The OneminutesJr

Latest news on the OneMinutesJr

About OneMinutesJr

OneMinutesJr highlights

OneMinutesJr on Juvenile Justice

OneMinutesJr on HIV and AIDS

OneMinutesJr by Roma children

OneMinutesJr on Violence

OneMinutesJr & "Leave No Child Out" campaign

Watch OneMinutesJr listed by country


Resources for children


OneMinutesJr Awards 2012 - Nominees announced

AMSTERDAM/NEW YORK/GENEVA, 23 October 2012 - UNICEF and the One Minute Foundation today announced the nominees for this year's OneMinutesJr Award. 15 young people from eight countries have been chosen with their 60-second videos from several hundreds of entries to the OneMinutesJr competition this year.

The nominated films were produced at workshops in 2012 in Armenia, Azerbaijan, Romania, Montenegro, the USA, India, Madagascar and Kiribati.

There are three categories and the winners of each category will be presented with a Tommy Award and an HD FlipCam. A youth jury will also select the “Best of the best” video and the winner will also receive a Tommy Award and HDFlipCam.

All nominees have also won a place in a OneMinutesJr/IDFA Masterclass in Amsterdam in November 2012. The awards ceremony will take place on 24 November 2012 in Amsterdam, The Netherlands.

The three categories of the OneMinutesJr Awards 2012 are:

Open category - One minute of freedom 60 seconds of absolute freedom to say what you wish on any topic you are interested in.

Thematic category - Inside-out Sometimes we all feel like we belong, and other times we feel left out. This can be a choice we make or something that happens against our will. Make a one-minute telling your experience, your opinion.

Personal category - (Self-)portrait
Who are you? What do you stand for? What are your dreams, fascinations, fears, hopes and passions? Where do you come from? What do you see around you? Say who you are in your own way.

...and the nominees are:

one minute of freedom
Games – Bary Felix Heriniaina (Madagascar)
It’s a Baby Girl! – Nishu Singh (India)
Power of One – Luis Collazo (USA)
Two Sides of Montenegro – Maida Kurtagić (Montenegro)
School Shrink – David Midoyan (Armenia)

Your Future Newscaster – Dawnell Davis-White (USA)
Family Issues – Muslim Cavaldi (Azerbaijan)
Ballast – Arthur Baksyan (Armenia)
Looking In – Erik Khachatryan (Armenia)
Help! – Mircea Bogateanu (Romania)

Bingo – Temaria Emosi (Kiribati)
The Wall – Kushboo Rawat (India)
Change – Priya Dubey (India)
Family Puzzle – Alexandru Dencea (Romania)
Pile of Shards – Suren Meliksetyan (Armenia)

Watch all the nominated films in the gallery of the OneMinutesJr website

This year our jury members are:

One minute of freedom
Anne Nigten is the initiator and director of The Patching Zone, where young people and professionals from different backgrounds work in an trans-disciplinary laboratory. The Patching Zone frequently hosts video workshops and other projects in collaboration with the One Minutes Foundation. Anne is an adviser to several media, arts and science initiatives in the Netherlands and Europe. She frequently publishes papers on social and creative innovation resulting from the collaboration between art, engineering and science.

Leontien Lems leads the Education Department team at the Netherlands Institute of Sound and Vision. Sound and Vision is a cultural-historical organization that collects, preserves and share the audiovisual heritage for as many users as possible. The Education Department of Sound and Vision creates learning experiences in the world of media and museums, including video workshops. Sound and Vision has developed different educational cross-media programs and products for scholars and student.

Bobbie Fay Brandsen works for the DOCU youth program at IDFA, the International Documentary Filmfestival. Since its launch in 1988, IDFA has been one of the world’s leading documentary film festivals, dedicated to the exhibition and promotion of ground-breaking creative documentaries. Bobbie loves film and is planning to attend the film academy after graduating. She is currently working on her own documentary.



 Email this article

unite for children