UNICEF.org新网站正在建设中。
网页内容还在更新中。感谢您的耐心,敬请稍后查看。

尼日利亚

逃离尼日利亚博科圣地牢笼的痛苦之旅

吉丽塔.比卢奇拉报道

在尼日利亚东北部被博科圣地占据的小村庄摆脱牢笼后,哈利马和家人勇敢踏上了通往安全的旅程。

尼日利亚迈杜古里,2016年4月11日——最让我惊讶的是,小男孩们竟然拒绝吃东西。尽管他们明显又累又饿,但三个孩子都拒绝了递给他们的米饭。第四个孩子是个约 18 个月大的男孩,无精打采地坐在母亲的怀里。母亲试图给他喂奶,但他却不感兴趣。另外,母亲实际上也没有奶水可喂。他们都瘦得惊人,但他们的小腿却痛苦地肿着。

哈利马的故事

哈利马(化名)和四个儿子,他们分别为8岁、6岁和3岁,还有一个在蹒跚学步。他们历经痛苦的逃离,终于逃出武装组织博科圣地的牢笼。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Nigeria/2015/Birukila
在迈杜古里一个无家可归者收容所,哈利马(化名)和最大的儿子正从自己经历的磨难中恢复。尼日利亚东北部的暴力冲突致使超过一百万人流离失所。

我在尼日利亚东北部小城迈杜古里的一个无家可归者收容所第一次见到他们,他们刚刚得知,哈利马的丈夫——四个小男孩的父亲,在试图逃跑时已经惨死。这个消息让本来已经饱受疲惫和病痛折磨的母子们遭受沉重的打击,但最大的男孩坚称,自己不相信父亲已经去世。

肉体和心灵的双重灾难让这个家庭难以招架。在他们的家乡——尼日利亚偏远的东北部小村庄被博科圣地占据后,哈利马和孩子们遭受武装分子控制达一年之久。在他们被关押期间,她的丈夫一直东躲西藏,只能在夜里悄悄带给他们赖以为生的食物。

夜幕掩护下

由于担心自己的生命安全,他们决定必须逃离。哈利马和丈夫知道,他们分头逃离会更安全些;如果孩子们哭闹,引起看守者的警觉,那么哈利马会遭受鞭打,也许侥幸会留下性命,而她的丈夫则必死无疑。于是,哈利马告别丈夫,他丈夫则和其他三个躲起来的男人潜入夜色。他们的计划是,从自己的村庄步行80公里前往迈杜古里,那里将是安全之地。

哈利马将在随后几天跟上来。她不得不设法通过博科圣地的检查站和巡逻队,她曾亲眼见到几个试图逃跑的人被抓住后公开斩首。

村里人人都被迫观看这种惨景,迫使村民放弃逃跑的想法。有一天,她曾看到至少30个人被执行死刑,而他们大多数都是男性。

危险旅程

在逃跑的那天,哈利马让两个年长的男孩先走,以免被人怀疑她和所有孩子一起走。哈利马让两个年长的孩子拿着玉米和磨玉米的钱在一个朋友家里等着,那里靠近村民们磨玉米的地方,自己和两个年幼的孩子则在一小时后出发。除了孩子和他们背上的衣服,她什么也没带,她告诉博科圣地的卫兵,自己要去邻村亲戚家看望,他们信以为真。他们要她保证在天黑前返回。

到达朋友家时,看到两个孩子正在那里等她,她松了一口气。他们也曾被博科圣地的卫兵挡住,但他们的话貌似有理,于是被卫兵放行。她没有告诉任何人他们计划逃走的事情,包括她的朋友。他们在傍晚离开时,朋友都以为他们要回家去。哈利马背着幼子,带着其他三个儿子潜入灌木丛中,赤脚在夜色中穿行。三岁的孩子挣扎着前行,而八岁的孩子也一样,后者一周前被毒舌咬伤的脚还在作痛。黎明时分,他们藏起来想睡一会,但他们既没有水也没有食物。夜幕再次降临,哈利马催促她又累又饿的孩子们继续走。

被送往安全地点

到了第三天,孩子们几乎一步也挪不动了,哈利马听到附近有爆炸声,她猜测——也希望是尼日利亚政府军在演习。哈利马和孩子们举起双手,慢慢从灌木丛中现身。这是一个危险关头,因为他们知道,紧张的士兵会担心有埋伏或者自杀式炸弹袭击。他们见到的第一个士兵大喊让他们站住。看到不该有人的灌木丛深处竟然有一名妇女和孩子们,他感到很吃惊。经过检查确认他们手无寸铁后,他拿给他们面包和水,并让卡车将他们带到迈杜古里的安全地点。随后,他告诉他们,就是因为看到孩子们,才让他放弃了立即开火。哈利马现在承认,如果不是遇到士兵们,她和孩子们也许就会死在灌木丛中。 

他们的运气够好。几天后,哈利马最大的男孩认为父亲还活在人世的直觉竟然应验了。尽管哈利马的丈夫和同伴没有一路抵达迈杜古里,但他们设法捎来口信,他们已安全抵达另一个城市。在无家可归者收容所,在联合国儿童基金会支持的医疗护理和营养服务帮助下,加上关于父亲的好消息,这个家庭开始恢复生机。年长的男孩们甚至开始在收容所的学校开始上学了,这对他们还是平生第一次。这里的学校也由联合国儿童基金会提供支持。很久以来,他们终于能第一次露出笑脸。


 

 

联合国儿童基金会摄影专辑: 难民和流离失所人士

搜索

We’re building a new UNICEF.org.
As we swap out old for new, pages will be in transition. Thanks for your patience – please keep coming back to see the improvements.

