Media centre

Real Lives

Press Release

Photo Essay


Fact Sheets


Goodwill Ambassador

Media Partnership

Contact us


Twenty two writers and producers win Meena Media Award 2007 for outstanding work in Children’s Media

DHAKA, December 10, 2007: The Meena Media Awards 2007 were distributed among the 22 winning recipients Tuesday in the city amid hopes of further advancing children’s causes in the country’s ever-expansive media landscape.
UNICEF Representative Louis-Georges Arsenault handed out the crest fashioned after Meena, a certificate and a cheque to each winner through in a lively ceremony. Congratulating the winners and encouraging participation in the Meena Media Award for achieving excellence in children’s media, Mr. Arsenault said, “It is not about winning or losing, it is about the spirit in advancing children’s media in Bangladesh and I thank you all for your contribution.”
“There are important issues relating to children that need attention through the media and there are also needs for healthy and happy entertainment for children. Let’s follow Meena’s spirit in making things better for children,” said Mr. Arsenault.
The Meena Media Awards was launched by UNICEF in 2005 to celebrate excellence in creative media and journalism in both print and electronic versions of the media. The award is named after Meena, a popular animation character held dear by children and adults alike in Bangladesh. Meena epitomizes an iconic girl child who is a change agent and whose stories champion the rights of children across South Asia.
Seven eminent judges drawn from literature, journalism, academia, film and documentary media judged huge number of entries from print and electronic media to select winners. A thorough and transparent process was followed where the names of participants and their media were nor revealed until the final decisions were reached by averaging the judges’ scores. In the panel of judges were Selina Hossain, Fuad Chowdhury, Shahnoor Wahid, Shumona Sharmin, Robaet Ferdous, Shamim Shahed and Aminur Rahman – some of whom also spoke in the ceremony.
Zafrin Chowdhury, Senior Communication Officer of UNICEF conducted the Award ceremony. Roaming life-size animated characters of Meena and young girls dressed after Meena gave the ceremony a colourful look. Some of the winning entries were screened during in the ceremony.
In the 18+ journalistic category in the print media, Naznin Akhter, Staff Reporter of Daily Janakantha was adjudged the 1st, Emrana Ahmed of Daily Amar Desh the 2nd while Asha Naznin of Daily Prothom Alo as the 3rd Prize winners by a seven-member panel of judges. In under-18 age group of Journalistic category, children’s news agency Shishu Prokash (Children’s Express) was won the 1st prize, Jannatun Tajri Neela came out 2nd while Md. Abdul Wahab won the 3rd prize. In the 18+ Creative category under print media, Laila Noor was adjudged the 1st prize winner, Arman Haider was selected for the 2nd prize and Josim Al Faim and Kamaklesh Roy were jointly selected for the 3rd prize from a total entry of 63.
Meanwhile, in the under-18 Creative category from the print media Ahmed Deepto, Shalima Anwar and Tasnim Sultana Muna were respectively adjudged 1st, 2nd and 3rd award winners.
From 18+ Journalistic category under electronic media, Israt Jahan Urmi of Baishakhi Channel was selected 1st, Nazma Akhter of ATN Bangla 2nd and Munzurul Karim of NTV and Mahmud Ahmed Khan of Channel One were jointly adjudged the 3rd prize winners. In the 18+ Creative category, Sayed Awlad, Mehedee Hassan and Khaleda Ahmed were adjudged 1st, 2nd and 3rd prize winners respectively from a total of 16. Meanwhile, Arjo Shrestho and Shiropa Purna received special prizes for their participation in the under-18 Video Media category.
The 1st, 2nd, and 3rd award recipients of each category and age-groups received Tk 50,000, Tk 25,000 and Tk 15,000 in cash prize respectively in addition to a crest and a certificate.
This time, the 3rd Meena Media Awards has generated overwhelming response and received a large number of entries from across the country. Broadly divided into ‘creative’ and ‘journalistic’ categories, entries have been sought from print and electronic media under specific age groups that included young people under 18 years of age.

For more information, please contact:

Arifa S Sharmin & Iftikhar Ahmed Chowdhury
Communication and Information Section
UNICEF Bangladesh BSL Office Complex, 1 Minto Rd, Dhaka
880 2 9336701-10 Ex. 442/392



 Email this article

For every child
Health, Education, Equality, Protection