UNICEF.org新网站正在建设中。
网页内容还在更新中。感谢您的耐心,敬请稍后查看。

尼泊尔

尼泊尔地震发生后,一户家庭儿童当家持续一年

马利克.马利克报道

在尼泊尔的一个小村庄Puranagaun,一名社工发现,有一家人由17岁的女孩独自照顾着她的六个弟弟妹妹。这些多年前遭到父母遗弃的孩子们正在努力重建震后的生活。

尼泊尔拉梅恰布,2016年4月21日——尼泊尔中部,在遭受2015年4月25日7.8级地震袭击后一周,卡比塔.什雷斯塔来到现场。

她说:“我必须做些什么,我知道地震一定让更多的家庭陷入脆弱不堪的境地。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Nepal/2016/Shrestha
在尼泊尔拉梅恰布的小村庄Puranagaun,17岁的吉塔站在遭到地震损毁的房屋前。该地区是尼泊尔遭受地震重创的14个地区之一。在父母双双离开后,她一直在六个弟弟妹妹面前扮演着家长的角色。

卡比塔是拉梅恰布地区总部曼塔里的一名社工,她十分了解当地的情况。地震后,当地一个与联合国儿童基金会密切合作的非政府组织——社区发展学会找到她,请她帮助登记困难的家庭。

经过一天关于登记和评估的培训,卡比塔学到了怎样确定困难儿童和家庭以及怎样记录他们的情况。然后,她和团队成员立即赶赴现场。随后几天,她遇到很多地震幸存者,这些人及其家庭都需要救济和帮助。

在第6天,她来到塔马柯西河对面小山顶上的村庄Puranagaun,前往了解一户家庭的情况。这家人父母下落不明,一家之主是17岁的女孩吉塔。

卡比塔表示,“我知道这家人肯定非常需要帮助,所以我要优先考虑他们”。当时,她还不知道,为了照顾五个妹妹和一个弟弟,吉塔已经辍学。最小的妹妹弟弟是双胞胎。卡比塔说,“他们总共七个人,房屋已经损坏。他们既孤单又害怕。”

遭受遗弃的童年

自见到这家人后,卡比塔又数次前去Puranagaun探访他们。一个晴朗的春日,在从曼塔里步行七小时来到这里后,她发现,这家房前的院子是空无一人。

在走近时,她才发现有几张小脸正从房子楼梯下偷偷看着她,而地震已致使房子的木质结构起皱和破裂。受损房子的旁边搭着临时棚子,从其中的竹条后也露出几双小小的眼睛。她听到隐隐的低语和笑声,然后,吉塔从屋后走了出来。尽管天气很暖和,但她的头、脸和胸部却裹着厚厚的羊毛披肩。她热情地看着卡比塔,拉来椅子让他们一行人坐下来。

几分钟后,卡比塔15岁的妹妹丽塔也加入了谈话。孩子们38岁的姨妈也来到近旁听他们交谈。吉塔对问题的回答都很简短,在她说不明白时,姨妈会插进来帮她。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Nepal/2016/Shrestha
在受损房屋的外面,吉塔的妹妹——8岁的迪帕和10岁的碧芭娜在和山羊玩耍。地震后,孩子们在树枝和树叶搭成的临时棚子中避难。在当地社工和联合国儿童基金会的帮助下,他们得以建起更好的棚子,还能买到生活必需品。

卡比塔是拉梅恰布地区总部曼塔里的一名社工,她十分了解当地的情况。地震后,当地一个与联合国儿童基金会密切合作的非政府组织——社区发展学会找到她,请她帮助登记困难的家庭。

经过一天关于登记和评估的培训,卡比塔学到了怎样确定困难儿童和家庭以及怎样记录他们的情况。然后,她和团队成员立即赶赴现场。随后几天,她遇到很多地震幸存者,这些人及其家庭都需要救济和帮助。

在第6天,她来到塔马柯西河对面小山顶上的村庄Puranagaun,前往了解一户家庭的情况。这家人父母下落不明,一家之主是17岁的女孩吉塔。

卡比塔表示,“我知道这家人肯定非常需要帮助,所以我要优先考虑他们”。当时,她还不知道,为了照顾五个妹妹和一个弟弟,吉塔已经辍学。最小的妹妹弟弟是双胞胎。卡比塔说,“他们总共七个人,房屋已经损坏。他们既孤单又害怕。”

遭受遗弃的童年

自见到这家人后,卡比塔又数次前去Puranagaun探访他们。一个晴朗的春日,在从曼塔里步行七小时来到这里后,她发现,这家房前的院子是空无一人。

在走近时,她才发现有几张小脸正从房子楼梯下偷偷看着她,而地震已致使房子的木质结构起皱和破裂。受损房子的旁边搭着临时棚子,从其中的竹条后也露出几双小小的眼睛。她听到隐隐的低语和笑声,然后,吉塔从屋后走了出来。尽管天气很暖和

