UNICEF.org新网站正在建设中。
网页内容还在更新中。感谢您的耐心,敬请稍后查看。

伊拉克

在伊拉克,运水上山

林赛.麦肯齐报道

为了给暂居于一个孤立高坡的多个伊拉克家庭供水,联合国儿童基金会工作团队采用了一个创造性的供水方式。

伊拉克夸沙法瑞,2015年6月9日 —在伊拉克库尔德地区杜胡克附近的一个高原,联合国儿童基金会的水、环境卫生和个人卫生(WASH)工作人员遇到了一个难题:25个流离失所的家庭栖身于未完工的建筑物内,无法获得清洁的饮用水。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Iraq/2015/Mackenzie
在前往伊拉克库尔德地区思捷夸沙法瑞村的路上,罗梅尔.托马驾驶着自己的拖拉机爬上陡坡。拖拉机为这里的25个家庭带来了净水。因为道路崎岖,普通的卡车无法进入这一地区。

因为现有供水系统的水位远远低于这些分散的建筑物并且距离遥远,所以不可能将这些建筑物连接到供水系统内。而居住在这里的众多家庭并不愿意搬到具备供水条件的正规安置点。

唯一可行的解决办法似乎只能是用卡车供水,但调查发现大型车辆无法在崎岖的道路上通行。

最终,联合国儿童基金会找到了一个简单的解决方案。

“我们改用拖拉机,”联合国儿童基金会驻杜胡克WASH专家加桑.马德华说:“拖拉机适应地形的能力更强。”

提供净水

在德国复兴信贷发展银行及其他合作伙伴的资助下,联合国儿童基金会每天为暂居于杜胡克省的约6.2万名流离失所者提供清洁的饮用水。

现在,这个大型运水车队中还包括拖拉机。

每天,22岁的罗梅尔.托马会将一个4000升的水箱挂接到自己蓝色的拖拉机上,到附近补水点为水箱加满净水,然后驶向住在陡峭山坡上未完工建筑中的那些家庭。罗梅尔.托马是一名当地人。拖拉机在高低不平的山路上缓慢行驶,不时停下来避让经过的羊群,一些水滴滴滴答答地坠落到地面上。在阳光的照耀下,被风吹散的水雾形成了彩虹,在拖拉机旁舞动。

“每当他们看到拖拉机的时候,这些家庭所表现出的快乐溢于言表,”罗梅尔说。

笨重的拖拉机用低沉的隆隆声宣布了它的到来。流离失所的儿童、妇女和其他家庭成员们携带着空塑料容器、曾经用来装橄榄油的罐子、各色的大盆和水桶走出临时住所。罗梅尔跳下拖拉机,使用一根长塑料软管连接到铁制水箱,人们用自己的各式容器来接水。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Iraq/2015/Mackenzie
15岁的哈米德正在用大盆和桶接水,他的家人们站在一所未完工的建筑物前静静地看着,他们一家人目前居住在这里。哈米德一家于2014年八月被迫逃离辛贾尔,在来到这里之前已经搬迁过两次。

15岁的哈米德把住水管。他的表情庄重宁静,脸上的沧桑远远超过了他本来的年纪。持续不断的暴力迫使哈米德一家于去年八月逃离了位于辛贾尔的家。经过了一段艰难的旅程来到杜胡克后,他们栖身于一所拥挤的校舍内。之后,他们搬到了卡函柯村的一个非正式定居点。由于卫生条件很差,他们再次搬家,最后于两个月前定居在夸沙法瑞。

“如果没有净水,我们根本无法在这里生活,”他说:“日常生活的所有事情都离不开水 - 饮用、洗涤、洗澡。”

哈米德辍学已经超过一年。事实上,他在一个建筑工地打工来帮助家里赚钱。这个高原上3个家庭的18名成员共同使用2个水箱的水。他们每周只能洗一次澡。

“水很好,很干净,我们都很健康,”他说:“只是水还不足够。”

拖拉机的驾驶员罗梅尔说,尽管他每天会跑五趟或者更多,但是有些日子他依然不能把水送到该地区的每一个家庭。在很多非正式定居点,人们要求更多的水,以及其他像教育这样的必要的服务,但由于缺乏资金而无法扩大支持规模。

成本高昂的挑战

在伊拉克,27%的流离失所者暂居于未完工的建筑物、非正式定居点或其他庇护所中,8%居住在有组织的营地中。为这些分散在各处的家庭提供水、环境卫生和个人卫生服务极具挑战并且成本高昂。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Iraq/2015/Mackenzie
在夸沙法瑞村,罗梅尔站在自己的拖拉机前,他每天要跑好几趟为流离失所的人们送水。

事实上,如果资金需求无法得到满足,即使为夸沙法瑞村提供有限的净水供应也可能被迫中断。

在联合国儿童基金会WASH专家加桑位于杜胡克的办公室中,他表示如果没有新的资金,对所提供服务产生的影响将是灾难性的。

“举例来说,你会看到大街上污水横流,”他说:“人们只能饮用未经氯化消毒的水。水量越来越少。这当然会对健康产生不利影响,特别是对儿童和最弱势群体。”

目前,夸沙法瑞很多流离失所的家庭,就像哈米德一家一样,在依靠罗梅尔用拖拉机运水上山,去装满水箱。每一天,风中的彩虹以及各式的容器在等待着罗梅尔。

但是这种情况还能维持多久 — 如果失去了拖拉机供水这些家庭将面临何种窘境 — 没有人能知道。

 


 

 

联合国儿童基金会摄影专辑: 支持雅兹迪人

搜索

In Iraq, getting water to go uphill | Iraq | UNICEF

We’re building a new UNICEF.org.
As we swap out old for new, pages will be in transition. Thanks for your patience – please keep coming back to see the improvements.

