老挝人民民主共和国

青少年广播项目教授制作技术和生活技能

UNICEF Photo
© Equal Access/2010
老挝学生在当地青少年广播项目中宣传他们的工作。

卡伦.奇里洛报道

老挝人民民主共和国沙拉湾省,2010年8月16日 – 本月,联合国儿童基金会的在线互动社区平台“青年之声”(VoY)和“国际儿童广播日”共同探究老挝一个日益受关注的青少年广播项目。

音频:现在收听

该项目向青少年参与者教授重要的交流技能,并利用广播为媒介,就有关生活问题教育年轻人。

青年广播项目

老挝人民民主共和国的人口中近半数为18岁以下的青少年,但是他们却很难获取影响他们生活的相关重要信息。因此,青少年便无法获取相关的知识、技能以及信心来有效解决一些日常生活问题。

面对这种情况,非政府组织“机会均等”(Equal Access)于2006年在老挝发起了青少年广播项目。继尼泊尔青少年广播项目获得成功之后,“机会均等”组织在老挝三所中学也开展了类似的项目。“青少年心灵之友”是一档每期30分钟的广播系列节目,通过音乐、戏剧和对话等形式来讨论重要的生活技能。该项目同时也为很少能够获得机会的农村青少年提供了创造性的展示平台。

老挝的巴色、沙拉湾和川圹省三所中学的老师向学生们介绍了这一项目,并邀请感兴趣的学生申请参加。经过初步的申请和面试之后,每所学校挑选了12名学生作为第一支广播团队的成员。“机会均等”组织接着开设了培训班,由来自老挝国家广播电台的有经验的青少年培训人员和当地专家开展培训课程,通过各种实践来教授广播节目制作技巧和理论,并同时关注培养必要的生活技能,如树立自尊心、批判性思维、人际交流和解决问题的技能等。

“机会均等”组织老挝项目协调人员蒂普法延.达姆玛切提(Thipphayanh Thammachith)说:“这些必要的综合性生活技能能够为青少年树立更强的自信心,使老挝和全世界的青少年能更好地应对各种挑战。”

分享生活技能

经过初步培训之后,青少年团队通过招募和培训新成员来进一步开展老挝青少年广播项目的活动。自成立以来,该项目已经开设了7个广播培训班,共培训了140名14到18岁的青年制作人。

接受过培训的成员选举了团队领导来管理和指导项目,成员们在课后或周末相约见面,讨论节目的进展问题,如为每期节目选取主题、开展调查活动、撰写讲稿、录制音频和语音以及最后的编辑、混音和后期制作程序等。

在开展工作的进程中,这些青年广播制作者讨论日常面临的挑战,探究艾滋病和艾滋病预防、医疗健康、教育、爱好、体育、同辈压力和其他一些社会问题。每档节目关注青少年的一些故事,重点讨论某一特定问题,并通过扩音器向学校广播,每年约有3000到4000名学生收听这档节目。

此外,该节目还被录制并在约有143000位听众的老挝省级广播电台调频中播放。川圹省的一个社区广播电台对该节目进行现场直播,使该地区的相邻省份都可收听到节目。由于大部分农村地区的文盲率很高,广播便成为信息分享的主要桥梁,很多成年人也是节目的听众。

少年强则未来强

到目前为止,“机会均等”组织已在巴色和沙拉湾省的中学里建立了全面的制作工作室,青少年广播项目在这两个省份开展得如火如荼。

16岁的制作团队成员西蒙格柯.弗诺根说:“这些青少年将长大成人,并为国家的发展作出贡献。”

老挝青少年广播项目中所关注的生活技能和广播技能培训基于一个信条:媒体在当今世界的影响力十分巨大。该项目意识到赋予青少年权利能够有助于他们树立自信心、鼓励社区的积极参与和促进社会变革,并同时致力于帮助青少年广播制作人发掘心声、与同辈交流,创造老挝更美好的未来。

“机会均等”组织非常感激联合国儿童基金会、开放社会研究所、艺术投资和齐默尔家庭基金会对该项目提供的资金支持。
如需了解更多信息,请登陆
www.equalaccess.org


 

 

音频

2010年8月5日:收听老挝沙拉湾省某一青年广播系列的“青少年心灵之友”节目片段。
英语音频 收听

国际儿童广播电视日

媒体神奇文摘

青年之声

搜索

At a glance: Lao People's Democratic Republic

Youth radio programme teaches technical production and life skills

UNICEF Image
© Equal Access/2010
Laotian students voice their work as part of a local youth radio project.

