UNICEF.org新网站正在建设中。
网页内容还在更新中。感谢您的耐心,敬请稍后查看。

缅甸

和平相处:缅甸若开邦开展社区儿童保护

玛丽安娜 · 帕拉夫 (Mariana Palavra) 报道

位于缅甸西部的若开邦过去几年一直面临着种族关系紧张所导致的死亡、被迫迁离和生计丧失问题。联合国儿童基金会与非政府组织社区和家庭服务国际 (CFSI) 目前开展合作,确保儿童和青少年免受国内冲突、歧视和贫困的影响。

缅甸,若开邦孟都县,2016年10月12日——在苏密杜 (Saw Myat Thu) 20岁的时候,她有了一个新的爱好。从学校毕业后,为了缓解家庭负担,她开始在孟都县的儿童早期发展 (ECD) 中心从事助教工作。令她惊讶的是,她十分喜欢这份工作。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Myanmar/2016/Palavra
苏密杜的家乡就在孟都县。对于接受“儿童友好家园 (CFS)” 助理引导员这项新的工作,她非常兴奋。

“我过去经常读诗给孩子们听、给他们唱歌、帮他们画画、给他们讲故事,还教他们如何洗手和刷牙。”她回忆称,“我喜欢照顾孩子。那是一个很好的环境,我非常开心。”

儿童早期发展中心由非政府组织社区和家庭服务国际 (CFSI) 负责运作,地点位于若开邦,而该地区多年以来一直面临着种族关系紧张问题。苏密杜曾两次在儿童早期发展中心任教,第一次教的是佛教徒孩子,第二次教的是一个包括佛教徒、穆斯林和印度教徒的不同种族班级。对于孩子们来说,这并没有什么不同。

“环境十分相似,关系一样相同。他们都是孩子,一起玩耍,没有争斗。”

就在第一次任教时隔两年后的今天,苏密杜很快将再一次来到孩子们身边。她是社区和家庭服务国际组建的“儿童友好家园 (CFS)”项目招募的首批助理引导员之一。该项目由联合国儿童基金会给予支持,并由欧盟委员会人道主义援助和公民保护部门 (ECHO) 提供资金援助。

苏密杜与其他引导员一起接受了专门培训,包括生活技能、艾滋病预防、青少年面临的风险,以及针对培训师的培训,以此帮助构建社区能力。

“我所工作的不同社区宗教对我来说,没有任何差别。无论面对来自什么宗教背景的孩子,我都非常高兴。”她说道。

强有力的伙伴关系

“儿童友好家园”项目由欧盟委员会人道主义援助和公民保护部门提供资助,它是联合国儿童基金会、社区和家庭服务国际共同实施项目中的一部分。联合国儿童基金会、社区和家庭服务国际正在齐心协力加强针对若开邦北部的孟都县、布帝洞和拉得堂三个城镇开展儿童保护。该项目的总体目标是防止居住在这些城镇的儿童受到虐待、剥削和忽视,为此该项目将建立强有力的社区儿童保护机制和公共意识。

“若开邦北部地区的儿童保护工作主要来自贫困、歧视和国内冲突。”联合国儿童基金会缅甸儿童保护主管阿龙 · 格林伯格 (Aaron Greenberg) 表示。若开邦北部地区同时容易遭受自然灾害影响。2015年,飓风“科门”就曾对上述三个城镇15%的人口造成影响。

“儿童仍然能够感受到国内紧张局势所带来的影响,因而急需我们开展大力支持。”格林伯格补充道。青少年同样在获得青少年服务上受到限制,并由此导致童婚、童工,以及带有风险的迁离,甚至触犯法律。

作为联合国儿童基金会与社区和家庭服务国际的合作项目,该项目将与包括女性领导人在内的社区开展紧密合作,发现在儿童保护方面存在的问题,同时实施相应举措。该项目还为受到虐待、剥削和忽视的幸存儿童提供个案管理服务。另一个核心部分则是建立保护场所,正如苏密杜将工作的“儿童友好家园”。这些场所为儿童提供身体、心理和认知保护,并向他们传授基本生活技能。

这些举措将覆盖冲突社区所有受到影响的人群,尤其重视受到冲突、洪涝、迁离和拐卖影响的男童和女童等弱势群体。超过14万人将直接或间接受益于这一为期一年的项目。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Myanmar/2016/Palavra
易卜拉欣与其所在社区的儿童。“每天,我鼓励孩子们来到学校,为他们创造一个快乐的环境,并进行能够提高自身健康和卫生意识的活动。”他说,“我希望所有的孩子都能来上学。”

社区论坛

儿童保护论坛也是该项目与社区合作的一种方式。这些平台鼓励参与者发现影响其所在社区最显著的儿童保护问题,特别是国内暴力、儿童拐卖、性虐待、家长忽视和容易受到迁离等方面带来的影响。

易卜拉欣 (Ebrahim) 是Phar Wet Chaung村庄一所中学的志愿者老师。自从他成为其所在社区儿童保护团体的成员后,他被推选参加村庄论坛。论坛共有15名成员,包括社区和宗教领导人、青年、儿童和单身母亲。

“作为一名老师,我享有一些特权,因为我能够通过发现儿童保护存在的问题,与其他社区成员一起试图找到解决办法,从而为改变现状出一份力。”易卜拉欣说道。

村庄领导人表示,自从这些儿童保护机制开始实施后,一些社区已经开始有所改变,如儿童参与有所增加,体罚数量有所减少。

和平相处

尽管面临种种挑战,苏密杜和易卜拉欣都坚信他们所在社区的未来将会更加美好。

苏密杜最近获悉,她将被安排到一个青少年来自不同宗教背景的“儿童友好家园”工作,而她已经准备好迎接这个全新挑战。

“三至五岁的儿童不会区别对待对方,但青少年却很有可能受到社会影响。”她说,“所以,我们需要将更多的精力放在传达和平相处的信息上,只有这样青少年才会为建立和平贡献力量。”

她表示:“如果我们都能和平相处,这不是更好吗?”


