Media centre

Real Lives

Fact Sheets


Press Releases



Seven win UNICEF Meena Media Awards 2005

Winner of the Meena Children's Media Award 2005. (From L-R) Shetu, Shahiduzzamna Badal, Hazera Khanam, Md Anwar Hussain, UNICEF Representative Morten Giersing, Arjo Sreshtha, Kirsty McIvor, Rowshan Ara Rukhshana Sorker and Shamsuddin Ahmed.

Dhaka, Monday, 18 April 2005: Seven young media producers were presented with a Meena Media Award by UNICEF Country Representative Morten Giersing at a ceremony at the Bengal Art Gallery this morning.

The Meena Media Awards is a new initiative aimed at promoting excellence in children’s media. The award provides incentives for quality media productions for and about children, and brings recognition to such products and their producers.

Each of the winners was presented with a cheque worth Tk 50,000, a Meena crest and a certificate of appreciation by UNICEF Representative Morten Giersing.

In his statement at the prize giving ceremony, Mr Giersing congratulated all participants for their commitment to the cause of children. He also announced UNICEF’s continuing support for the Meena Media Awards which will be an annual event. The Meena Media Awards 2006 will be held in March next year, with the final date for submissions on 31st December, 2005.

“Media is important. Small things of childhood like faint memories and distant songs play a very important role in our later life. In addition to their rights to go to school children also have rights to play, be entertainment and have fun. When children are deprived of these they are deprived of their potential to grow as full human beings”, Morten Giersing said. “In Bangladesh, UNICEF works with all in society to assure children, especially the impoverished and disadvantaged ones, of these rights”, he added.

Chief of Communication and Information of UNICEF Bangladesh Kirsty McIvor emphasised the need for quality media production in all sectors and expressed the hope that the coming years would see more and more entries of international standard.

This year’s winners:  Arjo Sreshtha (10 years old), Out of Focus (a group of underprivileged adolescent girls and boys engaged in electronic media production), Md Anwar Hussain, Hazera Khanam, Rowshan Ara Rukhshana Sorker, Shahiduzzaman Badal and Sardar Joynul Abedin.

The final jury board included former Director General of BTV Mustafizur Rahman, eminent novelist Selina Hossain, leading electronic media producer Aminur Rahman and Shamsuddin Ahmed of UNICEF.

The Meena Media Awards received 187 submissions of which 12 were shortlitsed in a total of 7 categories. Entries had to be ‘for’ and ‘about’ children and in either electronic, print or folk format.

Representatives of all leading national dailies and weeklies, BTV and other cable TV channels covered the event.

For more information please contact
Shamsuddin Ahmed
Communication Officer
UNICEF Bangladesh



For every child
Health, Education, Equality, Protection