UNICEF.org新网站正在建设中。
网页内容还在更新中。感谢您的耐心,敬请稍后查看。

古巴

学习不设限:全纳教育为古巴儿童带来成长空间

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Cuba/2016
古巴哈瓦那大学新闻系的莱尼尔在他的盲文打字机上忙个不停。

玛尔塔 · 洛佩兹 · 费雪 (Marta Lopez Fesser) 报道

“我梦想着一切正在实现,我能和别人谈话,尽管我不确定自己是否能‘看到’。我只知道我有梦想。”

古巴,哈瓦那,2016年11月2日——莱尼尔 (Reinier) 对任何事物都能做出迅速而有力的回应。他今年18岁,对自己周围所有的人和事物都充满好奇,这让他陷入阵阵的幻觉与深深的犹疑中,而任何青少年都有可能面临如此境况。但莱尼尔并不担心未来,他知道,既然自己能努力走到现在这一步,那将来就没有什么能难得倒他。

莱尼尔说:“我出生时就是盲人,看不到东西很自然。对于那些在我这个年龄失去视力的人而言,困难当然会更大。有了家人的支持,我也在随着年龄增长而不断成长。”

从他出生之日起,他的母亲克拉丽贝尔 (Claribel) 始终是他身边最忠实、最非凡的陪伴者。她教给他人生中最重要的一课:他的成长和梦想与其他孩子一样,不受限制。

莱尼尔在阿贝尔圣玛丽亚特殊教育学校接受了九年教育。在那里,他学到了升入主流学校所需的一切知识。古巴的特殊教育学校具有临时性质,它帮助学生过渡到主流教育体系。在阿贝尔圣玛丽亚特殊教育学校,莱尼尔学习使用手杖、分辨颜色、弹吉他和钢琴,以及骑自行车。他还学习了历史、算术和地理。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Cuba/2016
卡洛斯 · 巴托洛梅教授与阿贝尔圣玛丽亚特殊教育学校的学生们在一起。他一生致力于为视障儿童传道授业。

莱尼尔的老师卡洛斯 · 巴托洛梅 (Carlos Bartolomé) 一生致力于为视障儿童传道授业。“我教给他们独立自强的工具,让他们靠自己的力量行走。他们也做到了。他们还是孩子,没有做不到的事情。”

在转入主流学校后,莱尼尔还要接受三年的大学预科教育,他在那里却遇到了困难。他说:“我必须让自己融入。老师和同学都是新的,我是唯一有特殊需要的学生。许多老师都没有教过我这样的学生,但很快他们就开始设法改进教学方法,让我感到轻松自在。”

在古巴,有将近10000名残疾儿童在主流学校接受教育。有时候,由于老师并未受过全纳教育培训,没有相关教学用具,因而无法为特殊儿童提供达到教学目标所需要的支持。联合国儿童基金会支持教师的全纳教育培训,同时提高相关家庭的认识。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Cuba/2016
尤塞 · 汉伯托 · 佩雷斯与莱尼尔站在一起。在大学预科阶段,佩雷斯担任莱尼尔的教学指导。

在预科第一年,尤塞 · 汉伯托 · 佩雷斯 (José Humberto Perez) 担任莱尼尔的教学指导。他负责观察和调整课堂状态,从而保证课堂环境安全、适合残疾学生学习。

“我承认,最初盲文打字机让我感到困扰。实际上,人人都会如此。”他说,“加强同学们对残疾同学的认识很有必要。但几周后,莱尼尔就凭借自己的幽默感交到很多朋友。”

在克里斯蒂诺-纳兰霍的预科学习中,大家还记得,一位教学指导在一次考试中发现莱尼尔独自一人呆在教室外面。他关切地询问莱尼尔,为什么他被独自留在外面。他回答说,因为自己东张西望被抓住了。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Cuba/2016
莱尼尔在课堂上使用盲文打字机。同学们花了一些时间才习惯盲文打字机的声音,但他们很快就适应了,并像普通同学一样接纳了莱尼尔。

莱尼尔努力学习了三年,成为班里唯一取得金质证书 (最高学习成绩) 毕业的学生。在校这些年来,他特别喜欢电脑,并能够非常熟练地使用JOS软件。利用这个软件,通过语音合成器,他能够找到电脑里的所有东西。国际象棋和文字处理是他的最爱。此外,莱尼尔还在许多学校活动中担任广播员,这时的他比其他同学感到更为自如。因为他知道,自己将来想要成为一名记者。

他毫不犹豫地报考了哈瓦那大学新闻系。在整个春天的紧张等待后,他得知自己被录取了。九月份,莱尼尔与其他40多位同学一起在新闻系开始学习。特殊教育学校的校车每天在学校和家之间往返接送他的日子一去不复返了。现在,在新闻系上学成为他人生一次新的征程,他很高兴地与父亲一起踏上旅途。

“以前,我与别人不一样,并是唯一与众不同的人。”他说,“在这里,我必须非常努力地学习。这里的人更多,竞争也更激烈,同时还有更为多元的文化。但我并不孤立,大学里的每个人都与众不同。”

今天,莱尼尔是最早一批来到教室的人,他就坐在前排。他的同学们还没有习惯盲文打字机发出的“啪啪”声,他希望自己能够很快用笔记本电脑换掉它。他使用打字机做笔记,在走廊时,他还会坐在打字机上。

“它可是用钢做的哦,用途可多了。”他笑道。


 

 

搜索

We’re building a new UNICEF.org.
As we swap out old for new, pages will be in transition. Thanks for your patience – please keep coming back to see the improvements.

