UNICEF.org新网站正在建设中。
网页内容还在更新中。感谢您的耐心,敬请稍后查看。

海地

帮助海地社区从飓风“马修”中恢复

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/UN034843/Abassi, UN-MINUSTAH
海地热雷米的清理工作正在继续。热雷米位于海地西端,不久前遭受四级飓风“马修”重创。

珍 · 帕内尔 · 芳芳 (Jean Panel Fanfan) 报道

2016年10月4日,海地遭受飓风“马修”袭击,目前成百上千的人们急需人道主义援助。约50万儿童居住在遭受飓风袭击最为严重的地区。请看一名幸存妇女的经历,了解联合国儿童基金会如何在灾难现场提供应急响应。

海地,太子港,2016年10月6日——39岁的赫尔迈厄尼 · 伊斯梅尔 (Hermione Ismail) 是六个孩子的母亲,她似乎刚刚才从噩梦中醒来。她目光憔悴,声音颤抖,几乎无法描述自己的遭遇。她怀里紧紧抱着仅四天大的儿子,孩子是在飓风“马修”袭击海地两天前降生的。

“周六夜里我在家里生下这个孩子。我没时间去医院。房子被毁了,没法呆下去,我们只能来到这个避难所。”她说道。

就在她试图给儿子喂奶时,这个设在家乐福斯玛蓓丽社区学校 (Samot Carrefour Community School) 中的避难所不断传来嘈杂的人声。

赫尔迈厄尼依然处于惊恐之中,却对避难所的条件无所抱怨。她和孩子们受到良好的照顾。她们不仅有食物,甚至还有一块床垫可以睡觉,并最终有机会让儿子看医生。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Haiti/2016
赫尔迈厄尼 · 伊斯梅尔在家乐福斯玛蓓丽社区学校照顾刚出生的儿子。这所学校被作为临时避难所,收留飓风来临前被迫逃离家园的人们。

与时间赛跑

人们自愿来到这个避难所,公民保护局 (DPC) 和消防队同时也在为撤离提供支持。在飓风来临前,有关部门挨家挨户提醒人们警惕飓风袭击。广播车发出警报,敦促人们离开海滨地区。

大量公民保护局的工作人员现身家乐福,随时监控灾情。但是,其他行政区县工作人员的状况 (有些需要步行8小时才能到达) 目前仍不明朗,他们还在等待派往现场的工作人员发回消息。

家乐福斯玛蓓丽社区学校的避难所容纳超过140人,包括30名儿童,但避难所里的生活却井然有序。负责人试图保持厕所卫生,从而避免水传播疾病的污染。在家乐福市长和其他机构的共同努力下,他们做到了为所有人提供食物。

家乐福公民保护局协调员马克-亨利 · 博齐尔 (Marc-Henry Beauzil) 表示:“在市政厅与合作伙伴和公民保护局的联手支持下,避难所里的气氛相当安定。这里并不存在用水问题。迪基尼耶稣复临医院 (Adventist Hospital of Diquini) 的医生亲临现场为儿童提供医疗帮助,并针对卫生设施提供建议,以此避免疾病传播。”

很快之后,灾民家庭将面临寻找永久住处的问题。政府宣布学校将于10月10日复课,而避难所中的灾民必须在学校复课前疏散。

>> 联合国儿童基金会新闻发布稿:就在遭受飓风“马修”袭击一周后,海地至少有300所学校受损,导致10万多名儿童无法上学

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/UN035024/Moreno Gonzalez
两名儿童坐在海地大湾省破损的灯柱上。据估计,约50万儿童居住在遭受飓风袭击最为严重的地区,特别是大湾省和南部省。

联合国儿童基金会为海地政府提供支持

在飓风发生后,联合国儿童基金会动员整个支持团队为政府提供援助,实施响应计划,以此保护受到飓风影响的灾民,特别是儿童。

“每当灾难发生时,儿童是遭受打击最为严重的群体,因为他们最为弱势。” 联合国儿童基金会驻海地代表马克 · 文森特 (Marc Vincent) 表示,“联合国儿童基金会的任务就是确保儿童权利受到尊重,避免儿童成为任何遭受虐待的对象。我们与海地社会福利调查研究所展开密切合作,尤其重视儿童保护工作。”

应急小组与合作伙伴始终保持警惕,积极响应,避免任何霍乱疫情的爆发

联合国儿童基金会还与泛美卫生组织 (PAHO) 密切合作,展开应急卫生响应,并为卫生部的营养部门提供支持。联合国儿童基金会还将帮助重建海地中央政府和各部门之间的协调,尽可能地采取一切保护措施,发挥一切救治能力,为受灾地区提供帮助。

在飓风袭击后数日,联合国儿童基金会积极与当地政府和人道主义组织合作,在以下三个地区提前储备可供1万人使用的关键物资:南部省、阿蒂博尼特省和西北省。在上述各地区,可为650个家庭发放的急救包也已准备就绪。急救包中包括个人卫生用品包、家庭水处理设备、蚊帐、水桶和肥皂。

>> 了解更多关于海地儿童人道主义需求情况


 

 

搜索

We’re building a new UNICEF.org.
As we swap out old for new, pages will be in transition. Thanks for your patience – please keep coming back to see the improvements.

