UNICEF.org新网站正在建设中。
网页内容还在更新中。感谢您的耐心,敬请稍后查看。

巴基斯坦

在巴基斯坦,一位疫苗接种员的决心

阿卜杜勒.萨米.马利克报道

一位经验丰富的疫苗接种员跋山涉水,在巴基斯坦致力于保护儿童健康的事业中。该国最近引进的肺炎球菌疫苗帮助挽救了更多儿童的生命。

巴基斯坦旁遮普省的南卡纳区,2015年4月15日 -南卡纳区布达村基本保健机构的疫苗接种员法鲁克.侯赛因说:“在过去的25年中,我一直在为儿童们接种疫苗。 我自己有五个孩子,三个女孩和两个男孩,我亲自为他们接种了疫苗。免疫是抵御可预防的疾病的第一道防线。每次给儿童接种疫苗,我都感觉好像挽救了一条生命。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Pakistan/2015/Zaidi
法鲁克.侯赛因的摩托车上装载着疫苗和设备,他正前往巴基斯坦南卡纳区最偏远的地区为儿童们接种免疫疫苗。

法鲁克对他的工作充满了热情,他一生都献身于为儿童接种疫苗的事业中。他的摩托车上装载着疫苗和设备,不远万里地到达巴基斯坦旁遮普省南卡纳区最偏远的社区。

南卡纳区有大约160万人口,每年将近有58000个活产婴儿。卫生部门积极开展工作为儿童接种疫苗预防疾病。疫苗接种员的作用是极为重要的,因为疫苗对温度的变化很敏感,需要非常小心地储存和使用。拥有25年的工作经验,法鲁克享有“尽职尽责的专业人士”的声誉。

然而,当回忆起他早年的疫苗接种工作时,法鲁克说:“每次给儿童注射疫苗的时候,我的手都会发抖,我的心跳会加速。感觉就好像我在伤害他们一样。”

但是,他很快就意识到在生命刚开始的头几年内给儿童免疫的重要性。他说:“这相当于帮助儿童和他们的父母避免以后的痛苦和担忧。”

一种新疫苗

2012年,巴基斯坦政府将肺炎球菌疫苗作为常规免疫的一部分 –是南亚引进该疫苗的第一个国家。同时,巴基斯坦还实施白喉、乙肝、流感、麻疹、脊髓灰质炎、破伤风、肺结核和百日咳的免疫。

全球疫苗和免疫联盟促使公共和私营部门制定共同的目标,旨在为欠发达国家的儿童创造获得疫苗的平等途径并提供肺炎球菌疫苗和资金支持。联合国儿童基金会和世界卫生组织则为巴基斯坦的卫生部门提供技术支持。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Pakistan/2015/Zaidi
在走访社区的过程中,法鲁克准备为儿童接种可免疫疾病的疫苗。

在公共卫生系统中工作的疫苗接种员接受了为期两天的疫苗管理培训。法鲁克说: “我们整个疫苗接种团队接受了如何处理和注射肺炎球菌疫苗的培训。”

将肺炎球菌疫苗纳入常规免疫已经大幅地减少了儿童肺炎的病例。在旁遮普省的农村社区,家庭规模往往很大,平均每家有四到五个孩子。较差的卫生条件也使儿童很容易在社区里感染肺炎,尤其是在冬季。

将肺炎球菌疫苗纳入常规免疫后, 病例数量已经大幅下降。即使儿童在接种疫苗后仍感染了肺炎,也可以很简单地用药物控制病情并且病人很快可以康复。

总的来说,南卡纳区的社区对儿童免疫采取很积极的态度。法鲁克说:“接种肺炎球菌疫苗需要分三次进行,在儿童六周、十周和十四周大时分别注射疫苗三次。母亲们会拿到一张'黄色的卡片' ,儿童每次接种疫苗时我们会在上面做记录。如果我们晚几天走访社区,她们会把她们的孩子带到BHU或给我们打电话询问工作组什么时候会来她们的村庄。”

在为女士卫生工作者(LHW)项目无法覆盖的偏远地区的儿童接种疫苗时,法鲁克面对着很大的挑战。每位女士卫生工作者负责约200至250户家庭。女士卫生工作者项目在接种员计划走访社区的当天动员目标儿童接种疫苗。在LHW项目没有覆盖的地区,接种员只能孤身一人前去为儿童接种疫苗。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Pakistan/2015/Zaidi
法鲁克给一个十周大的婴儿阿卜杜勒.拉赫曼接种第二剂肺炎球菌疫苗,他的母亲苏迈亚抱着他。

法鲁克说:“有时候,那些地方的妇女更喜欢女性的疫苗接种员。 但是,当我告诉她们疫苗是政府免费提供的,否则她们要花费数千卢比时,她们就明白了。 ”

奉献精神

联合国儿童基金会卫生专员萨迪亚.法鲁克博士说:“巴基斯坦的人口居世界第六位,新生儿的数量最多。每年,超过35万名儿童活不到他们的第五个生日;造成这些死亡的主要原因之一是疫苗可预防的疾病 - 18%由肺炎造成。2012年,在免疫联盟的资助下,巴基斯坦引进PCV - 10 ,因为该国意识到这是加强常规免疫的一个契机,结果降低了5岁以下儿童感染肺炎的几率。”

像法鲁克这样的保健工作者的奉献精神和决心帮助儿童和妇女免于感染疫苗可预防的疾病。免疫是最公平和低本高效的保健干预措施。健康的儿童长大成为健康的成年人并成为有生产力的社会成员。及时接种疫苗保护儿童不感染疾病、帮助他们成长并充分发挥他们的潜力 – 这也是他们的基本权利之一。


 

 

联合国儿童基金会摄影专辑: 制胜冷链

搜索

We’re building a new UNICEF.org.
As we swap out old for new, pages will be in transition. Thanks for your patience – please keep coming back to see the improvements.

