UNICEF.org新网站正在建设中。
网页内容还在更新中。感谢您的耐心,敬请稍后查看。

柬埔寨

解决金边弱势群体中存在的严重急性营养不良问题

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Cambodia/2016/Kiev
15个月大的塞哈坐在母亲索克 · 切亚腿上。在接受了将营养薄饼作为治疗性食品的治疗性喂养后,切亚正在从严重急性营养不良中恢复。

法林 · 基夫 (Pharin Kiev) 和阿尔诺 · 莱卢 (Arnaud Laillou) 报道

在柬埔寨首都金边的贫民窟里,许多儿童能够摄取到的唯一固体营养来源就是稀饭。为了解决这些弱势群体中存在的严重急性营养不良问题,联合国儿童基金会与合作伙伴共同为正在接受治疗性喂养的柬埔寨儿童开发出一种既营养又美味的小吃。

柬埔寨,金边,2016年11月8日——在金边的一个贫民窟里,15个月大的尹 · 塞哈 (Yin Seiha) 与母亲索克 · 切亚 (Sok Chea) 住在洞里萨湖上的一间单独小屋里。令人难以置信的是,就在一个月以前,眼前这个正在与一岁邻居玩耍的孩子还在生死边缘挣扎,急需接受特殊治疗。

幸运的是,她引起了当地村庄健康志愿者索缇雅 · 泰思 (Sothea Teth) 的注意,而泰思的工作就是负责寻找患有营养不良的儿童,然后将他们转至服务机构接受援助。与此同时,她还针对那些存在患上营养不良风险,并可从现有服务中获益的妇女和儿童进行随访。

索缇雅敦促切亚在由柬埔寨卫生部主办、联合国儿童基金会支持的营养筛查活动期间将孩子带到附近的健康中心由医疗工作人员对其进行检查。孩子之前频繁生病,患有发烧和经常性的腹泻。“作为一名志愿者,我知道许多家庭的孩子都患有营养不良。”索缇雅说,“在对各个家庭进行探访后,使得我能够将这些孩子转至当地村庄,或健康中心和医院接受治疗。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Cambodia/2016/Laillou
治疗性食品num trey与其经过测试的最新包装设计。薄饼用来迎合柬埔寨儿童的口味偏好,从而使得这些家庭能够接受和坚持食品治疗。

在筛查活动的现场,经过医疗工作人员诊断,塞哈患有严重急性营养不良,急需接受特殊治疗。与其他许多生活在相似条件下的贫困儿童一样,不当饮食 (稀饭作为唯一固体营养来源) 被认为是造成塞哈营养状况不佳的主要原因。

营养鱼味小吃

与其他许多贫困的柬埔寨人一样,切亚根本不知道孩子成长所需的营养。她并未认识到,她喂养塞哈的食物不仅有碍于她的成长和发育,甚至会危及她的生命。

就在塞哈被诊断出患有严重急性营养不良后,来访的医疗工作人员告诉切亚将孩子带到位于金边的国家儿童医院接受治疗。在那里,她获得了由联合国儿童基金会与法国发展研究所 (IRD) 合作开发和测试的治疗性食品:一种称为num trey (高棉鱼味小吃) 的薄饼。

这种小吃用来迎合柬埔寨儿童的口味偏好,从而使得这些家庭能够接受和坚持食品治疗。医院的工作人员每月看望一次获得num trey的儿童,以便监测治疗进展。目前正在进行的治疗性食品影响研究的最终结果预计将于年底前公布。

塞哈是2016年前三个季度已在或正在位于金边的国家儿童医院接受急性营养不良治疗的206名儿童之一。

>> 了解更多:创新的营养食品大大缓解柬埔寨的营养不良问题

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Cambodia/2016/Kiev
在位于金边的家外,切亚正怀抱着塞哈。与其他许多贫困的柬埔寨人一样,切亚根本不知道孩子成长所需的营养。

更加健康的未来

切亚对结果已经非常满意了。“幸好有医院提供的num trey,现在我的孩子好多了,体重也在开始增加。”这位母亲开心地说,“在医院里,他们还告诉我,接下来要进行的三次随访将对监测塞哈的健康恢复很重要。除此之外,我们还要领取更多的治疗性食品。”

塞哈非常喜欢吃num trey,并在每次随访中均有良好表现。在首次随访后,她第一次能够爬行。又过了两周,她已经能够与其他孩子一起玩耍活动了。

如此结果十分鼓舞人心,切亚自然也下定决心要完成后续治疗。“她开始吃得越来越多,健康状况也在不断好转。”她说,“我不想让她再生病了。我希望她健健康康的。塞哈现在的体重正常,饮食也大大改善。我非常高兴。”

在澳大利亚、加拿大、香港和韩国等地的联合国儿童基金会国家委员会的支持下,2015年在金边开展了三次具有针对性的大规模营养筛查活动,2016年也已开展两次,每次涉及5000多名儿童。

2015年,这些干预措施加上其他服务让4000多名儿童得到治疗,预计到2016年底将会覆盖更多。

因地制宜地制定治疗严重急性营养不良的方案和指南正在帮助儿童完成治疗和实现全面恢复,并对其身体和认知发展具有长远的积极影响。

获得治疗的每一名儿童都让柬埔寨离消除严重急性营养不良带来的有害影响和为所有人创造一个更加健康的未来更近一步。


 

 

搜索

We’re building a new UNICEF.org.
As we swap out old for new, pages will be in transition. Thanks for your patience – please keep coming back to see the improvements.