但她的头、脸和胸部却裹着厚厚的羊毛披肩。她热情地看着卡比塔,拉来椅子让他们一行人坐下来。

几分钟后,卡比塔15岁的妹妹丽塔也加入了谈话。孩子们38岁的姨妈也来到近旁听他们交谈。吉塔对问题的回答都很简短,在她说不明白时,姨妈会插进来帮她。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Nepal/2016/Shrestha
坐在家门外的孩子们,左起:17岁的姐姐吉塔、15岁的丽塔、13岁的萨丽塔、10岁的迪帕和6岁的瑞玛。吉塔和丽塔被迫辍学照顾弟弟妹妹。

地震后,他们家的房子受损成为危房,孩子们就在树枝和树叶搭起的棚子里避难。卡比塔确认他们属于脆弱家庭,于是,他们获得联合国儿童基金会“家庭保护支持计划”为脆弱家庭提供的帮助。孩子们获得17500尼泊尔卢比(约170美元)的补助, 他们用这些钱购买家居用品、笔记本和衣服。他们还用一部分钱自己搭起一个更好的棚子。

10月份的假日期间,他们的父亲寄回来一些钱。 但丽塔对此几乎无动于衷。她说,“地震后,他根本杳无音讯,他就不在乎我们的死活。”

无法预知的未来

孩子们目前刚够糊口,他们的未来还无法预知。吉塔想当护士的梦想变得愈发渺茫,即便如此,她还是想完成高中考试,继续学业。现在,一有机会,她就会在村子里打零工,但她并不是总有工作机会。

吉塔说,“如果我能参加一些技能培训,除了放牛和照顾弟弟妹妹,即使呆在家里也能赚到钱。”

四月初,距离上次造访一个月之后,卡比塔再次见到了这家人。她一直努力帮助他们,设法联系当地机构为他们提供支持或帮助。她表示,“我一直在和一些机构联系,他们愿意培训吉塔,雇佣她做兼职社工,并为她和丽塔支付学费。”姐妹俩对这个计划激动不已。

联合国儿童基金会在拉梅恰布的教育合作伙伴也在一直设法为吉塔和丽塔这样辍学的大龄儿童寻找解决方案。

卡比塔表示,如果孩子们找到工作,或者返回学校,处理家务事就成了问题:谁来放牛?谁来做饭?谁来照顾小孩子?他们的舅舅阿姨都承诺要为他们提供支持。

她认为,“这对他们的舅舅和阿姨都不容易。虽然充满挑战,但只要能得到小小的支持,计划就可行。孩子们无法依靠父母回来照顾他们。因此,如果这个计划能付诸实施,他们就不会生活在贫困中,也就有机会为自己的未来做打算。”


 

 

联合国儿童基金会摄影专辑:地震过后

搜索

We’re building a new UNICEF.org.
As we swap out old for new, pages will be in transition. Thanks for your patience – please keep coming back to see the improvements.

Nepal

A child-headed household perseveres a year after the Nepal earthquake

By Mallika Aryal

In the small Nepali village of Puranagaun, a social worker discovers a household where a 17-year-old girl is the sole caretaker of her six siblings. Abandoned years ago by their parents, the children are struggling to rebuild their lives after the earthquake.

RAMECHHAP, Nepal, 21 April 2016 – One week after a 7.8-magnitude earthquake hit central Nepal on 25 April 2015, Kabita Shrestha was out in the field.

“I had to do something,” she said. "I knew that there must be more families that were made vulnerable by the earthquake.” 

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Nepal/2016/Shrestha
Geeta, 17, outside her damaged house in Puranagaun village in Ramechhap, one of the 14 districts in Nepal most affected by the earthquake. After both of her parents left, she has been the head-of-household for her six siblings.

Kabita is a social worker in Manthali, the district headquarters of Ramechhap, and she knows the area well. After the earthquake, Community Development Society, a local NGO working closely with UNICEF, approached her for help in documenting vulnerable families.

Kabita completed a one-day training on documentation and evaluation, where she learned how to identify vulnerable children and families and document their cases. Then she and her team were off to the field right away. Over the next several days, she met many earthquake survivors – families and individuals who needed relief and assistance.

On the sixth day, she came to learn about a family in Puranagaun village, on top of a hill across from the Tama Koshi River. The parents were missing, and the head of household was a 17-year-old girl named Geeta.

“I knew that the family must be in dire need of help so I made them my top priority,” said Kabita. What she didn’t know was that Geeta had quit school to take care of her younger siblings – five sisters and a brother. The youngest sister and the brother are twins. “There were seven of them, their house was damaged. They were scared and alone,” said Kabita.

Abandoned childhoods

Since she met the family, Kabita made several trips to Puranagaun to check in on them. One sunny spring day, as she completed the seven-hour-walk from Manthali, she noticed that the yard in front of their house was empty.

As she walked closer, she saw little faces peering out at her from under the ladder of the house, the wood wrinkled and cracked from the earthquake. Tiny eyes appeared between the bamboo slats of a temporary shelter built near their damaged home. She heard faint whispers and giggles, and then Geeta emerged from behind the house. Despite the warm weather, her head, face and chest were wrapped in a thick woollen shawl. She looked warmly at Kabita and pulled out chairs for them to sit.