By Karen Cirillo

SARAVANH PROVINCE, Lao People's Democratic Republic, 16 August 2010 – This month, UNICEF’s interactive online community platform, Voices of Youth (VoY), and the International Children’s Day of Broadcasting (ICDB) are exploring an empowering youth radio project in Laos.

AUDIO: Listen now

The programme teaches young participants important communication skills and uses the medium of radio to educate young people about pertinent life issues.

Radio project for youth

In Lao PDR, nearly half of the population is under 18 years old, but few young people have access to quality information on issues affecting their lives. As a result, youth rarely acquire the knowledge, skills and confidence necessary to deal effectively with common life events.

To address this situation, the non-governmental organization Equal Access initiated the Lao Youth Radio project in 2006. Following up on the success of its Nepalese youth radio programme, Equal Access replicated a similar project in three secondary schools in Laos. ‘Peuan Jai Vai-Noom’ (‘Youth-Heart-Friends’) is a 30-minute radio series that combines music, drama and conversation to discuss important life skills. The project also provides a creative outlet to rural youth who have few such opportunities during or after school.

Teachers at three secondary schools in the Laotian provinces of Pakse, Saravanh and Xiengkhuang introduced the project and interested youth were invited to apply. After the application and interview process, each school selected 12 youth members for the inaugural radio teams. Equal Access then set up training workshops which were conducted by experienced youth trainers and local experts from the Lao national radio station. The workshops combined radio production skills and theory with hands-on practice. They also tackled essential life skills, including self-esteem, critical thinking, inter-personal communication and problem-solving.

“This essential combination of life skills provide youth with a strong foundation of confidence to address the challenges they face as young people growing up in Laos and in the overall global context,” said Thipphayanh Thammachith, Equal Access Lao Programme Coordinator.

Sharing life skills

Following the initial trainings, youth team themselves now sustain the Lao Youth Radio project by recruiting and helping to train new members. Since its inception, the programme has conducted seven radio workshops and trained 140 young producers between the ages of 14 and 18.

The trained members elect leaders to help manage and direct the project. Teams meet after school and sometimes on weekends to keep the radio series going – including selecting the concept for each episode, conducting research, writing scripts, recording the audio and voice acting and finally editing, mixing and finishing with post-production. 

In the course of their work, the young radio producers discuss every-day challenges and explore topics such as HIV and AIDS prevention, health, education, hobbies, sports, peer pressure and social issues. Each broadcast highlights the stories of teens grappling with a particular issue and is broadcast to the school community through the loudspeakers. The programme is heard by between 3,000 and 4,000 students year-round.

In addition, the shows are recorded and have been aired on the FM provincial stations of Radio Lao, reaching approximately 143,000 listeners. In Xiengkhuang, the programme is still broadcast ‘live’ on a community radio station,  allowing the shows to be heard in districts of the surrounding provinces. Since most of these rural areas have high rates of illiteracy, radio is a strong bridge for sharing information. The show has even attracted audiences beyond youth.

Strong youth, strong future

To date, Equal Access has built full-scale production studios at the secondary schools in Pakse and Saravanh provinces, where the youth radio project is on-going and sustainable.  

“Eventually it will be these youth who are going to grow up and become adults and who will contribute and help to develop the country,” said production team member Simoungkhounh Phou-Ngeun, 16.

The life skills and radio training combination employed by the Laos Youth Radio project is founded on the conviction that engaging media is one of the most powerful influences in today’s world.  It recognizes that empowering youth is essential to building their confidence, encouraging positive community engagement and inspiring social change. It is committed to helping young radio producers find their voice, communicate with their peers and create a strong future for Laos.

Equal Access is very thankful for the support of UNICEF, Open Society Institute, Art Ventures and the Zimmer Family Foundation who have provided funding support for the programme.
For more information, visit
www.equalaccess.org


 

 

Audio

5 August 2010: Listen to a clip from 'Youth-Heart-Friends,' a youth radio series in Laos' Saravanh province.
AUDIO listen

Media Magic Digest

Voices of Youth

New enhanced search