水、环境和卫生

科索沃民众缺乏安全用水

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
科索沃农村地区几乎40%的家庭靠井水为生。很多井里的水含有细菌和病毒。

彼得.乔治报道

欧博利(Obri), 2009年7月13日 – 每天,舒克立杰.赫马吉利(Shukrije Xhemajli)都担心她孩子喝的水会让他们生病。

 点击此处观看视频

她的两个儿子中的一个险些死于脑膜炎,而几乎可以肯定的是他是从家里的井水中感染的这种疾病。这种恐惧是她永远也摆脱不了的。

科索沃农村人口的40%都没有自来水,舒克立杰也不例外。她全家的用水就靠后院里的一口井。在她家房子所在的山坡下还有一口更老的井 ,但她非常肯定那口井里的井水不卫生,她都不用那口井的水喂她家的牛。

她说:“我能怎么办?要是能有更多的安全饮水,那情况肯定好很多。对每个人来说都要好很多,不仅仅是我们家,而是所有的人。而且最好是能有充足的安全用水,而不是像现在,惜水如金。”

应对供水短缺

一公里外住着德马库一家,那个大家庭里一共22口人。父亲哈泽尔(Hazir)坐在家里的井旁。尽管周围牧场在春季里苍翠繁茂,但是井里的水位仍然很低。

他说:“你可以克服很多资源的短缺。但是缺水很难生存。如果你一个月之后回来,你就会看到变化,这口井会变成一口枯井。”

水用光之后,德马库先生一家只有一个选择。他的儿子们发动家里的拖拉机,拖着空塑料桶,开到五公里以外的地方打泉水。这些孩子们每周至少要用两个早晨把桶里装满水,然后用车运回家。附近地区的很多人家都这么做。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
学生们被教导要饭前洗手。科索沃地区60%的学校没有干净的自来水。

联合国儿童基金会的工作

联合国儿童基金会正关注无法获得清洁水的数千名农村儿童。
 
联合国儿童基金会科索沃国家办事处代理负责人塔尼娅.歌德纳尔(Tania Goldner)说:“60%的学校没有安全的饮用水。这对儿童们意味着什么?这意味着他们的健康受到了威胁,他们的生长发育受到了影响。”

欧博利的学校是联合国儿童基金会资助建立的,学校里有自来水。在这里,孩子们还是学习了个人卫生和每日安全用水的基本知识。

在学前班上,施海德.德马基(Shehide Demaj)老师拿着一个两升的塑料瓶往每个孩子手心里滴了几滴水,然后才让他们坐下吃妈妈准备的午餐。她说无论他们多小心,可疑的供水仍是一个严重的问题。

她说:“受污染的水带来各种各样的疾病。肠道感染、胃痛、皮肤病和其他类型的疾病。”

安全用水权利

村里派到当地政府的代表伊利尔.德马库(Ilir Demaku)说政府承诺要将水运到欧博利,但是他不知道具体什么时候。有人跟他说水很快就来了,但是他也说他已经很多次听人家这么说了,但是现在还是没有水。

德马库先生说:“我们都知道这个地区存在着严重的水资源问题。这里的供水系统很落后,主要靠从井里抽水。而抽出来的水不完全干净,而且也没有经过恰当的消毒处理。”

根据《联合国儿童权利公约》的规定,获得清洁水应该是欧博利儿童享有的一项权利。今年正是这一公约发表的20周年。但是除非政府设法将水带到这个村庄和这一地区,否则由不清洁水导致的疾病将继续在地方流行,而长途跋涉去泉边打水也将继续成为生活的必需。


 

 

视频(英文)

联合国儿童基金会的彼得.乔治就科索沃寻求安全饮水的努力进行了报道。 .
 播放   |

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

搜索

Water, Sanitation and Hygiene

Lack of safe water a struggle for families of Kosovo

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
Children and families in rural areas of Kosovo struggle to find sources of safe water.

By Peter George

OBRI, 13 July 2009 – Every day, Shukrije Xhemajli, wonders if the water her children drink will make them sick. It’s a fear that never leaves her.

VIDEO: Watch now

Already, one of Ms. Xhemajli’s two sons has narrowly avoided death from meningitis, which he almost certainly contracted from the water he drinks from the family well.

Like much of the rural population of Kosovo, Ms. Xhemajli has no running water and relies on a well in her yard for all her family’s needs. There is an older well further down the slope from her house, but she is so certain that its water is unhealthy, she does not use it even for the family cow.

“What can I say?” she asks. “To have more safe drinking water would have been much better. For everyone, not only for my family, but in general. And to have it in sufficient amounts – not like now: drop by drop.”

Coping with shortages

A kilometre up the road lives the Demaku family, an extended family of 22 people. The father, Hazir, sits beside a family well. The water level is low, despite the lushness of the spring pastures that surround the compound.

“You can cope with a lot of shortages,” he says. “But it’s difficult to live with a shortage of water. If you come here in a month’s time, you will see the difference and the water from the well will disappear.”

Mr. Demaku's family has only one option when the water runs out. His sons fire up the family tractor and drive five km towing a trailer loaded with empty plastic barrels to a reliable spring. The young men spend part of a morning at least twice a week filling the barrels and then carting them home – just like many other families who live in the surrounding area.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
This UNICEF-supported school in Obri has safe, running water.

What UNICEF is doing

UNICEF is concerned for the thousands of children who live in rural areas with no access to safe water.
 
“Sixty per cent of schools do not have access to safe drinking water,” says UNICEF Kosovo’s acting Head of Office, Tania Goldner. “What does this mean for children? This means their health is impacted, their growth and their development is impacted.”

Obri’s school, which was built with UNICEF funds, has running water. Here, the children are taught the basics of hygiene and careful water usage every day.

In the pre-school section, teacher Shehide Demaj trickles water from a two-litre plastic bottle over the hands of her children before they sit down to eat the lunch their mothers have packed for them. But Ms. Demaj notes that no matter how much care they take, the problem of questionable water supplies remains severe.

“There are different diseases as a result of contaminated water: intestinal infections, stomach pains, skin diseases and other types of disease,” she says.”

Safe water as a right

The village representative to the local municipality, Ilir Demaku, says there have been promises that water will come to Obri, but he has no idea when. He has been told it will be soon, but he also says he has been told that on many previous occasions, and nothing has happened yet.

“We all know this is an area with real problems with water resources,” observes Mr. Demaku. “It’s a very antiquated system, which consists of drawing water from the wells, and it isn’t completely clean and disinfected in appropriate ways.”

Safe water should be the right of the children of Obri under the UN Convention on the Rights of the Child, which marks its 20th anniversary this year. But until the authorities manage to bring a supply to the village and its region, illnesses associated with unclean water will continue to be endemic and the long journey to the spring will remain a necessity of life.


 

 

Video

UNICEF’s Peter George reports on the need to secure safe water for children and families in Kosovo.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

New enhanced search