A few minutes later, Rita, her 15-year-old sister also joined the conversation. Ganga Thapa Magar, the children’s 38-year-old maternal aunt came close to listen. Geeta’s answers were short and curt. When she could not explain, her aunt jumped in to help.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Nepal/2016/Shrestha
Geeta's younger sisters Deepa, 8, and Bipana, 10, play with goats outside their damaged house. After the earthquake, the children took refuge under a temporary shelter of branches and leaves. With the help of a local social worker and UNICEF, they were able to build a better shelter and buy necessities for their home.

Geeta’s father left their family six years ago to work as a migrant labourer. He promised Geeta’s mother and the seven children that he would call.

“It was one of the many promises he didn’t keep,” said Geeta, covering her mouth with her shawl. He didn’t call or return until about two years ago, when he came to sell off some cattle and Geeta’s mother’s gold. “He told us he worked in a storage facility in Iraq,” said Geeta, holding up her cell phone to show Kabita the number from which he calls.

Less than a year after their father’s departure, Geeta’s mother also left home. A few days before she left, their mother asked Rita for her gold jewellery. “She said she would make a bigger, nicer pair of earrings for me, but she never did,” said Rita.  “She probably sold off the gold to run away.”

The children, their aunt and the village suspect that she eloped with a local man, but no one has been able to verify this. They didn’t hear from again until earlier this year. “We didn’t know if she was dead or alive, until she called us a few weeks ago and said she was working in Malaysia,” said Geeta. It has been four months since that phone call, and they haven’t heard from her since.

Foregoing education

When their mother left them, the youngest siblings, the twins, were just 18 months old, and Geeta was living in her maternal uncle's home while studying in a good school. Her aunt Ganga went to fetch Geeta so that she could help in rearing her young ones. That was five years ago.

Since then, Geeta and Rita have been running the household by themselves. Their maternal aunt and uncle live next door. “But they are not our parents, they have three children of their own, problems of their own. How can they take care of us?” asked Geeta.

When her mother went away, Geeta was studying for her final high school exams. "I could not concentrate, and I flunked in five subjects," she said.

Rita dropped out of school three years ago.

"When our mother left us, the twins were so small that most of our time was spent cleaning up their poo. And they made so much noise my head hurt with all the yelling!" said Rita. "I didn't have time to study. I could not concentrate. Both didi [elder sister] and I used to come first or second in class. And now I think I have even forgotten how to study." 

Both of the sisters miss going to school. Geeta had always dreamed of becoming a nurse. Her sister Rita wants to be back with her friends, but says now it’s impossible. “Who will take care of my brothers and sisters? Who will look after the cattle?  Who will fetch the water, wash the clothes? Who will feed these children, see that they go to school?” she asked. 

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Nepal/2016/Shrestha
From left, sisters Geeta, 17, Rita, 15, Sarita, 13, Bipana, 10, Deepa, 8, and Reema, 6, sit together outside their home. Geeta and Rita were forced to drop out of school to take care of their younger sisters and brother.

After the earthquake, their home was damaged and unsafe, and the children took refuge under a shed made of branches and leaves. When Kabita identified their family as being vulnerable, they received assistance from UNICEF as a part of the Family Preservation Support provided to vulnerable households. The siblings received 17,500 Nepalese rupees (approximately US$170), which they used to buy household items, notebooks and clothes. They also used some of the money to build a better shelter for themselves.

This past festival season in October, their father also sent some money home. But the gesture did little to appease Rita. “He didn’t call or send message after the quake, he didn’t care if we were dead or alive,” she said.

An uncertain future

The siblings currently live hand to mouth, and their future is uncertain. Geeta's dream of being a nurse is becoming bleaker, even though she would still like to finish her high school exams and get a step closer. For now, she works as a day labourer whenever there is need for one in the village, but the jobs are not regular.

“If I could get some skills training, I could stay at home, make some money, tend the cattle and also take care of my sisters and brother,” Geeta said.

In early April, a month since her last visit, Kadita was back with the family. She has been trying to help them by contacting local organizations that may be able to provide support or assistance. “I have been talking to some organizations who want to train and employ Geeta on a part-time basis as a social mobilizer, and pay for her and Rita’s education,” she said. Both sisters were excited about the plan.

UNICEF's partner for education in Ramechhap has also been trying to find a solution for educating older children like Geeta and Rita who have dropped out of school.

Kadita too says that if the children find work, or go back to school, there will be an issue of who will do the chores at home – who will tend their cattle, cook for the family or take care of their younger siblings. Their aunt and uncle have promised to stick by them.

“It will be tough for the aunt and uncle. It is challenging, but with a little support the plan should work,” she said. “The children can’t rely on their parents to return and take care of them. So if this alternative plan works out, they will no longer have to live in poverty and can plan for their future.”


 

 

UNICEF Photography: After the quake

New enhanced search