水、环境和卫生

联合国儿童基金会的WASH战略

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/HQ06-1845/Josh Estey
人们在在印尼爪哇岛搭建厕所。

联合国儿童基金会的领域战略是根据联合国儿童基金会执行局在2006年批准的《联合国儿童基金会WASH战略文件》而制定。 

一个目标
联合国儿童基金会在供水、环境卫生和个人卫生(WASH)项目的总体目标是通过宣传该领域和支持国家项目,提高平等地和可持续性地获得并使用安全饮用水、基本卫生服务和促进改善个人卫生习惯,以实现儿童生存和发展的权利。

两个可衡量的目标
目标1:在2015年之前,将不能可持续性获得安全饮用水和基本卫生设施的人口比例降低一半(第10项千年发展目标)。
目标2:确保所有学校都有足够的便于儿童使用的供水、卫生设施和个人卫生教育计划。

三套支持方案
1) 在优先的国家(具有高儿童死亡率并且低供水和卫生设施覆盖率的国家),: 为实现目标1和目标2而设计的方案。
2) 在紧急情况下:以国家和地区的需要为依据,将向紧迫需要WASH干预措施的国家提供此方案,以防止儿童的死亡和受难,并保护他们的权利。
3) 在所有国家:将向在有联合国儿童基金会项目的所有国家提供此方案。

UNICEF Photo

优先国家的综合计划

1. 推广一个均衡的国家WASH项目框架:联合国儿童基金会将鼓励使用三大支柱的方法,包括提供水和卫生服务,辅之以促进改善个人卫生习惯,并由有利的环境支持。

2. 支持跨领域的模式:当个人卫生、环境卫生和水项目与包括教育、保健和营养在内的其它领域的项目协调或整合时,儿童的生存和发展权利将最大化。

3. 为推广可持续的WASH项目,提供催化剂和持续的支持:只有在国家提供的服务项目显著扩大的时候,才可能实现目标。而且联合国儿童基金会将优先支持那些有助于实现这一目标的活动。然而,如果提高覆盖率的同时没有提高可持续性,也不能称之为真正意义上的扩大, 联合国儿童基金会将积极确认并促进改善WASH项目的可持续性的模式。

4. 通过有效的权力下放过程,支持社区管理:联合国儿童基金会将支持有助于在中层(市、区、省等)建立强有力的机构的措施,因为他们对由社区管理的服务提供支持至关重要,这对可持续地扩大WASH项目的覆盖率非常重要。

5. 通过改善水资源的管理,促进安全并可持续地供水:联合国儿童基金会及其在WASH项目的合作伙伴有责任促进并执行保护淡水资源的措施。在家庭层面,关注环境卫生、水质和个人卫生:越来越多的证据显示,加强对家庭层面的关注,可以提高具体项目的有效性,尤其在环境卫生、水质和个人卫生的宣传领域。

6. 继续推广负担得起的且安全的家用厕所;在家用水处理方面的技术开发;以及谋求改善主要家庭卫生习惯的项目。

7. 通过提供学校的WASH项目,解决儿童的健康和教育权利: 联合国儿童基金会承诺确保所有儿童在学校都可以获得高品质的供水和卫生服务并受益于个人卫生教育。基于学校的WASH活动是直接实现儿童教育和健康的权利的机会。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/HQ06-1579/Shehzad Noorani
女孩子们在斯里兰卡东北部的难民营里接水。

在紧急情况下

联合国儿童基金会已经确定四项战略,以指导在危机和转型阶段的国家的WASH项目:

1. 支持国家应急防范准备计划。

2. 协调联合国与非政府组织的应急救援项目(作为联合国机构间常设委员会被指定为紧急情况下WASH项目的领衔机构)。

3. 加速并修改现有项目,以迅速有效地应对紧急情况。

4. 确保紧急情况下的应急投入是加强该领域的最佳做法,并有助于政府、联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴所界定的国家优先事项。

在所有国家

对所有其他联合国儿童基金会开展工作的国家的战略:

1. 为提高对个人卫生的认识和促进行为改善提供宣传和技术支持:包括通过教育、保健、营养以及幼儿生存和发展的项目。

2. 为水质提供技术支持:在供水安全计划领域、水质监测和质量减灾的项目。

3. 为WASH项目发展应急防范准备计划:联合国儿童基金会利用它在紧急WASH项目中的影响力,向制定国家WASH应急准备计划的政府及其他相关各方提供适当的协助。

4. 实现第10项千年发展目标提供国家监测支持:联合国儿童基金会及世界卫生组织是协调全球分领域监测的机构,同时,联合国儿童基金会还为国家级的监测提供技术支持。


 

 

搜索

Water, Sanitation and Hygiene

UNICEF WASH Strategies

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/HQ06-1845/Josh Estey
Constructing a latrine in Java, Indonesia.