Cambodia

Combatting severe acute malnutrition in Phnom Penh’s vulnerable communities

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Cambodia/2016/Kiev
Fifteen-month-old Seiha sits in her mother Sok Chea's lap. Seiha is recovering from severe acute malnutrition after undergoing a treatment regimen using ready-to-use therapeutic food in the form of nutritional wafers.
 

By Pharin Kiev and Arnaud Laillou

In the slums of Cambodia’s capital city of Phnom Penh, many children are fed watered-down rice as their only source of solid nutrition. To help combat severe acute malnutrition in these vulnerable communities, UNICEF and partners developed a nutritious yet palate-pleasing snack for Cambodian children who are being treated with therapeutic feeding.

PHNOM PENH, Cambodia, 8 November 2016 – Yin Seiha is 15 months old. She lives with her mother Chea Sok in one of Phnom Penh’s slum communities, in a single room hut that floats on the Tonle Sap River. Smiling and playing with her one-year-old neighbour, it’s hard to believe that this is the same child that a month ago was struggling to live and in need of urgent treatment.

Luckily, the young child caught the attention of a local village health volunteer Sothea Teth, whose role is to identify malnourished children in the community and refer them to services. She also follows up with women and children who are at risk of becoming malnourished and could benefit from available support.

Sothea urged Chea to take her daughter to be checked by the nearby health centre staff during a nutrition screening session conducted by the Ministry of Health, with UNICEF support. The baby had been frequently sick, suffering from fevers and regular diarrhoea. “As the volunteer, I know many families with malnourished children,” Sothea said. “Visiting families at their home enables me to refer them to outreach services when they are offered at the village or to services at the health centre and hospital.”

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Cambodia/2016/Laillou
Num trey, therapeutic fish snacks with new packaging designed based on field tests. The wafers were developed to cater to Cambodian children's taste preferences to increase families’ receptiveness and continuation of the therapeutic feeding treatment.

At the screening site, Seiha was diagnosed with severe acute malnutrition by the trained health staff, requiring special treatment. They suspected that her inadequate diet – watered-down rice as her only source of solid nutrition – was the reason behind her poor nutritional status, as is the case with many other young children from poor families who live in similar conditions.

Nutrition-packed fish snacks

Like many poor Cambodians, Chea was simply unaware of her baby’s nutritional needs and what she needed to thrive. She did not realize that the food she was giving Seiha was preventing her growth and development and threatening her life.

After Seiha was diagnosed with severe acute malnutrition, the visiting health staff told Chea to take the baby to the National Pediatric Hospital in Phnom Penh for treatment. There, she was given take-home rations of a therapeutic food developed and tested by UNICEF and Institut de recherche pour le développement (IRD): a wafer called num trey (fish snack in Khmer).

This snack was designed to suit the Cambodian diet to increase families’ receptiveness and continuation of the treatment. Children who are given num trey are seen monthly by hospital staff to monitor their development and progress. The final results from the ongoing study of the impact of this new therapeutic food product are expected to be available by the end of this year.

Seiha is among the 206 children who have been treated or are under treatment for severe acute malnutrition at the National Pediatric Hospital of Phnom Penh during the first three quarters of 2016.

>>  Learn more: Innovative food supplements take a bite out of malnutrition in Cambodia

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Cambodia/2016/Kiev
Chea holds Seiha outside of their home in Phnom Penh. Like many poor Cambodians, Chea was simply unaware of her baby’s nutritional needs and what she needed to thrive.

A healthier future

Chea is already pleased with the results. “Now my baby is much better and has gained some weight because of the num trey from the hospital,” the happy mother said. “At the hospital, they also taught me the importance of coming back for three follow-up visits to monitor Seiha’s progress and receive more of these therapeutic snacks.”

Seiha enjoys eating the num trey and has shown progress with each follow-up appointment. After the first visit, she could crawl for the first time. Two weeks later, she was able to move around and play with other children.

Chea is committed to completing the follow-up treatment because of these encouraging results. “I saw her getting better as she started to eat more,” she said. “I don’t want her to get sick again. I want her to get well. Seiha is now a healthy weight and her diet is much improved. I am very happy.”

With support from the National Committees for UNICEF in Australia, Canada, Hong Kong and Korea, targeted mass nutritional screening sessions were conducted in Phnom Penh three times during 2015 and twice so far in 2016, reaching more than 5,000 children each time.

These interventions coupled with other services have allowed more than 4,000 children to be treated in 2015, with even greater reach expected by the end of 2016.

Developing localized protocols and guidelines for the treatment of severe acute malnutrition is helping children complete their treatment and make a full recovery, with long-term positive impacts on their physical and cognitive development.

Each child reached and treated brings Cambodia one step closer to eradicating the harmful effects of severe acute malnutrition and creating a healthier future for all.


 

 

UNICEF Photography: Building nutrition security

New enhanced search