Media centre

Real Lives

Press Release

Photo Essay


Fact Sheets


Goodwill Ambassador

Media Partnership

Contact us


Meena Media Award 2008: UNICEF Honours Excellence in Bangladesh Children’s media

DHAKA, 11 November 2008: Nineteen writers, presenters, film makers, directors and producers received the Meena Media Awards 2008 for their outstanding contribution to children’s issues in the print and television media in Bangladesh in the past one year. The age of the winners in senior and junior categories started at 8 and reached up to renowned and veteran media personalities.

UNICEF Representative Mr. Carel de Rooy handed over a crest replicating iconic animation character Meena, a certificate and a cheque to each winner in a ceremony held in Dhaka today. The 1st, 2nd, and 3rd award recipients of each category and age-groups received Tk. 50,000, Tk. 25,000 and Tk. 15,000 in cash prize respectively.

Congratulating the winners for their contribution and achievement in children’s media, Mr. Carel de Rooy said, “Media offer a powerful platform for promoting well being, opportunities and dignity of children and can equally effectively prevent child rights violation. By doing this media help foster a healthy and enabling environment for children.”

“In spite of the increasing pressure for commercialization and revenue earning, they have offered space for children to raise their views and voices and for them to participate as producers, technical experts and presenters to bring in their own perspectives on the world as they see it. I hope the recognition and the coming together for Meena Media Award will further catalyze to enhance both quality and quantity in children’s media in Bangladesh,” concluded Mr. de Rooy.

UNICEF Senior Communication Officer Zafrin Chowdhury conducted the Award ceremony. Veteran creative artist and television personality Mr. Mostafa Monowar expressed his reaction as a winner side by side with 8-year old Nabila Shawlin who won an award from the under-18 creative category in the print media.

Seven eminent judges from the fields of literature, journalism, academia, film and documentary media judged huge number of entries from print and electronic media to select winners. A thorough and transparent process was followed where the names of participants and their media were not revealed until the final decisions were reached by the judges. Selina Hossain, Fuad Chowdhury, Shahnoor Wahid, Shumona Sharmin, Robaet Ferdous, Shamim Shahed and Aminur Rahman were in the Panel of Judges. Some of the members of the Panel of Judges also spoke in the award ceremony.

The Meena Media Awards which was introduced in 2005 by UNICEF to celebrate excellence in creative media and journalism in both print media and television. The award is named after Meena, the popular animation character held dear by children and adults alike in Bangladesh. Meena is the iconic girl child, a change agent, whose attractive stories champion the rights of children across South Asia. In its fourth year, Meena Media Award generated overwhelming response and received a large number of entries from across the country.

Winners of Meena Media Award 2008

Print Media – Journalistic /Reporting (Over 18+ age group)
1st Prize: Emran Hasan Sohel  for "Chouddo bochhore ma hochchhe shabalika hochchhe shoshur barite", Daily Manobjamin.
2nd Prize: Sukdeb Sana for "Shishu Griho Poricharika nirjaton biborno manoshikota",  Weekly Bichitra (now defunct).
3rd Prize: Sharifuzzaman for "Pintu Motijheel shorkari school-e jhukir modhdhey lekhapora", Daily Prothom Alo.

Print Media – Journalistic /Reporting (Under 18 age group)
1st Prize: Shishu Prokash, Bogra for "Bogurar horijon pallir shishura borno boishommer shikar: Shoto badha shotteyo taker chokhe agami joyer shopno", Dainik Uttorachol.
2nd Prize: Sarker Samira Jannat for "Child Labour on increase in Rajshahi", The Bangladesh Today.
3rd Prize: Jannatun Tajri Neela for "Siren bajley onahare thaka iftar kurani der mukhe hashi phute", Shishu Adhikar Barta.

Print Media – Creative (Over 18 age group)
1st Prize: Md. Shahjahan Ali for "Boro chachur golpo", Druti.
2nd Prize: Abul Kalam Azad for "Bhabukta Shaheed Minar Akbe", The Daily Shomokal.
3rd Prize: Enayet Rasul for "Ek ma-er golpo", Monthly Nabarun.

Print Media – Creative (Under 18 age group)
1st Prize: Rifat Anjum Pia for "Bhindeshi Bondhu", Daily Prothom Alo.
2nd Prize: Tanzia Akter Sumaiya for "Byatha sharey vitamin-e", Daily Prothom Alo.
2nd Prize: Md. Shazedul Islam for "Swadhin dushtu-ta kotha shone na", Daily Ittefaq.
3rd Prize: Nabila Shawlin for "Sidr", Monthly Nabarun.

Television Broadcast – Journalistic /Reporting (Over 18 age group)
1st Prize: Gazi Salahuddin for "Mahmud Sidr Child Story", Channel One.
2nd Prize: Alamgir Swapan for "Child Development and Education in the kindergartens of Bangladesh", ATN Bangla.
3rd Prize: Rafiqul Islam Sabuj for "Sidr – Tirish diner shishu", RTV.

Television broadcast – Creative (Over 18 age group)
1st Prize: Mustafa Monwar for "Hature Daktar", NTV.
2nd Prize: Liton Adhikary Rintu for "Ekka Dokka Tekka", ATN Bangla.
3rd Prize: Reajum Munir Shaibal for "International Year of Sanitation 2008 (Jatra style)", Ekushe TV.

Note: The under-18 journalistic and creative categories in television broadcast could not be awarded due to lack of submissions in adequate quantity and quality.

For more Information, Please contact:

Christine Jaulmes, Chief/Zafrin Chowdhury, Sr. Communication Officer, Communication & Information Section. Telephone:  9336701-10 Ext: 209 & 397, email: & 



 Email this article

For every child
Health, Education, Equality, Protection