Cuba

Learning without limits: Inclusive education gives children room to grow in Cuba

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Cuba/2016
Reinier works on his braille typewriter at the Faculty of Journalism at the University of Havana, Cuba.
 

By Marta Lopez Fesser

“I dream that things are happening, that I talk to people, I'm not sure whether ‘I see’ or ‘I don’t see’. I only know that I dream.”

HAVANA, Cuba, 2 November 2016 – Reinier has a rapid and forceful response to everything. At the age of 18, his curiosity for everything and everyone around him keeps him suspended between illusion and absolute uncertainty – as can happen with any teenager. But he is not concerned about the future; he knows that if he has managed to get this far, he can do anything.

“I was born blind so for me it is normal not to see,” says Reinier. “For those who lose their vision at my age, it is much more difficult, of course. I've developed as I was growing up, with the support of my family.”

Claribel, his mother, has been his most faithful and extraordinary companion since he was born. She has taught him the most important lesson of his life: that his development and his dreams, just like any other child, have no limits.

For nine years, Reinier attended the Abel Santa María special school, where he learned all he needed to advance to a mainstream school. In Cuba, the temporary nature of the special schools is designed to serve as a transition towards integration into mainstream education. At Abel Santa María School he learned to use a cane, identify colours, play the guitar, play the piano and ride a bike. He also learned history, arithmetic and geography. 

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Cuba/2016
Professor Carlos Bartolomé works with students at the Abel Santa María special school. He has dedicated his life to teaching boys and girls with visual impairments to function in their environments.
 

His professor, Carlos Bartolomé, has dedicated his life to teaching boys and girls with visual impairments to function in their environments. “I give them the tools to be independent, so that they can move by themselves. And they do it. They are children, they are capable of anything.”

When he moved to the mainstream school, where he would do three years of ‘pre-university’, Reinier felt challenged. “I had to insert myself. All the teachers and students were new to me, I was the only different student with different needs,” he says. “Many of the teachers didn’t have experience with students like me, but soon they began to show interest, improving their methods, and I felt at home.”

Nearly 10,000 children with disabilities study in mainstream schools in Cuba. Sometimes their teachers lack inclusive training and teaching tools, and cannot offer the necessary support to help these children to achieve their educational objectives. UNICEF contributes to the inclusive training of these teachers and raises awareness among the families.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Cuba/2016
José Humberto Perez stands with Reinier. Mr. Perez was Reinier's teaching guide during pre-university school.
 

José Humberto Perez was Reinier’s ‘teacher guide’ during his first year – a person who is in charge of observing and adapting the dynamics in class, so that the environment for the student with disabilities is appropriate and safe.

“I recognized that at first the ‘taca’ of his [braille] machine bothered me – well, bothered everyone in fact,” he says. “It was necessary to raise awareness to the classroom, but after a few weeks Reinier and his sense of humour had already made many friends.”

In the Cristino Naranjo pre-university, they still remember when a teacher guide found Reinier alone outside of classroom during an exam. When he asked Reinier with concern why they had left him out, he replied that they had caught him looking.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Cuba/2016
Reinier types on his braille typewriter during class. It took his classmates a little while to adjust to the sound of the typewriter, but they soon grew accustomed to it and welcomed Reinier like any other student.
 

Reinier spent three years working hard – so hard that he became the only student in his class to graduate with a Diploma of Gold, the highest academic distinction. During those years he particularly enjoyed computers, and had an impressive proficiency in the software JOS, which, through a voice synthesizer, locates all the options available in the computer. Chess and word processing became his favourite activities. Reinier had also been a broadcaster at many school activities, and he felt more at ease in the role than other students. He knew then that he wanted to be a journalist.

Without thinking twice, he applied to the University of Havana to study journalism. After spending the spring full of nerves, he learned that he had been admitted. Reinier began his studies at the Faculty of Journalism in September, together with more than 40 students. Gone are the days when the special school minibus (guagua) picked him up and dropped him at home every day. Now, going to the Faculty is part of a new adventure, which he enjoys with his father.

“Before, I stood out – I was the only different one,” he says. “Here I have to work very hard, there is more participation, more competition, more culture. I'm not the only one; at the University we are all different.”

Today, Reinier is one of the first to arrive in the classroom and takes a place in the front row. His companions are not yet accustomed to the ‘taca-taca’ of his old braille typewriter, which he soon hopes to replace with a laptop. He uses the typewriter to take notes, and even to sit on in the hallway.

“It’s made of steel, isn’t it? So it can do many things,” he laughs.


 

 

UNICEF Photography: Including Usher

 

New enhanced search