About us

About us

Regional Director – Leila Pakkala

Deputy Regional Director – Bo Viktor Nylund

Contact us


About us

Located in Nairobi, the capital of Kenya, the Eastern and Southern Africa Regional Office (ESARO) coordinates and supervises UNICEF’s work in 21 countries: Angola, Botswana, Burundi, Comoros, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Rwanda, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Led by Regional Director Leila Pakkala and Deputy Regional Director Bo Viktor Nulund, we at ESARO provide technical support, policy guidance and oversight, and intellectual leadership on children's issues to the 21 UNICEF country offices. We also coordinate UNICEF's engagement in the UN Coherence process in the region, as well as supports country offices' resource mobilization efforts.

The work is organised around UNICEF’s key priorities in the region: Young Child Survival and Development, Children and AIDS, Basic Education and Gender Equality, Child Protection, and Emergency Preparedness and Response. A range of cross-cutting programmes support these priorities, including Communication, Communication for Development, Monitoring and Evaluation, and Supply and Logistics.





Connect with us


 Email this article

unite for children