 

 

搜索

We’re building a new UNICEF.org.
As we swap out old for new, pages will be in transition. Thanks for your patience – please keep coming back to see the improvements.

Myanmar, Republic of the Union of

Living in peace: Community engagement for child protection in Rakhine State

By Mariana Palavra

Rakhine State in western Myanmar has seen years of ethnic tensions, causing death, displacement and loss of livelihoods. UNICEF and the NGO Community and Family Services International (CFSI) are working together to make sure that children and adolescents are shielded from the effects of inter-communal conflict, discrimination and poverty.

MAUNGDAW, Rakhine State, Myanmar, 12 October 2016 – When Saw Myat Thu was 20 years old, she discovered a new passion. Done with school and eager to help her family, she took a job as an assistant teacher at an Early Childhood Development (ECD) centre in Maungdaw, Myanmar. To her surprise, she loved it.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Myanmar/2016/Palavra
Saw Myat Thu in her town of Maungdaw. She is excited to take on a new challenge as assistant facilitator at a Child Friendly Space.

“I used to read poems to children, sing songs, help them draw and paint, tell them stories, teach them how to wash hands and brush teeth,” she recalls. “I loved taking care of children. It was a great environment and I was happy.”

The ECD centre was run by the NGO Community and Family Services International (CFSI), and was located in Rakhine State – an area that has seen years of ethnic tensions. Saw Myat Thu taught at the centre twice – first with Buddhist children, and then with a mixed class attended by Buddhists, Muslims and Hindus. But to the children, she says, there were no differences.

“It was a similar environment, it was the same dynamic. They are all children playing together with no fighting.”

Now, two years after her first class, Saw Myat Thu will soon work with children again. She was one of the first assistant facilitators recruited to work in one of the Child Friendly Spaces (CFS) formed by CFSI, a project supported by UNICEF with financial assistance from the European Commission - Humanitarian Aid and Civil Protection (ECHO).

She and the other facilitators received specialized training, which included life skills, HIV prevention, risks faced by adolescents, and training of trainers to help build capacity in the community. 

“The religion of the communities I am working with doesn’t make any difference to me. Whatever group I am given, I will be happy,” she says.

Strong partnership

The CFS project is part of a larger ECHO-funded programme carried out by UNICEF and CFSI. The organizations are working together to strengthen child protection in three townships in the northern part of Rakhine State: Maungdaw, Buthidaung and Rathedaung. With the overall goal of preventing the abuse, exploitation and neglect of all children living in these townships, the programme will establish strong community-based child protection mechanisms and public awareness.

“The main child protection concerns in northern part of Rakhine stem from poverty, discrimination and inter-communal conflict,” says Aaron Greenberg, Child Protection Chief at UNICEF Myanmar. The area is also prone to natural disasters, such as the 2015 Cyclone Komen that affected 15 per cent of the total population in these three townships.

“Children still feel the effects of inter-communal tensions and dedicated support is still very much needed,” Mr. Greenberg adds. Adolescents, too, have limited access to youth services, which can lead to child marriage, child labour, risky migration and conflict with the law.

The UNICEF-CFSI programme will work closely with communities, including women leaders, to identify protection concerns and implement appropriate responses. The programme also provides case management services to child survivors of abuse, exploitation and neglect. Another key part of the programme is establishing safe spaces, like the one where Saw Myat Thu will work. These spaces provide physical, psychosocial, and cognitive protection to children while teaching essential life skills.

The activities will be inclusive of the affected populations across the community divides, and will focus particularly on the vulnerable – those girls and boys affected by conflict, the floods, migration and trafficking. More than 140,000 people will directly or indirectly benefit from the year-long project.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Myanmar/2016/Palavra
Ebrahim with children from his community. “Every day, I encourage children to come to school, create a happy environment for them, and provide health and hygiene awareness activities,” he says. “I wish that all children can go to school.”

Community forum

One of the ways the programme is working with communities is through child protection forums. These platforms encourage participants to identify the most significant child protection issues affecting their community, particularly the impact of inter-communal violence, child trafficking, sexual abuse, parental neglect and vulnerability to migration.
 
Ebrahim is a volunteer teacher in a post-primary school in Phar Wet Chaung village. Since he was a member of the child protection group from his community, he was chosen to participate in the village’s forum. He is one of 15 participants, including community and religious leaders, youth, children and single mothers.

“As a teacher, I am in a privileged position as I can make a difference by identifying child protection issues and trying to find solutions, together with other community members,” Ebrahim says.

According to the village leaders, since these child protection mechanisms started to be implemented, a few things have already changed in some communities, namely an increase in the participation of children and a decrease in cases of corporal punishment.

Living in peace 

Despite the challenges, both Ebrahim and Saw Myat Thu believe in a brighter future for their community.

Saw Myat Thu recently learned that she will be placed in a mixed Child Friendly Space for adolescents from different religious backgrounds. She is ready for the new challenge.

“Children between 3 and 5 don’t look at each other differently, but adolescents may be already influenced by society,” she says. “So, we need to focus more on peace messages so that adolescents can contribute to peacebuilding.”

She adds, “Wouldn’t it be so good if we could all live in peace?”


 

 

UNICEF Photography: Still haunted by nightmares

UNICEF-EU Partnership

New enhanced search