联合国儿童基金会执行局

联合国儿童基金会执行局成功选举了2012年执行局主席

美国纽约,2012年1月19日 —— 新年伊始,安提瓜和巴布达常驻联合国代表约翰.阿什(John W. Ashe) 阁下被选举为2012年执行局主席。阿什先生由联合国儿童基金会执行局成员 —— 拉丁美洲和加勒比地区提名。

视频:联合国儿童基金会报道了新一届执行局主席的选举情况,及领导机构针对最新进展和未来挑战所进行的沟通协商。 在Realplayer中播放

在纽约联合国总部举行的会议中,联合国儿童基金会执行局同时回顾了在过去一年中所取得的进展并重申了服务于最弱势儿童的承诺。

对公平的关注和强调

即将卸任的联合国儿童基金会执行局局长、斯洛文尼亚常驻联合国代表桑佳.斯蒂格里克阁下说:“尊敬的各位代表,联合国儿童基金会在过去一年中所取得的切实成绩令人骄傲。我代表执行局向大家表示深深的谢意,在过去的一年中我们高质量的沟通协商以及取得的优异成果令人难忘。”

“报告清晰地显示,在2011 年,联合国儿童基金会致力于提高运营与流程的高效性和有效性,以结果为导向。”她说。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
联合国儿童基金会执行主任安东尼.雷克向桑佳.斯蒂格里克阁下 (Sanja Štiglic) 表达了诚挚的谢意,桑佳.斯蒂格里克是即将卸任的联合国儿童基金会执行局局长和斯洛文尼亚常驻联合国代表。

桑佳女士同时强调了在公平问题上所取得的进展 —— 一项旨在协助那些位于最难到达、最受排斥地方儿童的战略。

她继续说道:“我们所有代表去年的一个重要任务是加速实现千年发展目标。在安东尼.雷克向执行局提交的报告中,还包括了实现公平目标的最新进展,执行主任描述了联合国儿童基金会如何跟踪一些开创性的举措,调查显示关注最贫困和最受排斥的儿童,在儿童健康和幸福方面所做出的努力必将取得巨大回报。”

确保联合国儿童基金会的作用

执行局向联合国儿童基金会提供政府间的支持和监督,监管相关活动并进行政策审批、监管国家方案和预算经费。执行局由代表联合国五大地区的36名成员组成。由一位主席和四位副主席组成的执行局积极有效地协调,每位官员均代表一个地区组。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
安提瓜和巴布达常驻联合国代表约翰.阿什 (John W. Ashe) 阁下被选举为新一届执行局局长,他在位于纽约的联合国总部工作。

约翰.阿什说:“成为了联合国儿童基金会执行局主席,压力和责任由之而来,在大家的帮助下,新一年(就像去年一样)虽然依然充满了各种挑战,相信我们可以发挥这个组织的作用,作出应有的贡献并且覆盖所有儿童。”

展望 2012 年的挑战与机遇,联合国儿童基金会执行主任安东尼.雷克对儿基会坚实的基础充满信心,他表示:“联合国儿童基金会的使命是支持所有努力工作改变命运的人,尤其是妇女和儿童。这是我们目前为之努力和贯穿执行局会议的主题。谢谢你们过去所作出的一切,在新的领导团队代领下,新的一年我们继往开来,共同实现我们的使命。”


 

 

搜索

We’re building a new UNICEF.org.
As we swap out old for new, pages will be in transition. Thanks for your patience – please keep coming back to see the improvements.

UNICEF Executive Board

UNICEF's Executive Board elects a new President for 2012

NEW YORK, USA, 19 January 2012 – Marking the beginning of the new year with new leadership, UNICEF’s Executive Board elected His Excellency Mr. John W. Ashe, Permanent Representative of Antigua and Barbuda to the United Nations, as its President for 2012. Mr. Ashe was nominated from among the Latin American and Caribbean states that are members of the Executive Board.

VIDEO: UNICEF reports on the election of a new UNICEF Executive Board President, and on the governing body's discussion of recent progress and future challenges.  Watch in RealPlayer

 

Meeting at the United Nations Headquarters in New York, UNICEF’s governing body also reviewed the developments of the past year and reaffirmed their commitment to serving the most vulnerable children.

Focus on equity

“Distinguished delegates, we can collectively take pride in the fact that we covered a lot of ground in the last year. On behalf of the Executive Board, I extend my appreciation to all of you, for the high quality of discussions and the excellent results achieved,” said Her Excellency Sanja Štiglic, the outgoing UNICEF Executive Board President and Permanent Representative of Slovenia to the United Nations.

“The reports and presentations presented to us during 2011 clearly indicated UNICEF is striving to improve the efficiency and effectiveness of its operations and processes and the drive for results,” she said.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
UNICEF Executive Director Anthony Lake thanks Her Excellency Sanja Štiglic, the outgoing UNICEF Executive Board President and Permanent Representative of Slovenia to the United Nations.

Ms. Štiglic also highlighted the progress made in the equity approach – a strategy aimed at assisting the most excluded children in the hardest-to-reach places.

“One of the most important objectives of all our deliberations last year was accelerating the achievement of the Millennium Development Goals,” she said. “In his reports to this board, including his updates on achieving the goals with equity, the Executive Director described how the organization is following up on the findings of the groundbreaking UNICEF study showing that the approach of focusing on the poorest and most excluded children will give us significant return on investment in terms of children’s health and well-being,” she said.

Ensuring UNICEF delivers

The Executive Board provides intergovernmental support and oversight to UNICEF, reviews activities and approves its policies, country programmes and budgets. It comprises 36 members representing the five regional groups of Member States at the United Nations. Its work is coordinated by the Bureau, comprising the President and four Vice-Presidents, each officer representing one of the five regional groups.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
Newly elected UNICEF Executive Board President, His Excellency Mr. John W. Ashe, Permanent Representative of Antigua and Barbuda to the United Nations, at the UN Headquarters in New York.

“Being the President of the Executive Board of UNICEF brings with it certain responsibilities, and with your collective help, given that this year – like previous years of course – is one that is filled with many challenges, we hope that we can advance the mandate of this organization… to ensure that we do deliver and no children are left behind,” said Mr. Ashe.

Looking ahead to the challenges and opportunities of 2012, UNICEF Executive Director Anthony Lake expressed his confidence in the solid foundation that has been laid for the organization.

“UNICEF’s mission is to support all the people who are working so effectively, especially women and children, to change their own lives… That is what we are doing as we go through these board meetings,” said Mr. Lake. “Thank you all in retrospect for all you have done, and our new leadership for all you will be doing in the coming year in helping us accomplish that common mission.”


 

 

New enhanced search