articles, opinions, and research about teaching and learning

Teachers Forum
December, 1999

Life Skills Teaching Experience in Vietnam, part 2

Interview conducted by Dr. Phan Thi Le Mai
Project Officer, HIV/AIDS project, UNICEF Vietnam

This interview was conducted with Mrs. Mai Bich Nga of the Hong Hai lower secondary school located in the suburban district of Ha long city, Quang Ninh province. You can read the first interview with Mrs. Trinh Thuy Nga or other archived interviews.

Question: What is your teaching background?

Answer: I have 17 years teaching experience, in which I was teaching in primary school in the remote island district for five years, and now I am teaching the Mathematical and Civic Education subjects in the lower secondary school in Halong city. I am also a manager of the youth health club of my school. During 17 years teaching experience, I mainly used traditional teaching methods such as lecturing and teachers ask and students answer. Recently, we have started using the student-centred teaching methods with life skills. Before the pilot life skills teaching project, we were trying to teach similar things to life skills. For example, we teach students how to communicate with each other or how to make responsible decision in extra- curricular activity. However, we did not have systematic view of the life skills and we could not name these skills as life skills such as communication and self-awareness, assertion, decision making, values clarification and goal setting.

Q: What is your understanding of the relevance and impact of HIV in your community?

A: I think HIV/AIDS is increasing in Ha long city, but I do not remember exact number of HIV infection in Ha long city.

Q: What is your own personal view of HIV and teaching using the life skills methods? Do you thing you changed at all as a result of the life skills training?