Throughout its history, UNICEF has worked with a broad range of partners to achieve the best possible results for children. UNICEF partners include governments, other UN agencies, civil society organizations (CSOs), the corporate sector, foundations, academic institutions, the media and children and youth organizations. All its partnerships are based on the Convention on the Rights of the Child, the Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Women and other international treaties such as the African Charter on the Rights and the Welfare of the Child. The “Framework for Partnerships and Collaborative Relationships” guides UNICEF’s work with and through others.

Key partners for UNICEF in Eastern and Southern Africa include regional institutions such as the African Union, the Southern African Development Community (SADC), and the East African Community (EAC), as well as a variety of donor governments, including the US, Canada, the UK, Australia, the Netherlands, Sweden and Denmark.

Global programme partnerships include the Global Alliance for Vaccines and Immunization (GAVI), the Global Fund to fight AIDS, Tuberculosis and Malaria, the US President’s Emergency Plan for AIDS Relief (PEPFAR), the Global Alliance for Improved Nutrition (GAIN), Roll Back Malaria and the UN Girls Education Initiative (UNGEI).

Corporate companies have become important partners in a number of countries, including DHL/Deutsche Post in Kenya, Total and Pampers in South Africa, telecommunications companies such as ZAIN in Madagascar and mcel in Mozambique. An increasing number of companies are interested in cooperating with UNICEF as part of their corporate social responsibility activities.

UNICEF also cooperates with hundreds of civil society organizations including international and regional NGOs such as Save the Children, Plan International, World Vision and the Forum for African Women Educationalists (FAWE).

Key partners among academic institutions include the Universities of Western Cape and KwaZulu Natal in South Africa, the Universities of Nairobi (Kenya) and Rwanda, and the Sabin Vaccine Institute.





Connect with us


 Email this article

unite for children