Iraq

In Iraq, getting water to go uphill

By Lindsay Mackenzie

To reach a group of Iraqi families sheltering on an isolated plateau with no water supply, the UNICEF team takes a creative approach to water delivery.

QASHAFAR, Iraq, 9 June 2015 – On a high plateau near the city of Dohuk, in the Kurdistan region of Iraq, UNICEF’s Water, Sanitation and Hygiene (WASH) officers had a dilemma: 25 displaced families living in unfinished buildings had no access to clean water.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Iraq/2015/Mackenzie
Romel Toma drives his tractor up the steep hillside to Qashafar hamlet of Sijie, in Iraq's Kurdistan Region. The tractor brings clean water to 25 families in an area inaccessible to regular water trucks.

Connecting the scattered set of buildings to the existing water system far below would be impossible. And the families didn’t want to move to a formal settlement for displaced people, where water supply was available.

It seemed the only feasible solution would be to deliver water by truck, but the area was found to be inaccessible to large vehicles.

In the end, UNICEF found a simple solution.

“We used a tractor,” says Ghassan Madieh, UNICEF WASH Specialist in Dohuk. “It was appropriate for the terrain.”

Delivering clean water

With funding from Germany’s KfW Development Bank and other partners, UNICEF delivers clean water to 62,000 people displaced in Dohuk Governorate each day.

And the large water-trucking fleet now includes a water-trucking tractor.

Each day, a man from the area named Romel Toma, 22, hitches a 4,000-litre water tank to his matching blue tractor, fills the tank at a nearby pump, and then sets off towards the unfinished homes on the steep hillside. Drips of water trail behind the tractor as it weaves around potholes and stops for passing sheep. A rainbow pinwheel spins on the hood.

“The families are happy when they see the tractor,” Romel says.

The low rumble of the clunky vehicle announces his arrival. Displaced children, women and families emerge from within their makeshift homes carrying empty plastic containers, repurposed olive oil tins and multicolored buckets. Romel jumps off the tractor to connect a long plastic hose to an iron water tank while residents fill their buckets with water from the tractor’s tap.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Iraq/2015/Mackenzie
Hamid, 15, fills buckets with water as his family looks on in front of the unfinished building where they take shelter. Hamid's family was forced to flee Sinjar in August 2014 and relocated twice before settling here.

Hamid, 15, helps with the hose. Quiet and serious, his face is weathered beyond his age. Continuing violence forced Hamid’s family to flee their home in Sinjar last August. After a difficult journey to Dohuk, they found shelter in a crowded school building. Then they moved to an informal settlement in the village of Khanke, but poor sanitation facilities compelled them to move for a third time, finally settling here in Qashafar two months ago.

“Without this water, we wouldn’t be able to live here,” he says. “We use it for everything – drinking, washing, bathing.”

Hamid hasn’t been to school in over a year. Instead, he works at building sites to help his family earn money. The 18 people from three families on this plateau share two water tanks. They can bathe only once per week.

“The water is good and clean, and we are healthy,” he says, “but it’s not enough.”

Romel, the tractor driver, says that despite making five or more trips to the pump, some days he cannot bring water to each of the 25 families in the area. In informal settlements like this one, everyone asks for more water, as well as other essential services like education, but for now a lack of funding prevents scaling up the operation.

A costly challenge

In Iraq, 27 per cent of displaced people live in unfinished buildings, informal settlements or other shelter arrangements, while 8 per cent live in organized camps. Reaching these scattered families to provide them with water, sanitation and hygiene services is challenging and expensive.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Iraq/2015/Mackenzie
Romel stands in front of his tractor in Qashafar hamlet, where he makes several trips each day to deliver water.

In fact, if funding needs aren’t met, even the limited provision of water to Qashafar may come to a halt.

In his office in Dohuk, Ghassan, the UNICEF WASH Specialist, says that if no new funding arrives, the impact on service provision will be catastrophic.

“There would be sewage in the streets, for example,” he says. “You will see people getting unchlorinated water. You will see less water quantity. It will have a negative impact on health, especially on children and the most vulnerable.”

For now, the displaced families in Qashafar, like Hamid’s, rely on Romel’s tractor chugging up the hill to fill the tanks. Each day, the rainbow pinwheel spins in the wind and the parade of containers comes out to meet him.

But how long he can continue – and what the families will do if he can’t – is uncertain.


 

 

UNICEF Photography: Support for Yazidis

New enhanced search