Pakistan

In Pakistan, a vaccinator’s resolve

By A. Sami Malik

Travelling far and wide, a veteran vaccinator dedicates himself to protecting the health of children in Pakistan, where the recent introduction of pneumococcal vaccine has helped save more lives.

NANKANA SAHIB, Punjab Province, Pakistan, 15 April 2015 – “I have been vaccinating children for the last 25 years,” says Farrukh Hussain, a vaccinator at the Basic Health Unit in Budha village, Nankana district. “I have five children of my own, three girls and two boys, and I have vaccinated all of them myself. Vaccination is the first line of defence against vaccine-preventable diseases, and every time I vaccinate a child, it feels as if I have saved a life.” 

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Pakistan/2015/Zaidi
With a vaccine carrier and equipment on his motorbike, Farrukh Hussain travels to the remotest areas of Pakistan's Nankana Sahib district to vaccinate children.

Farrukh’s profession is also his passion. He has dedicated his life to vaccinating children and works with energy and passion. With a vaccine carrier on the back of his motorbike, he reaches out to the remotest communities of the Nankana Sahib district, in Pakistan’s Punjab province.

Nankana district has a population of around 1.6 million, with nearly 58,000 live births annually, and health authorities work vigorously to vaccinate them against vaccine-preventable diseases. The role of a vaccinator is extremely important, as vaccines are temperature sensitive and need to be stored and administered with great care. With his quarter-century of experience, Farrukh enjoys the reputation of a hardworking professional.

Recalling his early days as a vaccinator, however, Farrukh says, “My hands would shake and my heartbeat increased every time I injected a child. It felt as if I was hurting them.”

Soon, however, he realized how important it is to vaccinate children during the first years of their lives. “It is like saving children and their parents from a lot of pain and worries later on,” he says.

A new vaccine

In 2012, the Government of Pakistan added pneumococcal vaccine for prevention against pneumonia as part of routine immunizations – the first country in South Asia to introduce it, alongside vaccines against diphtheria, hepatitis B, influenza, measles, polio, tetanus, tuberculosis and whooping cough.

The Gavi Alliance, which brings together public and private sectors with the shared goal of creating equal access to vaccines for children living in underdeveloped countries, provides the pneumococcal vaccine and financial support, while UNICEF and WHO provide technical support to health authorities in Pakistan. 

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Pakistan/2015/Zaidi
Farrukh prepares to vaccinate a group of children against vaccine-preventable diseases during one of his community visits.

Vaccinators working in the public health system were given a two-day training on management and administering of the vaccine. “Our entire vaccination team was trained on handling and injecting pneumococcal vaccine,” says Farrukh.

The addition of pneumococcal vaccine to routine immunization has drastically reduced cases of pneumonia among children. In rural communities of Punjab, households are often large, with an average of four to five children, and hygiene conditions make children susceptible to community-acquired pneumonia, especially in winter.

Since the addition of pneumococcal vaccine to the routine immunization regime, the number of cases has dropped substantially. If a child does catch pneumonia despite being vaccinated, it can be easily controlled with medication, and recovery is quick.

By and large, communities living in Nankana Sahib have a proactive attitude towards getting their children vaccinated. “A complete course of pneumococcal vaccination comprises three shots/injections given when the child is six, ten and fourteen weeks old,” Farrukh says. “Mothers have the ‘yellow card’, on which we make an entry whenever a child is vaccinated. In case our visit to the community is delayed for a day or two, they either bring the child to the BHU or call us on the phone to ask about the team’s visit to their village.”

The challenge Farrukh faces in vaccinating children is in the far-flung areas that are not covered by the lady health worker (LHW). Each LHW is assigned an area with around 200 to 250 households. LHWs support vaccination activities by mobilizing the target children for vaccination on the day when the vaccinator is supposed to visit the community. In the ‘uncovered’ areas not under an LHW, the vaccinator has to go alone and vaccinate children. 

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Pakistan/2015/Zaidi
Farrukh gives the second dose of pneumococcal vaccine to ten-week old Abdur Rehman, while his mother Sumaiya holds him.

“Sometimes women in those areas prefer a female vaccinator,” Farrukh says. “But when I tell them that vaccination is a facility provided by the government free of charge which would otherwise cost them thousands of rupees, they understand.”

Dedication

“Pakistan is the world’s sixth largest population, with the biggest birth cohort,” says Dr. Saadia Farrukh, UNICEF Health Specialist. “Each year, more than 350,000 children do not live to celebrate their fifth birthday; one of the major causes of these deaths is vaccine-preventable diseases – 18 per cent attributed to pneumonia. In 2012, with the financial support of Gavi, Pakistan introduced PCV-10, realizing that this is an opportunity for strengthening routine immunization, thereby leading to reduction in the disease burden due to pneumonia in children under 5 years of age.”

It is the dedication and resolve of health providers such as Farrukh that make a difference in protecting children and women against vaccine-preventable diseases. Vaccination is the most equitable and cost-effective health intervention, and healthy children grow up to be healthy adults and become productive members of a society. Timely vaccination protects children from disease and help them grow to their full potential – one of their basic rights. 


 

 

UNICEF Photography: Championing the cold chain

New enhanced search