We’re building a new UNICEF.org.
As we swap out old for new, pages will be in transition. Thanks for your patience – please keep coming back to see the improvements.

UNICEF Executive Board


Français  Español

The President and four Vice-Presidents constitute the Bureau. These five officers, each one representing one of the five regional groups, are elected by the Executive Board each year from among its members, with the presidency rotating among the regional groups on an annual basis. As a matter of custom, permanent members of the Security Council do not serve as officers of the Executive Board.

The Bureau serves as a bridge between the UNICEF secretariat and the regional groups represented on the Executive Board, dealing primarily with liaison, administrative and functional matters, such as facilitating the negotiation of decisions at the session, to enhance the effectiveness of the Executive Board. Members of the Bureau coordinate informal consultations within their respective regional groups. The Bureau usually meets on a monthly basis, and daily during the Executive Board sessions.

2018 Bureau of the Executive Board

H.E. Mr. Tore Hattrem, Permanent Representative to the United Nations, Norway

H.E. Mr. Rubén Armando Escalante Hasbún, Permanent Representative to the United Nations, El Salvador
H.E. Mr. Taye Atske-Sellassie, Permanent Representative to the United Nations, Ethiopia
Mr. Nirmal Raj Kafle, Chargé d'affaires a.i., Deputy Permanent Representative to the United Nations, Nepal
Ms. Šejla Đurbuzović, Minister Counsellor, Permanent Mission of Bosnia and Herzegovina to the United Nations 

 Officers of the UNICEF Executive Board

1946 - 2018



New enhanced search