会及儿童保护、用水以及清洁与卫生(WASH)事宜,并提供经济与商业机会。

除各种政府及民间团体合作伙伴外,非政府组织国家农村保护计划(NRSP)也在棉花种植区儿童权利项目中担当执行合作伙伴,从而支援俾路支省(巴基斯坦最大、最落后的省份)的社会保护及扶贫工作。

在该省南部靠近阿拉伯海海岸的拉斯贝拉区,国家农村保护计划为这里的50个村庄提供项目活动支持。 随后,该计划又新增了200个村庄。

这一计划举办了多场宣传活动,以增强目标社区的儿童权利意识,并推广经改善的健康与卫生实践。 此外,多功能社区中心的建立也有助于帮助改善儿童权利认知、增加妇女在公共空间中的参与度,以及为妇女和儿童开设扫盲课程和非正式教育。

该项目还为职业培训提供支持,从而增加创收机会。 此外还有面向妇女开设的刺绣、缝纫及美容课程。 完成培训后,参与人员还可加入商业管理培训,以便培养创收及创业技能。

赚钱的生意

培训机会后,简.碧碧便立即注册参加了刺绣课程。 课程完成后,她还加入了为期三天的商业管理培训。 受此次经历的鼓舞,她渴望应用自己所学的技能。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Pakistan/2015/Malik
简.碧碧在连衣裙上刺绣时,一旁的谢里夫仔细看着。

从政府社会保护计划领到拨款后,谢里夫开办了刺绣生意。 夫妇就业务计划达成一致意见后,便开始了共同创业。 谢里夫已经具备了必要的缝纫技艺,并拥有机械化的刺绣设备,而简.碧碧经培训后,则能够为正式场合穿着的连衣裙点缀装饰性的peko手工刺绣。 应用所学的商业管理技能,简.碧碧从本村及邻村的妇女那里接到了订单。

在不到三年的时间里,简.碧碧与谢里夫已建成了一家朴素简单却又足以盈利的企业。

在解释联合经营的方法时,谢里夫说:“有些社区很保守。 妇女们对造访我们店铺所在的主商业区总是犹豫不决。 想下刺绣订单时,她们会到我们家来,简.碧碧就在家里跟她们分享各种刺绣样式的样品。 这样她们就能无拘无束、不慌不忙地下单了。 有时,简.碧碧自己也会到附近的村子里承接订单。 她代表我承接业务,我则按照订单数量向她支付佣金。 涉及peko刺绣时,我会根据她完成的服装或杜帕塔(头巾)数量,按件支付酬劳。 她分担了我的负担,我们一起挣得的收入也足以为孩子们提供安稳的生活,并给他们带来更加光明的未来。”

富起来的家庭和社区

因棉花种植区儿童权利项目受益的家庭与个人很多,而简.碧碧与谢里夫只是其中一个。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Pakistan/2015/Malik
院子里的简.碧碧与谢里夫以及四个孩子当中的三个。 他们是一个幸福的家庭,父母均有收入、孩子们也都上了学。

联合国儿童基金会驻巴基斯坦儿童保护专家苏海尔.阿巴西表示:“在许多方面,尤其是为项目社区引入综合服务包的做法上,棉花种植区儿童权利项目是独一无二的。 设计完备的干预措施使得每个服务部门都能为另一部门的投资服务。 职业培训、小额贷款以及商业发展公开课支撑下的经济机会(尤其面向妇女),能够增强摘棉花家庭的经济弹性,从而减少童工数量以及剥削、暴力及忽视的案例,并改善儿童的整体健康和教育状况。 棉花种植区儿童权利项目不仅成就了富裕的个人,更造就了更为富强的家庭与社区。

在项目惠及的巴基斯坦三省当中,仅2014年,就有699,317名儿童从项目活动中直接受益、70,551名儿童间接受益。


 

 

联合国儿童基金会摄影专辑: 巴基斯坦的营养不良和洪水

搜索

We’re building a new UNICEF.org.
As we swap out old for new, pages will be in transition. Thanks for your patience – please keep coming back to see the improvements.

Pakistan

A partnership to raise prosperity and protect children in rural Pakistan

By A. Sami Malik

UNICEF and the IKEA Foundation teamed up to raise awareness on child rights, health services and hygiene practices in Pakistan’s agricultural districts, and also to empower families and communities through vocational and business training.

BELA, Pakistan, 28 October 2015 ¬– “Working together, we not only share each other’s burden, but are also ensuring a brighter future for our children,” Jan Bibi says proudly as she looks at her husband, Muhammad Sharif. “Our children go to a private school and are doing well. We will not allow them to give up their studies and start working in the cotton fields. We make enough money to give them a comfortable life so they stay focused on their education.”

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Pakistan/2015/Malik
Jan Bibi, a mother of four in Bela, Pakistan, makes chapatti (bread) in her kitchen as she manages all her household chores, in addition to running the home-based business she shares with her husband.

