articles, opinions, and research about teaching and learning

Teachers Forum
November, 1999

Life Skills Teaching Experience in Vietnam

(A second interview on this topic is also available.)

Interview conducted by Dr. Phan Thi Le Mai
Project Officer, HIV/AIDS project, UNICEF Vietnam

This interview was conducted with Mrs. Trinh Thuy Nga of the Cao Xanh Primary school in the suburban district of Ha long city, Quang Ninh province.

Question: What is your teaching background and experience?

Answer: I have 9 years experience in teaching of primary school, in these teaching years, I use traditional teaching methods. In which mainly teachers speak and students only listen. I see the traditional teaching methods put students in the passive position and do not stimulate creative thinking of students. Over the last three years, we have been trained and using the student-centred teaching method. Before participating in the life skills teaching project, I do not have life skills teaching experience.

Q: What your understanding of the relevance and impact of HIV in your community?

A: I think that HIV/AIDS is pandemic in Ha Long City and in my community. It is alarming. HIV infection has been found in 10 of the total 13 districts in our province. The majority of HIV infected people are young people aged from 20-29 years. However, my students only know that HIV is a disease of the century and there is no cure. They only know the way of HIV transmission. When teaching about sexual transmission of HIV, teachers feel it is hard and difficult. Teachers mainly emphasised on transmission through blood. HIV/AIDS has negative impact on the family and community. We are teaching students support and compassion for people with HIV.

Q: What is your own personal view of HIV and teaching using the life skills methods? Do you thing you changed at all as a result of the life skills training?