At a glance: Nigeria

A harrowing escape from Boko Haram in Nigeria

By Gerida Birukila

After breaking free from captivity in north-eastern Nigeria where Boko Haram had overtaken their village, Halima and her family embark on a courageous journey to safety.

MAIDUGURI, Nigeria, 11 April 2016 – What surprised me most about the little boys was that they refused to eat. Although they were obviously hungry and tired, all three of them turned away the bowls of rice that were offered to them. The fourth child, another boy just 18 months old, sat listlessly in his mother’s arms. She tried to breastfeed him, but he was uninterested. And besides, she had no milk. All of them were alarmingly thin, apart from their legs, which were painfully swollen.

Halima’s story

Halima (not her real name), her sons – aged 8, 6 and 3 years – and the toddler, had made a harrowing escape from captivity by the armed group commonly known as Boko Haram. 

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Nigeria/2015/Birukila
Halima (not her real name) and her eldest son, recovering from their ordeal at a camp for the displaced in Maiduguri. More than a million people have been displaced by violence in northeastern Nigeria.

When I first met them at a camp for the displaced in the north-eastern Nigerian town of Maiduguri, they had just been told that Halima’s husband, the father of the four boys, had died as he made his own attempt to escape. Already sick and beyond exhaustion, the news appeared to have broken them, although the eldest boy insisted he did not believe his father was dead.

The physical and mental devastation this family had already faced was overwhelming. After their village in a remote area of north-eastern Nigeria was taken over by Boko Haram, Halima and her sons were held by the armed group for a year. Her husband remained hidden for the duration of their captivity, sneaking in to his family at night and bringing them food that kept them alive.

Under the cover of the night

Constantly in fear for their lives, they decided they must try to escape. Halima and her husband knew it would be safer for him to leave separately; if the children cried it would alert their captors, and while Halima might get away with being flogged, her husband would certainly be killed. So Halima said goodbye as he journeyed into the night with three other men who had also been hiding out. Their plan was to walk the 80 km from their village to the town of Maiduguri, where they would be safe.

Halima was to follow after a couple of days. She had to devise a plan to get past Boko Haram checkpoints and patrols, as she had witnessed several public beheadings of people who had been caught trying to escape. Everyone in the village was forced to watch to deter the villagers from trying to leave. One day she had seen at least 30 executions, although they were mostly men.

A dangerous journey

On the day of their escape, Halima sent her two older boys ahead so as not to arouse suspicion by traveling with all of her children. Carrying corn and money to cover the grinding fee, she told them to wait for her at a friend’s home, near the place where the villagers grind their corn. Halima followed an hour later with her two youngest children. Bringing nothing with her but her children and the clothes on their backs, the Boko Haram guards believed her when she said they were going to the next village to visit relatives. They made her promise to return before dark.

Once she arrived at her friend’s house, Halima was relieved to find her sons waiting for her. They too had been stopped by the Boko Haram guards, but their story was plausible and they were allowed to pass. She had told no one, not even her friend, of their plan to escape. When she left her friend’s house at dusk, they all thought they were going home. Carrying her baby, Halima instead guided her three older sons into the bush, and they walked barefoot through the night. The three-year-old struggled, as did the eight-year-old, who a week before had been bitten on the foot by a poisonous snake and was still in pain. In the morning, they hid and tried to sleep, but they had no food or water. When night fell, Halima urged her tired and hungry children on.

Taken to safety

On the third day, her children by now barely able to move, Halima heard explosions nearby and assumed – hoped – she was hearing exercises by the Nigerian Army. With their hands raised, she and her children slowly emerged from the bush. It was a dangerous moment, as they knew the nervous soldiers would fear an ambush or suicide bomb. The first soldier they saw shouted at them to stop. He was astonished to see a woman and her children so far in the bush, where no one should have been. Once he had checked to make sure they were unarmed, he gave them bread and water and sent for a truck to take them to safety in Maiduguri. Later, he told them it was only seeing the children that kept him from firing immediately. Halima now admits that had they not happened upon the soldiers, she and her children would probably have died in the bush. 

Their luck held. A few days later, her eldest boy’s intuition that his father was still alive proved, against all odds, to be right. Although Halima’s husband and his traveling companions had not made it all the way to Maiduguri, they had managed to send word that they had reached safety in another town. With medical care and nutrition at the UNICEF-supported clinic in the camp, and the good news about their father, the family began to thrive. The older boys, for the first time in their lives, even started to go to school at the UNICEF-supported classes in the camp. And for the first time in a very long time, they were able to smile.

>> Read the UNICEF Report: Beyond Chibok assesses the impact conflict has had on children in the four countries affected by Boko Haram


 

 

UNICEF Photography: Refugees and displaced

New enhanced search