Only three years ago, Jan Bibi, 38, and Sharif were struggling to make ends meet. Four young children – two boys and two girls – were a handful to manage while Sharif worked at a local tailor shop and Jan Bibi managed the household chores. As the sole breadwinner, Sharif barely earned enough to feed them all.

The couple live in a village on the outskirts of Bela, a city in the Lasbela District of Balochistan Province. It is predominantly a cotton-growing area, and most people work as labourers in the fields. Marred by poverty, many communities are deprived of essential basic services. Like many women of her village, Jan Bibi has also worked in the cotton fields to make extra money for her family.

“This is a poor community,” Jan Bibi says. “Most men from our village go to the city to work as labourers on daily wages. Women do household chores. The only opportunity to make some extra money is by working in the cotton fields at harvest time. Men, women and children, all pick cotton. I used to do that too, but I never allowed my children to work in the fields.”

A protective environment for children

In 2012, the IKEA Foundation partnered with UNICEF to initiate the project Child Rights in Cotton Farming Areas (CRCFA), with the objective to strengthen a protective environment for children in Pakistan, particularly in rural communities where agriculture, especially cotton farming, is the main economic activity. It covers six cotton-producing districts in three provinces – Balochistan, Punjab and Sindh.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Pakistan/2015/Malik
Mohammad Sharif at work in his embroidery shop, established with funds received through the CRCFA project from a social protection programme of the provincial government of Balochistan.

The multi-sector project focuses on health; education; social and child protection; and water, sanitation and hygiene (WASH), as well as access to economic and business opportunities.

In addition to various government and civil society partners, the CRCFA engaged the NGO National Rural Support Programme (NRSP) as an implementing partner to support interventions on social protection and poverty alleviation in Balochistan, Pakistan’s largest but least developed province.

NRSP supported project activities in 50 villages of Lasbela District, in the south of the province, near the coast of the Arabian Sea. Later, an additional 200 villages were included. 

Communication campaigns were carried out to raise awareness among target communities on child rights and to promote improved health and hygiene practices. Further, multi-functional community centres were established to help raise knowledge on child rights, to increase women’s participation in the public sphere and to provide literacy classes and non-formal education for women and children.

The project also supports vocational training to increase access to income-earning opportunities. For women, embroidery, sewing and beautician courses are offered. After completing the training, participants are provided business management training to develop income-generation and entrepreneurial skills.

A profitable business

When Jan Bibi heard about the training opportunities, she immediately registered to learn embroidery. Upon completing the course, she received the three-day business management training. Feeling empowered by the experience, she was keen to make use of the skills she had acquired.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Pakistan/2015/Malik
Sharif watches carefully as Jan Bibi does embroidery work on a dress.

Sharif, having received a grant from a government social protection programme, set up an embroidery business. The couple agreed on a business plan and started to work together. Sharif already had the necessary tailoring skills and owned mechanical embroidery equipment, while Jan Bibi was trained in peko, decorative hand embroidery to ornament dresses worn on formal occasions. Applying her business management skills, Jan Bibi approached women in her own and neighbouring villages to generate orders.

In a little under three years, Jan Bibi and Sharif have established a modest but profitable business.

Explaining the approach of their joint venture, Sharif says, “These are conservative communities. Women are hesitant to travel to the main commercial area where my shop is located. When they want to place an order for embroidery, they come to our house, where Jan Bibi shares samples of various embroidery patterns. They are at ease and take their time in placing their orders. On occasion, Jan Bibi herself visits nearby villages to collect orders. She generates business on my behalf, and I pay her a commission on each order. With regard to the peko work, I pay her a certain amount for each suit or dupatta [shawl] completed. She has shared my burden, and together we are making enough to give our children a decent living and hope for a brighter future.”

Empowered families and communities

Jan Bibi and Sharif are among many families and individuals who have benefitted from the CRCFA project.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Pakistan/2015/Malik
Jan Bibi and Sharif in their courtyard with three of their four children. They are a happy family, with both parents earning and all the children going to school.

“The CRCFA project is unique in many ways, especially by introducing an integrated package of services to the project communities,” says Sohail Abbasi, UNICEF Pakistan Child Protection Specialist. “The interventions are designed so that each service sector supplements the investment in another. Economic opportunities, facilitated through vocational training, small loans and business development openings, especially for women, are geared towards strengthening the economic resilience of cotton-picking families that, in turn, reduces the number of children in labour as well as cases of exploitation, violence and neglect and improve the overall health and education outcomes for children. More than empowered individuals, CRCFA produced empowered families and communities.” 

In 2014 alone, 699,317 children benefited directly and 70,551 children indirectly through project activities in the three provinces of Pakistan where it was carried out.


 

 

UNICEF Photography: Malnutrition and flooding in Pakistan

New enhanced search