UNICEF.org新网站正在建设中。
网页内容还在更新中。感谢您的耐心,敬请稍后查看。

东帝汶

在东帝汶的偏远社区,家长和儿童一起学习

吉泽拉.莫尼兹.达.席尔瓦报道

奥林匹亚.卡瓦略(Olympia Carvalho)一直都想送她的大孩子去上幼儿园,但是学校太远,而且学费太贵。如今,得益于她所在的村社里一所新开办的替代幼儿园和家长教育计划,她和她的孩子都有了学习的机会。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Timor-Leste/2016/Moniz da Silva
奥林匹亚.卡瓦略和她的三个孩子在偏远村庄马塔霍(Matahoi)的家里。在他们的社区里,她在家长教育班上学,而她的孩子在替代幼儿园上学。

东帝汶马塔霍,2016年5月23日——时针刚走到早上8点,钟声就在东帝汶维克克地区的偏远村庄马塔霍响了起来。随着声音的消逝,奥林匹亚.卡瓦略,26岁且是三个孩子的母亲,出发去这个小农村社区的中心,它位于距离国家首都帝力往东170公里远的地方。

钟声预示着卡瓦略女士又一个家长教育学期的开始,而它也标志着她的孩子将有一个新的开始。这是因为在她参加家长课程的时候,她的两个大孩子,5岁的亚塔纳齐奥(Atanazio)和3岁的以赛亚斯(Izaias)也参加了新成立的替代幼儿园。

社区支持下的替代幼儿园

替代幼儿园计划是为年龄在3到5岁的无法上正式幼儿园的儿童所提供的非正式学习活动。它也采用教育部的课程,由经过培训的社区志愿者帮助进行。

“我很开心这里能有替代幼儿园。”卡瓦略女士说,“如今我的孩子们可以在自己的社区上学了。我一直都想让我的大儿子去幼儿园上学,尤其在他到3岁之后,但是没有办法支付学费,并且学校太远了,从家里到学校要走大约两个小时。”

这里的幼儿园班级每星期上三次课,并已经在社区开办了三个月。卡瓦略女士说她和她的孩子都学到了很多。“我确保让他们定期上课,大多数情况下我亲自陪他们去。我跟老师学到了很多好主意,比如通过玩耍进行学习,我在家就用这种方式教育我的孩子,”她说。

特里萨.费尔南德斯(Teresa Fernandes)是一位家庭主妇,也是一位经过培训的志愿者,如今,她把时间都投入到了村里儿童们的身上。在联合国儿童基金会的支持下,费尔南德斯女士接受了引导技巧、课堂管理和制定新课程教学计划的培训。每位志愿者还收到了必要的学习资料。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Timor-Leste/2016/Moniz da Silva
社区里的一名儿童在替代幼儿园上课。这里的班级每星期上三次课,已经在社区开办了三个月。

“这对我来说是全新的体验。”费尔南多女士说,“幸运的是,培训让我掌握了与儿童有效沟通和让学生参与课堂活动的技巧。要管理这么多学生可不容易!”

社区所有权和支持对于幼儿园学习计划的持续有效运行来说是至关重要的。

村里的一位领导,安东尼奥.索尔斯(Antonio Soares),为幼儿园提供了场地。“我一直都希望我们的社区能有一所幼儿园。”他说,“过去,整个分区只有一所幼儿园,距离太远,而且只招收有限数量的学生。”

索尔斯先生多年来一直在倡议多建立几所幼儿园。他注意到与没上过幼儿园的儿童相比,那些上过学的儿童更有自信,也更优秀。“如今我的梦想成真了!”他说到。

投资家长

他们也鼓励那些孩子上替代幼儿园的家长和监护人参加按季度开设的家长教育课程。这些课程是由社会团结部在社区社会工作者和市政府与社区领导的支持下所开设的。

在类似马塔霍这样的村社里,来自贫困和文盲家庭的孩子们很少能接受正确的引导,有时甚至缺乏进入初等教育阶段所需的基本技能。很多人也发现很难适应正式学校的上课节奏。相关研究表明,对家长在提供适当的照顾和保护方面能力的投资会加快儿童的发展,尤其是在儿童成长的初期阶段。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Timor-Leste/2016/Moniz da Silva
奥林匹亚.卡瓦略在一个家长教育课程上带头进行小组讨论。他们也鼓励那些孩子上替代幼儿园的家长和监护人参加按季度开设的家长教育课程,在课上他们能得到有关他们的孩子早期发展的指导。

“这个家长教育计划真的是锦上添花。在我们村里从没有过这样的活动,而如今家长和孩子都有了!”卡瓦略女士说。“有些事情是家长们在参加课程以前就知道的,但是也有一些是不知道的,比如儿童在子宫六个月的时候就可以听到父母的声音了,还有一些关于儿童大脑发育的信息。对下个学期的课我已经迫不及待了!”

