我们的目的

扶贫于儿童开始

UNICEF Photo
马达加斯加一所小学里一个面带笑容、正在做作业的女孩子。

生活在贫穷中大多数是儿童。贫穷剥夺了儿童的权利,破坏了适合儿童生长的环境,因为很多虐待和剥削儿童的行为都与普遍而根深蒂固的贫穷现象相关。贫穷带来的健康不佳、营养不良和身心受损都严重破坏了儿童的生活。贫穷令他们失去活力,削弱他们对未来的信心。没有一个国家能够在没有对其人民的健康、营养和基本教育做出重大而持续投资下可大幅度的减贫。

贫穷是代代相传的。贫穷及营养不良的母亲常常会生出体重不足的婴儿。这些婴儿的生存率比较低;即使生存下来,他们的成长和发展也不大可能充分达到他们的潜力。长期营养不良、缺乏微营养素以及常常生病可导致学业不佳。因此,受贫穷影响的儿童很有可能提早辍学;辍学后即使能找到工作,所从事职业的收入也只会属于贫穷线以下。

打破贫穷的循环取决于政府、民间组织和家庭对儿童福利权益以及妇女权利的承担。对儿童健康、营养、教育及社会、情绪和认知发展以及实现性别平等的投资不仅可促进社会公平和民主发展,而且可促进健康和提高文化程度,最终达到提升国家生产力。从另一个角度看来,对儿童发展的投资也是一件在道义上应做的事情。而且也是具有高投资回报而合理的经济投资。这就是联合国儿童基金会所提倡的“发展融资:投资于儿童”及“扶贫始于儿童”的原意。全世界已开始对此达成共识。八项千年发展目标(外部链接)中有六项与儿童直接相关。

联合国儿童基金会最近出版了几个有关贫困和儿童的刊物。其他国际组织和非政府组织也逐渐增加有关贫穷和儿童的工作。

外部链接会打开一个新窗口,将你带入儿童基金会以外的网站。


 

 

搜索

Why UNICEF

Poverty reduction starts with children

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/HQ02-0568/Pirozzi
A smiling girl looks up from her schoolwork, in a primary school in Madagascar.

Most of the people living in poverty are children. Poverty denies children their rights.  It weakens a child's protective environment, as much abuse and exploitation of children is linked to widespread and deeply entrenched poverty. It blights their lives with ill health, malnutrition, and impaired physical and mental development.  It saps their energy and undermines their confidence in the future. No society has ever seen a broad-based reduction in poverty without major and sustained investments in the rights of its people to health, nutrition and basic education.

Poverty is transmitted from one generation to the next.  Impoverished, malnourished mothers, for example, often give birth to under-weight babies.  These babies are more likely to die and, if they do survive, they are less likely to grow and develop to their full potential.  Chronic malnutrition, micronutrient deficiencies and frequent illness can lead to poor school performance. Consequently, affected children are more likely to drop out of school early and work at occupations below the poverty line, if they manage to find work at all.

Breaking this cycle of poverty depends on investments by governments, civil society and families in children's rights and wellbeing, and in women's rights.  Spending on a child's health, nutrition, education, and social, emotional and cognitive development, and on achieving gender equality, is not only an investment in a more democratic and a more equitable society, it is also an investment in a healthier, more literate and, ultimately, more productive population. Investing in children is morally the right thing to do. It is also a sound economic investment, with high rates of return.  That is why UNICEF says "Finance development: Invest in Children".  It is also why UNICEF says "Poverty reduction starts with children".  The world has come to agree on this.  Six of the eight Millennium Development Goals (external link) relate directly to children.

UNICEF has several recent publications on poverty and children.  Other international organizations and non-governmental organizations also increasingly work on poverty and children.

 

External links open in a new window and take you to non-UNICEF web sites.


 

 

New enhanced search