Our partners

Sub-regional partners

National partners


Sub-regional partners

The UNICEF Eastern Caribbean Area office with its Multi-Country Programme, strategically partners with sub-regional organisations and unions such as the Organisation of the Eastern Caribbean States Commission (OECS), the Caribbean Community Secretariat (CARICOM), the Caribbean Development Bank (CDB), the Caribbean Broadcasting Union (CBU), the Caribbean Disaster Emergency Management Agency (CDEMA), the University of the West Indies (UWI), other United Nations Agencies, along with other regional universities, Non-Governmental Organisations (NGOs), civil society organisations and faith-based organisations and groups.

The Caribbean Community Secretariat (CARICOM):

CARICOM's mandate is "to provide dynamic leadership and service, in partnership with community institutions and groups, toward the attainment of a viable, internationally competitive and sustainable Community, with improved quality of life for all. "Eight of the countries covered by the UNICEF Eastern Caribbean Area Office are members of the Caribbean Community. These are: Barbados, Antigua and Barbuda, Montserrat, Dominica, Grenada, St. Kitts & Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines. The Virgin Islands (UK) and the Turks and Caicos Islands have associate member status. UNICEF collaborates with CARICOM in social policy development, advocacy and partnerships for children with special focus on the areas of children’s protection, Early Childhood Development, HIV/AIDS and Life Skills.

As a partner, CARICOM has played a leading role in the implementation of the Health and Family Life Education (HFLE) programme in its member states and is Chair of the HFLE working group committee. At the wider social policy development, monitoring and evaluation level, CARICOM has taken the lead in providing training for the region’s statisticians in Dev Info – a monitoring and data collection tool, which will help countries monitor progress towards the MDGs.

The Commission of the Organization of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS):

The mission of the OECS is to be "a major regional institution contributing to the sustainable development of the OECS Member States." The OECS includes six independent states, and three of the four territories covered by the UNICEF Office for the Eastern Caribbean Area are members of the OECS. The OECS and UNICEF have a Programme Cooperation Agreement which spans all of UNICEF's areas of programming. The Commission, which is located in the island of St. Lucia, has played a major role in the drafting of four (4) Model Legislation on Child Protection: The Juvenile Justice Bill, The Child Care and Protection Bill, The Status of Children Bill and the Domestic Violence Bill. It has also been instrumental in pushing the sub-regional agenda forward in the area of justice for children.

The University of the West Indies:

The University of the West Indies (UWI) has three locations: Mona Campus in Jamaica, Cave Hill Campus in Barbados and St. Augustine Campus in Trinidad and Tobago.  The UWI has collaborated with UNICEF mainly in the areas of education, child protection, and HIV/AIDS and Life skills.

Child Protection:

In the area of child protection, UWI, with support from UNICEF and its other development partners, has been providing research and analysis on the negative consequences and impact of the archaic family law legislative and infrastructural architecture. This insight continues to shape the reforms being effected under the OECS Family Law and Domestic Violence Reform Project.

Life skills:

The Departments of Education at UWI provide national accreditation and certification for teachers and, through this process, have been instrumental in promoting Health and Family Life Education (HFLE) as a key component of a balanced education for children.

In the period 2017-2021, UNICEF will continue to work with these and other partners in the fulfillment of all rights for children. 



 Email this article

unite for children