At a glance: Haiti

Helping communities in Haiti recover from Hurricane Matthew

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/UN034843/Abassi, UN-MINUSTAH
Clean up continues in Jeremie, Haiti. The city lies on the western tip of Haiti and suffered the full force of category 4 storm Hurricane Matthew.
 

By Jean Panel Fanfan

Hundreds of thousands of people are in need of humanitarian assistance after Hurricane Matthew passed over Haiti on 4 October. An estimated 500,000 children live in the hardest-hit areas. Hear one woman’s story of survival, and learn how UNICEF is responding to the needs on the ground.

PORT-AU-PRINCE, Haiti, 6 October 2016 – Hermione Ismail, 39, a mother of six young children, looks as though she is emerging from a nightmare. With haggard eyes, her voice still trembling, she can barely find words to describe what she’s lived through. She tightly cradles her four-day-old son in her arms – he was born just two days before Hurricane Matthew hit Haiti. 

"I gave birth to the baby Saturday night at home. I have not had time to go to the hospital. My house was damaged and it was impossible to stay, so we came to this shelter," she says.

As she tries to nurse her son, we listen to the noise and bustle of people housed in the shelter located in the Samot Carrefour Community School.

Hermione, still in shock, does not complain of the reception in the shelter. She and her children have been treated well – they have food and even a mattress to sleep on. And she finally had the opportunity to have her baby seen by doctors.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Haiti/2016
Hermione Ismail nurses her son at the Samot Carrefour Community School. The school is being used as a temporary shelter for people who evacuated their homes before the hurricane.

Race against time

People came to this shelter voluntarily, and both the Directorate of Civil Protection (DPC) and the fire brigade facilitated the evacuation process. Prior to the hurricane, authorities went door-to-door to raise awareness about the storm, and sound trucks played warning messages urging people to leave the coastal areas.

The DPC agents are present in large numbers in Carrefour, and regularly monitor the situation. However the status of other communal sections – many as far as 8 hours walking distance – remains a mystery, as they still await news from agents sent to the field.

The shelter in the Samot Carrefour Community School holds more than 140 people, including 30 children, but life inside remains organized. Those in charge try to keep the toilets clean to avoid contamination from water-borne diseases. Thanks to the diligence of the mayor of Carrefour and other organizations, they manage to feed everyone.

"The shelter is fairly peaceful because support was given by the Town Hall with partners and the DPC,” says Marc-Henry Beauzil, coordinator of the DPC at Carrefour. “There is no real water problem. Regarding children, Adventist Hospital of Diquini provides assistance through visits. They gave them advice on sanitation practices to prevent disease."

But soon, the families will need to find more permanent housing. The government decreed the reopening of classes on Monday, 10 October, and those in the shelter must evacuate before academic activities resume in the school.

>>  UNICEF Press Release: One week after Hurricane Matthew, at least 300 schools damaged in Haiti, over 100,000 children miss out on learning

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/UN035024/Moreno Gonzalez
Two children sit on a broken light post in the Garnd-Anse Department, Haiti. It is estimated that half a million children live in the areas most affected by the hurricane, particularly in Grand-Anse and the South.

UNICEF support to the Haitian government

Since the announcement of the hurricane, UNICEF has mobilized its entire support team to the Government and implemented its response plan to protect people affected by the storm, especially children.

"In times of disaster, children are the ones who suffer the most, because they’re the weakest,” says Marc Vincent, UNICEF Representative in Haiti. “Our role at UNICEF is to work to ensure that children's rights are respected and they are not the targets of any kind of abuse. We place special emphasis on protection by working closely with the IBESR [Haiti’s Institute of Social Well-Being and Research]."

The emergency team and partners remain vigilant to respond to and prevent any cholera outbreaks.

UNICEF is also closely collaborating with Pan American Health Organization (PAHO) for the emergency health response and supporting the nutrition section of the Ministry of Health. The organization will help re-establish sectoral coordination at the central and departmental levels to maximize preventive measures and care capacity in the affected areas.

In the days following the hurricane, UNICEF has been working with the Government and the humanitarian community to pre-position crucial stocks for 10,000 people in three areas: the South, Artibonite and Northwest. In each of these areas, aid kits for 650 families are ready to be distributed. These contain hygiene kits, at-home water treatments, a mosquito net, a bucket and soap.

>>  Learn more about the humanitarian needs of children in Haiti


 

 

UNICEF Photography: Surviving Hurricane Matthew

New enhanced search