水、环境和卫生

迪拜国际人道主义援助会议为新一轮“在学校开展供水、环境卫生和个人卫生” 项目揭开序幕

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
在幼儿园里专门为儿童设计的盥洗室内,五岁的小玉葩正和她的同学们一起洗手。

美国纽约,2010年4月1日 – 接受水、公共卫生和个人卫生教育以及使用相关设施,这是每个儿童应享有的权利。在很多国家,如何保证这些权利是决策者、学校和社区所持续面临的重大挑战。

尽管我们在改善儿童教育环境方面已经取得了很大进展,但是最近一项涉及60个发展中国家的调查显示,在较贫穷国家,有50%的学校目前不能提供安全的饮用水和完善的公共卫生设施。

全球运动

2010年4月5日,来自世界各地的政府主要决策者及相关各方聚集迪拜,参加在那里举行的迪拜国际人道主义援助会议及展览,为在全球开展新一轮的“在学校开展供水、环境卫生和个人卫生” 项目(简称WASH,是英文Water, Sanitation and Hygiene in Schools的缩写)揭开了序幕。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
泰国喀拉武里地区的巴安科龙甘姆学校内,男女生都养成了洗手的好习惯。这是联合国儿童基金会在学校开展的WASH项目的一部分。

这个 “呼吁为学校的WASH项目行动起来”项目,一方面是为了吸引政界和大众的关注,另一方面也是国际关怀组织、迪拜关怀组织、联合国儿童基金会、世界卫生组织、拯救儿童组织及其他主要合作伙伴通力协作的成果。

这个计划的目标是为了扩大WASH项目的覆盖面,促进儿童的健康发展,提高儿童的学习能力,并使儿童成为改变他们的兄弟姐妹、父母以及社区状况的推动力。

迫切的需求

联合国儿童基金会WASH项目高级顾问特雷斯.杜利(Therese Dooley)说:“现在的投资非常少,造成WASH项目有时候难以开展……我们需要确保资金到位,这是我们的当务之急。”

确保学校能够提供水、个人卫生和环境卫生设施以及教育,对儿童的健康和发展至关重要。

全球儿童每年因腹泻而缺课的总天数达2.72亿天,发展中国家大约三分之一的学龄儿童有蛔虫。钩虫病可能导致贫血症、智商损伤、行为发展障碍、营养不良和发育迟缓等多种病症。

在14岁以下的儿童中,超过20%的死亡和残疾案例是由于不安全的饮用水和不完善的卫生设施造成的。

WASH在学校

“学校的WASH项目”帮助构建健康安全的学习环境,使儿童免受卫生威胁、虐待和排斥的伤害。

即将实施的“呼吁为学校的WASH项目行动起来”计划,旨在提供更多的资源,使决策者和社区参与到建设、保护供水和卫生设施,以及推动并监测“学校的WASH项目”中来。


 

 

视频(英文)

2010年4月5日:联合国儿童基金会记者尼娜.马丁尼科报道,在2010年4月5日召开的“迪拜国际人道主义援助会议”上,启动了“呼吁为学校的WASH项目行动起来”的计划。
 视频  

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

搜索

Water, Sanitation and Hygiene

'Call to Action for WASH in Schools' promotes water, sanitation and hygiene education

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
5-year-old Yupa washes her hands with her classmates in the child-friendly bathrooms in her preschool.

NEW YORK, USA, 1 April 2010 – Every child has the right to water, sanitation and hygiene education and facilities. In many countries, consistently providing this is a major challenge for policy makers, schools and communities.

VIDEO: Watch now

Though great strides have been made to safeguard the well-being of children in educational environments, a recent survey of 60 developing countries showed that more than 50 per cent of schools in poor countries still lack access to safe drinking water and adequate sanitation facilities.

A call to action

In response, on 5 April 2010, key decision makers and concerned stakeholders will meet at the Dubai International Humanitarian Aid Conference and Exhibition to launch a new global campaign for Water, Sanitation and Hygiene in Schools (WASH).

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
Girls and boys at Baan Klonggum School in Kuraburi District, Thailand practice good handwashing skills as part of UNICEF's WASH in Schools Programme.

This 'Call to Action for WASH in Schools' is designed to attract political and public attention, and is the result of a collaboration between CARE, Dubai Cares, UNICEF, World Health Organization (WHO), Save the Children and other key partners.

The goal is to expand the WASH in Schools programmes to improve health, foster learning and enable children to participate as agents of change for their siblings, their parents and their communities.

A critical need

"Currently, investment can be quite low, and sometimes WASH in Schools falls between the cracks... we just need to make sure there is funding allocated and that it does get priority," said Therese Dooley, Senior WASH Advisor for UNICEF.

Ensuring that schools provide water, hygiene and sanitation facilities and education is critical to children's health and development.

Each year, children lose 272 million school days due to diarrhoea, and an estimated one in three school-aged children in the developing world suffer with intestinal worms. Such hookworm infestations can lead to anaemia, IQ loss, developmental and behavioural disturbances, malnutrition and stunting.

Among children under 14, more than 20 per cent of deaths and disabilities are attributable to unsafe water, inadequate sanitation or insufficient hygiene.

'WASH in Schools'

WASH in Schools programmes foster healthy and safe school environments that protect children from health hazards, abuse and exclusion.

The goal of the upcoming 'Call to Action for WASH in Schools' is to increase resources, and to engage policy makers and communities in constructing and maintaining water and sanitation facilities, and in activating and monitoring WASH programmes in schools.


 

 

Video

19 March 2010: UNICEF correspondent Nina Martinek reports on the planned ‘Call to Action for WASH in Schools’ to be launched at Dubai International Humanitarian Aid Conference on 5 April 2010.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

New enhanced search