除了在偏远社区建立替代幼儿园和开设社区层面的家长教育课程外,重要的信息还会通过社区广播、青年活动中心和有针对性的家访计划进行进一步加强。

截至2016年4月,幼儿园计划已经在来自H&M意识基金会的支持下在埃尔梅拉(Ermera)的34个社区进行实施(覆盖超过1,000名儿童),而埃尔梅拉和维克克的92个社区(覆盖超过3,700名儿童)则受到来自的新西兰政府的支持。家长教育计划则在H&M意识基金会的支持下在埃尔梅拉和维克克的15个村庄实施,今年将扩大到87个村庄——覆盖大约10,000名家长。

联合国儿童基金会和合作伙伴正持续与东帝汶政府一道,为更多的儿童和他们的家长提供抚育支持,并增加接受幼儿园学习计划的机会。


 

 

联合国儿童基金会视频

 

搜索

We’re building a new UNICEF.org.
As we swap out old for new, pages will be in transition. Thanks for your patience – please keep coming back to see the improvements.

At a glance: Timor-Leste

In Timor-Leste’s remote communities, parents and children learn together

By Gizela Moniz da Silva

Olympia Carvalho had always wanted to send her eldest children to preschool, but the classes were too far and too expensive. Now, thanks to a new alternative preschool and parenting education programme in her rural community, both she and her children will get a chance to learn.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Timor-Leste/2016/Moniz da Silva
Olympia Carvalho with her three children at her house in the remote village of Matahoi. She has been attending parenting education classes while her children attend the alternative preschool in their community.

MATAHOI, Timor-Leste, 23 May 2016 – At the stroke of 8 a.m., a ringing bell echoes through the remote village of Matahoi in Timor-Leste’s Viqueque municipality. As the sound fades, Olympia Carvalho, a 26-year-old mother of three, makes her way to the village centre in this small agricultural community, which is located 170 kilometres east of the country’s capital, Dili.

The bell indicates the start of another parenting education session for Ms. Carvalho, but it also signals a new beginning for her children. This is because while she attends the parenting session, her two eldest children, Atanazio, 5, and Izaias, 3, attend the newly-established alternative preschool.

A community supported alternative

The alternative preschool programme is an informal learning session for children aged 3 to 5 who have no access to formal preschool. It follows the Ministry of Education’s curriculum and is facilitated by trained community volunteers.

“I am very pleased to have the alternative preschool here,” Ms. Carvalho says. “Now my kids can go to a school in their own community. I always wanted my eldest son to attend preschool when he turned 3, but I could not afford to send him, and it is located very far, around two hours walk from our home.”

The preschool class is held three times a week, and it has been running in the community for about three months. Ms. Carvalho says that both she and her children have already learned a lot. “I make sure that they attend regularly, and most of the time I also accompany them. I've learned many good ideas from the teacher, such as learning through playing, which I apply with my children at home,” she says.

Teresa Fernandes is a housewife and a trained community volunteer who is giving her time in the interest of the children in her village. With UNICEF support, Ms. Fernandes received training on facilitation skills, classroom management and lesson planning using the new school curriculum. Each volunteer also receives essential learning materials.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Timor-Leste/2016/Moniz da Silva
One of the children in the community participates in the alternative preschool class. The classes are held three times a week and have been running in the community for about three months.

“This is something new for me,” says Ms. Fernandes. “Thankfully, the training has helped me to develop my skills to communicate with children effectively and to engage students in class activities. It’s not easy to manage so many students!”

Community ownership and support are critical for keeping the preschool learning programme running effectively.

One village leader, Antonio Soares, provided the space for the preschool. “I have always wanted to have a preschool in my community,” he explains. “In the past, the sub-district had only one preschool, which was located too far away and received only a limited number of children.”

Mr. Soares advocated for many years to have more preschools. He noticed that compared to children who did not go to preschool, those who did were more confident and thriving. “Now my dream is realized!” he says.

Investing in parents

Parents and caregivers whose children are going to the alternative preschool are also encouraged to attend the quarterly parenting education sessions. The sessions are implemented by the Ministry of Social Solidarity, with support from community social workers and municipal and community leaders.

In rural communities like Matahoi, children coming from poor and illiterate families do not always receive proper guidance, and sometimes lack the basic skills required to enter into primary education. Many also find it challenging to adapt to the routine of formal schooling. Research has shown that investing in parents’ capacities to provide appropriate care and protection enhances child development, especially during the early years.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Timor-Leste/2016/Moniz da Silva
Olympia Carvalho leads a group discussion during a parent education session. Parents and caregivers whose children are going to the alternative preschool are encouraged to attend the quarterly sessions, where they are given guidance on early childhood development for their children.

“This parenting education programme is a double blessing. We have never had such activities in our village, and now it comes for both children and parents!” says Ms. Carvalho. “There were things that participants already knew as they are parents themselves, but there were also things that they did not know, such as that a child can hear their parents’ voices when they are six months in the womb, and information about children’s brain development. I cannot wait for the next session!”

In addition to establishing alternative preschools in remote communities and involving parents in parenting education sessions at the community level, key messages are further reinforced through community radio, youth theatre and a targeted home visiting programme.

As of April 2016, the preschool programme was being implemented in 34 communities in Viqueque (reaching more than 1,000 children) with support from the H&M Conscious Foundation, and in 92 communities in Ermera and Viqueque municipalities (reaching more than 3,700 children) with support from the Government of New Zealand. The parenting programme is being implemented in 15 villages in Ermera and Viqueque municipalities with support from the H&M Conscious Foundation, and it will expand to a total of 87 villages this year – reaching some 10,000 parents.

UNICEF and partners are continuing to work with the Timor-Leste Government to help more children and their parents with parenting support and improved access to preschool learning programmes.

 


 

 

UNICEF Video: One woman's drive for teaching

 

New enhanced search