UNICEF sector strategies are based on the UNICEF WASH Strategy Paper approved by the UNICEF Executive Board in 2006.

One objective
The overall objective of UNICEF in the area of water, sanitation and hygiene (WASH) is to contribute to the realization of children’s rights to survival and development through promotion of the sector and support to national programmes that increase equitable and sustainable access to, and use of, safe water and basic sanitation services, and promote improved hygiene.

Two measurable targets
Target 1: Halve, by 2015, the proportion of people without sustainable access to safe drinking water and basic sanitation (MDG Target 10)
Target 2: Ensure that all schools have adequate child-friendly water and sanitation facilities, and hygiene education programme.

Three packages of support
1) In priority countries: designed to lead to the achievement of both Target 1 and Target 2 in priority countries (countries with high child mortalities and low water and sanitation coverage).
2) In emergencies:  will be applied on the basis of need in countries and areas where urgent WASH interventions are required to prevent the death and suffering of children, and to protect their rights.
3) In all countries: will be provided in all other countries where UNICEF has a programming presence.

UNICEF Image
Comprehensive package for priority countries
1 Promoting a balanced national WASH programming framework:
UNICEF will encourage a three-pillar approach including the provision of water supply and sanitation services that are complemented by the promotion of improved hygiene behaviour and supported by an enabling environment.

2 Supporting  intersectoral approaches: Maximum child survival and development benefits are realized when hygiene, sanitation and water programmes are coordinated or integrated with other sectoral programmes including education, health and nutrition.

3 Providing catalytic and continuous support for scaling up sustainable WASH programmes: Targets will be met only when national service delivery programmes are significantly scaled up, and UNICEF will prioritize support activities that contribute to this end. However, increased coverage without improved sustainability is not true scaling-up, and UNICEF will actively work to identify and promote models to improve the sustainability of WASH services.

4 Supporting community management through effective decentralisation processes: UNICEF will support measures that help create strong institutions at the intermediate level (municipal, district, province, etc.), since they are critical to supporting community managed service provision, which is in turn essential to the sustained scaling up of WASH coverage.

5 Promoting  safe and sustainable water supplies through improved water resources management: UNICEF and its partners in the WASH sector have a responsibility to promote and implement measures to protect the freshwater resource base.

6 Focusing on sanitation, water quality and hygiene at the household level: There is increasing evidence that a greater focus on the household level increases the effectiveness of sectoral programmes, especially in the areas of sanitation, water quality and hygiene promotion. UNICEF will continue to promote affordable, safe household latrines; technology development in the area of household water treatment, and programmes that seek to improve key household hygiene practices.

7 Addressing a child’s right to health and education through the provision of WASH in schools: UNICEF is committed to ensuring that all children have access to high quality water and sanitation services at school, and the benefit of hygiene education. School-based WASH activities represent an opportunity to directly address a child’s right to both education and health.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/HQ06-1579/Shehzad Noorani
Girls collect water in a displaced-people camp north-eastern Sri Lanka.
In Emergencies
UNICEF has defined four key strategies to guide WASH programming in countries in crisis and transition:

1 Support to national emergency preparedness planning

2 Coordinating UN and NGO emergency response programmes (as the IASC designated lead agency for WASH in emergencies)

3 Acceleration and adaptation of existing programmes to rapidly and efficiently respond in emergency situations

4 Ensuring that emergency response inputs during emergencies reinforce best practices in the sector and contribute to national priorities as defined by government, UNICEF and partners.


In all countries
Strategies for all other countries where UNICEF works:

1 Advocacy and technical support for improving hygiene awareness and promoting behaviour change: Including through education, health, nutrition and young child survival and development programmes.

2 Technical support for water quality: In the areas of water-safety planning, water-quality monitoring and quality mitigation programming.

3 Development of emergency preparedness plans for WASH: Drawing on its competencies in emergency WASH programmes, UNICEF provides appropriate assistance to governments and other stakeholders in the development of national plans for WASH emergency preparedness.

4 Support to national monitoring for achievement of MDG target 10: UNICEF, with WHO, is the focal agency for global sector monitoring, and UNICEF also provides technical support to for monitoring at the national level.


 

 

Guiding Principles

In all programmes of support, UNICEF will:

1) Follow a human rights-based approach to programming

2) Work in-country, with governments

3) Collaborate with partners to develop innovative approaches and leverage resources

4) Promote the full involvement of women, particularly in decision-making roles

5) Ensure that UNICEF programmes and advocacy is pro-poor

6) Use state-of-the-art evidence for advocacy and programme design

7) Apply learning-based approaches guided by effective knowledge management

New enhanced search